We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great additional services”
Review of Base Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Base Rotorua
Ranked #21 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great additional services”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Excellent Hostel, the double room we had was both en suite as well as having its own television. We also had access to the geothermal heated swimming pool which meant that even though it was winter we could swim. They front desk was great for booking activities for us and advising us generally on what we could do in Rotorua

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_C_35_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hi There,

Thank you for your awesome review!!!!

Hope we see you back sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    66
    53
    39
    27
See reviews for
9
64
77
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Base in Rotorua in our campervan on the parking lot behind the hostel (most of the campervan sites are on a slope, so anything but ideal for sleeping).
The kitchen was far from well equipped and the staff couldn't even find a working tin opener on our request. The entire hostel seems in need for a proper scrub.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TamiNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hi There,
Thank you for your review. Our reviews are important, both the good and the bad as they help us to see what we do right and also the areas which we can sometimes improve on. But your review has got me slightly confused. We do offer campervan parking, but were you aware that we do have 2 carparks. One is sloped and for our car parking, the other is completly flat and is better suited for campervan parking. Perhaps this is a case where you may have simply parked in the wrong area :) And as for a can opener... as we have a can opener permanently attached to the kitchen bench I can't quite see why this was failed to be seen.
If you ever come back to Rotorua to stay, pop in and see us. One of our staff will be happy to show you around properly so you can make full use of our facilities and Im sure you will enjoy your stay!!

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here when I was on the kiwi experince . The 8 bed dorm I was in was nice and it had a balcony. As the bar is separate from the hostel it is not loud at night, and it was close to the main shopping area. Visit the Maori church nearby-really pretty and worth a look.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank TippElle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel!! we were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!!!

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during our three week tour of New Zealand. We had booked a twin room but got one that slept 5, with private bathroom. The room itself was a little tired and shabby, the bathroom definitely required updating and he kitchenette modernising. However it had all the facilities we needed. Wifi was available and was fast. Car park around the back was very handy. Close enough to the town to walk out in the evening. The noise from the rowdy drunks upstairs in the evening was a bit too much but we were that tired we slept through it. Good value for money for what we required.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sarahrO7155PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hi There,
Thanks for your review reguarding your stay at Base Rotorua. Our reviews are important as they help us to see the things we do well and also the areas in which we can improve. We are planning to have our private rooms renovated later this year so hopefully if you come back to visit they will be much more up to date!
We would love to see you back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here 1 night during our two weeks tour of NZ with a campervan, and this was the worst of the places we stayed. To be fair, it was also the cheapest, by quite a bit. We were assigned a spot on a parking lot. When we came back to Rotorua we stayed at a camp ground which we felt was a lot better.

It looked like a decent place to rent a room or dorm if you are travelling without a car.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erlend1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hi There,
Thanks for your feedback reguarding the Campervan parking at Base Rotorua. I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We in no way claim to be a campsite, instead we are primarily a hostel which allow people to use the hostel facilities and sleep in our carpark overnight. We feel its a great option for those travelling on a budget!!
We hope you keep us in mind if you are ever again in Rotorua, you are right, our rooms are great!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed in one of the large dorm rooms that was very clean and comfortable with an en suite bathroom and shower for 2 nights. The room would get really warm during the day. The kitchen was very clean but they should replace their dishwashing soap pumps that would get stuck or not work. When the hostel is packed, the kitchen is severely limited. There's a pool and bar next door. It was very noisy the first night but blissfully quiet the second. The hostel is located across from a park that features mud pools and hot thermal springs and is about six blocks from a shopping center.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinktulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hi There,
Thank you so much for your review! The reviews we get from our guests help us to see what we are doing well and also the areas in which we can improve! Thanks to your review we will be sure to make a quick shopping trip in order to replace the missing equipment from our kitchen, and also get onto replacing those dishwasher pumps!!!

Hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Absolutely loved the staff, they were really nice and willing to help me with everything :) The naturally heated outdoor swimming pool is also definitely one of the coolest things I've seen in a hostel - only in New Zealand can you have something like this... :) The shared rooms were nice and clean, nothing special really. Overall a nice stay, very recommendable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaseRotorua, Front Office Manager at Base Rotorua, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hi There!!

Thank you for your review!!! Our staff at Base Rotorua love our jobs and making sure our guests enjoy our hostel and city is important to us!! we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us!!!

Keep us in mind if you ever come back to Rotorua... we would love to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#5 of 58 in Rotorua
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astray Motel
Astray Motel
#14 of 58 in Rotorua
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#12 of 58 in Rotorua
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Rotorua

Property: Base Rotorua
Address: 1286 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Hot Rock Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Rotorua 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Rock Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing