We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Base Rotorua
Nearby Hotels
$157
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$147
$116
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$144
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$120
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$484
$410
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$725
$428
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$100
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveler rating
86
79
68
49
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
79
68
49
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslava barbar next doordorm roomheated poolprivate bathroomlarge kitchenreception staffgeothermal parkrecommend staying herewould stay here againfree wifigood nights sleepstayed here for one nightchecking outgreat facilitiesclose to townhostel
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 315 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We're a couple in our 20s and we stayed here for one night with the Kiwi Experience...

Good
- Standard functions of a hostel, it has a kitchen and a six-bed room with a shared bathroom/shower, no complaints about any of them
- Good location, short walk to Rotorua centre, right next to a geothermal park (have a wander around there, it's cool!) and the adjoining bar is always welcome

Bad
- Very basic in terms of comforts. The beds are cheap as chips, the rooms feel like prison cells and the staff are pretty slow

Rotorua is a great place to visit, make sure you try the luging, and the Maori cultural evening.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in Base Hot Rock, Rotorua in January and although it was very basic and not very clean still acceptable. We used sharing wc/showers and they were clean. The shower was very nice. You will also get a complimentary drink but we didn't have time to use it but still nice of them. The price was good and luckily our room was quite.
Would stay again for one night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miras628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

It was my second visit to Rotorua, the first was in a nice motel, and it was worth the money. Base was cheap, and you knew it! Quite a small building for the amount of people that stay here. 8-bed dorm room ok, clean, bathroom and toilet separate, which was nice, but small with no soap. Nice to have a balcony, although not really any view. Location ok, quite a walk to the supermarkets. Lava bar wasn't great, very quiet and expensive. Don't think i'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah14387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

lovely place enjoyed it here lucky the beds are comfy as by the time i got to here i was really stuffed and needed a good sleep which i got but overall my time here all were very helpful full of things for me to do and i loved the whole town just a pity a couldnt stay long the smell of the sulpher just got to me but thanks for a journey of smiling and fun times with a great place to stay all good here

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1sttimeoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in base for one night, the Maori experience is a must and the food is brilliant!! The hostel is quite run down and could do with a facelift in some places! The room was spacious with single comfortable beds however there was not enough power sources and the heater wasn't the best. The kitchen was quite big and looked well equipped and the bathrooms were very clean and modern which was nice. I would stay here again but not in a rush!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charxcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews