We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class...would definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First class...would definitely return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Wonderful place to stay...rooms well maintained and very clean...you can order a beautiful breakfast delivered to your room....In the room there is plunger coffee, microwave, cutlery etc.... daily servicing and even tidied up the room which was so nice..robes lovely and fluffy...the spa was big and very bubbly so relaxing with big spa towels....free internet!!!! Free Parking....it is so expensive in NZ and the freezones don't cover a wide area...next door is a day spa if you need further pampering...run by lovely people

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    236
    43
    8
    2
See reviews for
228
531
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

I was travelling with my husband, and another couple so we stayed in a two bedroom room. The rooms were very clean, lovely big fluffy towels, and a spectacular spa bath (although we didn't get a chance to try it out). The room itself wasn't huge, but we were barely there so that wasn't really a problem for us. The front desk staff were very helpful in their recommendations of restaurants and places to visit. I would definitely return to Sliver Fern.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We wanted twin beds but all bedrooms are double. However, the hosts were very helpful in making up a sofa bed and very helpful with all our questions. The bathroom was excellent with a large spa bath and was very roomy. The way the rooms were appointed was modern and stylish. It also has pleasant outdoor surroundings. Our only criticism was the thin walls between adjoining bedrooms meaning that you could hear every word and sound coming from the next room, so if you have noisy neighbours who stay up late or snoore, you wont get to sleep. Great location for exploring New Zealands geothermal area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonnieNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

This was our first trip to Rotorua, and we chose to stay at the Sliver Fern based largely on Trip Advisor reviews. Comparing the Sliver Fern to other hotels we've stayed at in NZ, the Silver Fern was a disappointment. The walls are paper-thin, and privacy is difficult to achieve, since everyone's front entryway is a large sliding glass door. We borrowed several movies from the front desk, but the either didnt' play in the antiquated DVD player, or they were accompanied by Danish subtitles! The rooms are spacious and well-heated (we were there during one of the coldest weeks on record). The spa in the bathroom is also large and clean, although an exhaust fan and a heat lamp is sorely needed. I'm not sure how you would bathe a child in this monstrosity, though. When we visit next, we won't be staying here at the price we paid.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyrussTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you for your feedback, as it is with feedback that we can make continual improvements at Silver Fern Accommodation and Spa. We are pleased to hear you found the rooms spacious, warm, and clean. We are sorry to hear that you had problems playing our complimentary DVDs and would have been more than happy to help if we had known at your time of stay. We have since purchased new Pioneer DVD players complete with iPod docking stations for each room. Your concern of bathing a baby in our large spa bath is not a problem as along with complimentary buggy and high chair service we also offer baby baths for our guests to use. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Both myself and my fiance loved our stay at Silver Fern Rotorua! Wish we were staying longer. Allan and Shirley were very welcoming hosts - gave a choice of room options and exceeded our expectations. They were very friendly and helpful as we didnt really know the area. Cant wait to go back and stay on our next trip! Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We rented the honeymoon suite for a one-night stay on our honeymoon. It was a lovely room (clean, with classy decor), and - being the honeymoon suite - there was a giant jacuzzi tub in the bedroom.

Check-in and out went smoothly. The woman at the desk recommended a couple of places we might want to go for dinner when we asked. It was perhaps a 5-10 minute drive to the "main drag" where most of the restaurants seemed to be (so pretty convenient, at least in our minds).

It isn't necessarily lavish, but certainly a very nice place. We would stay there again!

Room Tip: If you want an in-room jacuzzi, request the honeymoon suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

My team administrator booked this accommodation after a bad experience at our previous accommodation. The difference could not have been more stark! The proprietors were very welcoming and helped us unload our car to the room. They arranged for a portable hob so we could cook food for our young son and were very accommodating when it came to requesting a late check out.
Free Wi-Fi internet, free DVDs to watch at reception, warm and well appointed rooms.
The beds wee a little soft for our liking and while the bathroom was clean, it was a little dated. Otherwise, it was a very comfortable base for our family for a week.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobiljim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Property: Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing