We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room (but fridge loud - earplugs needed)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2011

This was a nice motel. Large bedroom. A 4 person hot tub with bubbles (but no jets) off the bathroom. Everything was in good shape – well maintained. A good kitchenette. The fridge was a bit loud – all night long – so bring earplugs. Friendly welcome. If you want a hot tub then this is a good spot to stay. Even though this is a nice place, I’m not sure I’d pay extra to stay somewhere with a hot tub again – instead I’d use the extra money at the mineral water spa in town – the Polynesian Spa.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caanaadaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverFernRotorua, Owner at Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Thank you so much for your feedback. Really pleased you enjoyed your suite and the spa pool. We are very sorry you had an unfortunate experience with the fridge. We have inspected all of our 25 fridges and can’t locate any that are making an excessive noise. If you could please email us with your name or suite number and we will be able to follow up on this further. We would like to think that maybe the room was so quiet the only noise you could hear was the fridge. Anyway, we are still concerned you didn’t have a great nights sleep. If you ever encounter a similar problem do what we always do, give management a call or just turn the fridge off. It will stay cold over night with the door shut.

You are right in saying that Polynesian Spa is a great facility, but as we don’t charge any extra for our spa pools why not enjoy the best of both worlds?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2011

My finance and I stayed for 2 nights at the Silver Fern in March 2011. We were immediately impressed with the service when the owners showed us to our room personally. The room was lovely and very clean. Very nice and spacious, had a lounge with comfy foot rest, table and chairs as well as 2 sitting chairs, a separate bedroom and a huge bathroom with personal spa pool. The kitchen was more than what we needed with a microwave, hot plate and the usual suspects.

The spa pool was beautiful and exactly what we needed after long days of walking. Very comfortable for two people to share.

A definite bonus was the coffee plunger and coffee! It was a rare treat to have decent coffee in a motel room!

Free DVDs from a limited but decent selection and the most perfect poached eggs with our yummy breakfast just topped off our stay.

Silver Fern is very well positioned out of the busy part of Rotorua and definitely the best presented hotel we saw. As with all of Rotorua you will get wafts of the sulfur smell but we found the location of Silver Fern was away from any strong smells and if you close up the windows and put the bedroom ceiling fan on you will have a good break from any sulfur smell.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed in a deluxe studio for one night. The room was generously sized, everything was neat and tidy. It included the biggest/deepest in-room spa bath I've ever come across!
We pre-ordered breakfast and can recommend anyone else to do the same - the pancakes (berries or bacon/banana) with juice and toast were generous portions, delicious and relatively cheap.
It's located in a strip of similar hotels - personally I would've preferred being a little closer to the lakefront. The location and sleep quality also lost stars because we had a room at the front of the property, and so experienced some road noise overnight.
Reception staff were welcoming, efficient and friendly.
If you stay here and have a door connecting yours with the next room, check that it's locked - ours wasn't and we looked in on our neighbours accidentally!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

When we arrived we were greated by both Alan and Shirley, the owners of Silver Fern. Extremely friendly and always on hand to help with day planning and any other little things you may need assistance in.
When we entered our room we were blown away by the presentation and attention to detail. Everything was so inviting, and the Jaccuzi is enourmous!
One of the best things we did while in Rotorua was borrow the bikes that are on hand at The Silver Fern to ride around and take our own private tour of the thermal activity (boling mud, steaming lakes etc) as dirrected by Alan. Cannot get better value for money!
Reccommend staying here in a heart beat - and would do so again if back in Rotorua

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Stayed 2 nights at this lovely Motel. The owners were very helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and immaculate. Hot tub great way to unwind after a long drive.Wonderful huge comfy bed and pillows. Kitchenette with everything you need to make a simple meal. Lovely large bathroom. Balcony had a small table and chairs so you could sit out for breakfast etc.
Lots of information leaflets in reception and help with recommendations on what to visit and where to eat. A couple of places within walking distance and good choice of eateries in town just a few minutes down the road. All in all a FANTASTIC place to stay. We would thoroughly recommend this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaanddavef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

It was our first time to Rotorua and l am so glad we found Silver Fern to stay in , the accomodation is of a high standard and even though on a busy road we had a l bedroom suite and we did not hear a thing. If we return to Rotorua we will definately stay at Silver Fern.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spainey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Stayed 3nights in this modern and roomy motel with balcony.Our hosts were very helpful and friendly, suggesting restaurants and takeaways along with free laundry facilities.
A great find.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillericaySeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa

Address: 326 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $110 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star motel accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. The Silver Fern offers free wi-fi, free parking, free DVD hire,free bicycle hire and an on site Day Spa. Spa bath or spa pool in every room, and high quality fittings and furnishings make Silver Fern the best choice for accommodation in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Silver Fern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing