We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for families, excellent pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for families, excellent pool.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived and were upgraded to a superior suite which was appreciated. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Our room was modern and comfortable. The highlight for us was the pool, very warm, large and clean, there was also two spas which were good. The hotel is in a great spot, quiet and close to the forest, which is great if you want to mountain bike, they also have excellent mountain bike storage onsite. Overall a great place to stay for families and very good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerdaze36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Summerdaze36,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is good to know you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us, and that the outdoor thermally heated pool area was a highlight for you. I am pleased you found that our peaceful and handy location close to the mountain bike trails was a great place to base yourself.

We appreciate you mentioning our helpful and friendly staff, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    367
    171
    35
    10
See reviews for
229
366
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very helpfull staff ,very clean rooms, lovely heated pool and spar pools .Marvelous breakfast selection , Great dinner smorgasbord and a lcart .Hotel shuttle to other events and or pickup from restaurants

Room Tip: Chose rooms facing North in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Merv M,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and dinner offerings in Chapman’s Restaurant, and made the most of our outdoor thermally heated pools.

We appreciate you mentioning our helpful staff, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to stay.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Holiday inn was great ! We stayed one night there and the room was very comfortable and we have a nice geothermal swimming pool at night and it was very fun, because I had a fun moments with my cousins. There was free wifi too. The restaurant is very comfortable with a friendly waitress, the food there is also very delicious.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank blue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear blue b,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you had a lot of fun in our thermally heated outdoor pool, and enjoyed the delicious food on offer in Chapman’s Restaurant.

We appreciate you mentioning our friendly staff, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in the deluxe double room in the hotel. The staff was friendly and professional and arranged a room facing the geysers for us as requested. As we were a Priority Club member, we were given free Wifi. However, the hotel room was dated that really needed some refurbishment. The room,especially the bathroom was tiny.

As we arrived at the hotel quite late in the evening and went to the Polynesian Spa, we had not tried the spa pool in the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RonnieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Rotorua. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for mentioning our friendly and professional staff. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Have stayed in many hotels in Rotorua but this is my favourite mainly because of the pool. The pool is very warm and a good size and not overlooked by people eating breakfast (like some other hotel pools in Rotorua!). There are also 2 spa pools. No need to pay for the family spa at the Polysesian Pools if you are staying here - the hotel pool is warmer and much less crowded. Also the hotel has great staff, nice bar & restaurant and spacious, clean rooms and comfy beds. What more could you want? We stayed here as a family with 2 adults and my sons ages 15 & 13.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Mona84,

Thank you for returning again to Holiday Inn Rotorua, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed another comfortable stay with us, and made the most of the outdoor heated pools and restaurant facilities.

We appreciate you mentioning our great staff, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week, bed was very comfortable, restaurant was excellent, staff where super helpful and friendly.
Negatives, bath is small but spa and pool made up for it
Elevator had a sickly smell, but the stairs where good to help walk off dinner!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Billy M,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us, and thank you for your ratings.

We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are fine what you would expect but don't order the room service, lamb burger was a frozen gluggy microwave patty while chicken burger was also awful . And it took 45 minutes to arrive. Rest of the food looked ridiculously over priced. Great pool tho and okay if tiny gym.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dexdouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Dexdouble,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed our outdoor thermally heated pool, and made the most of our gym facility.

It is disappointing to read of the poor room service dinner you experienced and I apologise that we did not get that right for you. I hope you were able to bring that to the attention of our staff whilst you were here so that we could remedy that for you.

Thank you again for your feedback. We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Property: Holiday Inn Rotorua
Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing