We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stand out amongst the crowd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Stand out amongst the crowd”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Even though we only had 1 night in Rotorua the Silver Fern was the perfect place to base ourselves. Located on the other end of town away from the CBD, the Silver Fern was still the ideal place to stay and still only 5 minutes from all of the cafes and restaurants. We loved the warm friendly hosts especially Shirley who welcomed us on our arrival. Nothing was too much trouble, we got some good advice on places to visit and eat. The highlight for us was the Whakarewarewa thermal village which was recommended to us. It's about 50% less than some other more commercialised thermal parks but gives you all of the same benefits. We also spent time at the Polynesian Spa which we highly recommend especially the combination mineral spa & massage package at $85.00. Although we were sorry to have to leave Rotorua, we packed alot of things in to the 24 hours we were there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 3644jv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    242
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
240
544
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here about a month ago for 1 night. The place was beautiful and clean and the service was great! Like others have said the added bonuses of DVDs and bikes to use really add to the nice feel of this place! Well worth the money

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a beautiful place. The rooms were so bright and airy, even with a table and chairs outside to sit and have coffee. Traveling with my brother and sister-in-law we appreciated having 2 separate sleeping areas: tthe main room had a large bed and a little kitchen area and then there was a separate bedroom plus closet space. The bathroom was very large and included a spa, which we certainly made use of in the evenings. We didn't have a car so had to walk into town - about a 20 minute walk but when we left, one of our hosts kindly drove us to the bus station in town with our suitcases. All in all a lovely place with very pleasant and helpful owners. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Silver Fern is run by a most friendly and thoughtful couple. Not only do they provide clean and affordable accommodation, they give it with a smile. When we arrived in Rotorua, we had a mishap with a large chain hotel, which left us without accommodation. The Silver Fern took us in without a hassle. Best time, Best people.

Room Tip: They all have spas, you cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough in regard to the hospitality we received from Alan and Shirley. The lodgings were very comfortable, large room and quiet. We would have liked a set of drawers to put away our clothes as we like to unpack, but that did not effect our stay. There are laundry facilities that are reasonable, only paid for drying. Wireless Internet! Breakfast in room delivered by Alan was very good and reasonably priced. My husband loved the quality of towels. Shirley was exuberant in helping us plan our time here. She arranged the canopy tour which was the highlight of our trip so far. Definitely would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This room was lovely, the spa was huge and the whole place was very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful and went out of their way. I really enjoyed the stay here and would recommend it to anyone just wanting to relax and indulge a little.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amelia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

45 minutes after we checked in, a bus picked us up for a maori performance and dinner. This was only possible because of rapid service from the hosts of the motel. They were also able to get our kids to the canopy tours the next day even though it was fairly fully booked.
We stayed two nights on our NZL tour in January. The smallish family-run motel is conveniently located for services and excursions. We had a one-bedroom four person suite on the first floor. Ther room had a small kitchenette and also a huge jacuzzi big enough for four persons. No noise from streets or neighbors. Enough space for the car even though they had no vacancy.
We could not use the motel spa services as they were gully booked.

Room Tip: Book motel massage and spa services in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TveViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
697 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
840 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing