We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$126
$105
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$115
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$155
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$133
$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$123
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleveland Thermal Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$86
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$75
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Spa Motor Inn(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$91
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$93
$83
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$56
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,061)
Filter reviews
1,061 results
Traveler rating
737
264
49
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
737
264
49
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suiteone bedroom suitenew zealandsmall kitchenettegreat place to stayte puiathe ground floorfree wififenton streetwater pressurewai o tapucomfortable bedroad noisetown centreshort drivewould definitely stay here againhot tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
949 - 954 of 1,061 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Silver Fern Motel in March 2011. We were so impressed that we returned in May 2011, when my partner's mother was with us. The location is right on the main street close to all the attractions. The units are clean, spacious, and the owners have really paid attention to every detail. Everything we needed was there for us. The owner was friendly, helpful and went beyond expectations to do all he could to ensure our stay was comfortable.

If we are back in Rotorua we will definitely stay there again and have already recommended the Silver Fern to friends.

Lynette
USA

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDJ12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed for only 2 nights. We got the last room on the ground floor of the left-wing building. We arrived at the motel with good expectation as the motel website shows 5 stars Qualmark; plus receiving good reviews by TripAdvisor. We enjoyed the motel’s good location, spacious rooms, and big spa bath. We checked in and quickly went out for activities around town. We came back after dinner and realized that the bathroom is very poorly ventilated. Bedrooms were unpleasant due to poor ventilation as well. The bedroom carpet was dusty.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kassoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2011

Thank you for your feedback as this allows us to make continual improvements at the Silver Fern. We are glad you enjoyed the spacious rooms, location, and spa bath; however we are concerned over your comments regarding the ventilation. All of our bathrooms have opening windows and expel-air fans which should provide sufficient airflow. We are not sure what other measures we could take to increase ventilation - do you have any suggestions? The bedrooms all have opening windows, and carpet is vacuumed before any new stay, and during the stay if required. Once again we apologise for not meeting your expectations on this occasion and welcome any further comments to ensure this does not happen again – stay@silverfernrotorua.co.nz .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Excellent accommodation, comfortable and modern.
Allan and Shirley ( business owners) do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable.
I left my expensive diamond ring in the room. Allan called me the same day and to confirm that the ring was mine. The ring was posted to my home address in Australia.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
Thank Irina2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

The service from the hosts was exceptional! the rooms were excellent, modern with everything one would need. Defintely will return

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwitronfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We were mostly happy with this accommodation. Nice spacious unit with good sized bathroom. Owners very happy to supply extra cooking appliances. Bed was supercomfy. Only downfall was the long black hair that kept coming out of the spa bath and when informed the owner, she seemed to imply it was mine... (which was red at the time...)

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kiwi_Saffas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews