We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$126
$105
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$115
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$155
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$133
$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$123
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleveland Thermal Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$86
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$75
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Spa Motor Inn(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$91
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$93
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$56
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,061)
Filter reviews
1,061 results
Traveler rating
737
264
49
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
737
264
49
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suiteone bedroom suitenew zealandsmall kitchenettegreat place to stayte puiathe ground floorfree wififenton streetwater pressurewai o tapucomfortable bedroad noisetown centreshort drivewould definitely stay here againhot tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
822 - 827 of 1,061 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Silver Fern is excellent value. The studio room was large, immaculate and well appointed even including a spa. Location is very good with thermal springs just down the road. The service was excellent with much advice about where to go and what to see.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Silver Fern and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The units are very clean and well provisioned, the bed and lounge suite very comfortable. Yes, as mentioned, the bathroom had ventilation problems having no extractor fan and the shower leaked through the door so a well positioned bath mat was essential but these are very minor issues. It isn't your home so live with it. The motel is well away from the central city noise and the 'hush' glass effective against the road noise. The only downside, of which the owners had no control, was, our 'neighbours' upstairs filling and using the spa bath at eleven o'clock at night. We had only just arrived from Auckland after a twelve hour flight, tired and jet lagged but hey ho! who wants to sleep! Not withstanding, a very comfortable place to rest your head and lots to do in the local area, We would happily return if visiting Rotorua in the future.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor then it can be you filling your spa bath annoying everyone downstairs. :)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bendyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed for one night in a Standard Studio Suite. On the positive side, it had a massive sunken spa which was great, although the jet switch was on the other side of the room which was a bit odd and awkward. The bed was not particularly comfortable and we could hear every word of the conversation going on in the room next door - not very private and made you speak in hushed tones to avoid being heard yourself. There was a bell directly outside our room which went off every time the phone in the office rang - a very outmoded system in the days of redirects and mobile phones, not to mention disruptive to relaxing guests. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiekarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Silver Fern. Allan was very welcoming, friendly, and helpful with advice on sites to see about town and the Thermal district, and with carrying our bags upstairs for us. We ordered breakfast in room both mornings (porridge, toasts, and juices), which was delivered on-time, hot and delicious... it's actually a good value, we thought.

The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom, with the in room spa tub, was spacious and well-lit. Ventilation in our room wasn't an issue, and the make-up of the room while we were out for the day left the bathroom spotless and dry.

The location was quite good, right on the main street headed into Rotorua, but it was pleasingly quiet... even with the bonfire party going on across the street at a nearby house on night!

The free internet service was excellent and fast.

We would definitely stay again at the Silver Fern the next time we visit Rotorua.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igbotrevordc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We found this motel to be very average. The bathroom had poor ventilation and even with the window open and fan on the room was damp and wet after a shower. To open the bathroom window you had to climb into or over the large spa bath which wasn't easy to do. The large spa was a positive though. There was one older fan wall heater in the unit which was noisy and couldn't be left on at night due to this - if you were staying in winter it would be really cold at night. There was no heating in the bathroom which was large and didn't have heated towel rails either. On the plus side the kitchen was new and the unit was very clean.

Room Tip: take top floor unit well back from road
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bianca5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, as it is with this feedback we can continually make improvements at The Silver Fern. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the large spa bath, and we will take your ventilation concerns on board. We have spare heating available in the wardrobe of every room, as well as additional heaters at reception should guests require. Great to hear you enjoyed the kitchen and cleanliness of the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews