We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic to be next to the thermal area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I chose the Holiday Inn as I had points to available to use to book accommodation. I was really pleased I chose this hotel. The room was a typical Holiday Inn room, so it was what I expected - well appointed, modern decor, clean, large. We had two Queen beds to sleep 3 of us. We had the added bonus of overlooking the thermal wonderland that is Whakarewarewa. The window overlooked the hotel's large hot pool & spa and the hot springs and mud pools of the Village. We had a rental car and as the Holiday inn is at the end of Fenton St, this was needed to get to the hotel. If you do not have you won car, you would be better off staying in town. We ate both dinner and breakfast in town so I cannot review the hotel restaurant but they do have a dinner show if you wish to see traditional dancing. I would stay here again when in Rotorua. (If it is important to you, there were lots of Chinese tourists staying here - obviously a hotel of choice for tour groups. Didn't worry us, though).

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the thermal village
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2tvl8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Luv2tvl8888,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is good to know you were pleased with your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 868 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Usually stay at Novotel but it was fully booked the night we arrived so booked a night at Holiday Inn. Would have preferred to have stayed the whole duration at HI with no status in a 2 queen room with 2 kids as opposed to a suite at Novotel with platinum status.

Room was on top level of tower by pool. Clean, spacious 2x queen room. Spacious enough for a family of 4 on a brief stay..

Pool was excellent. Good size and great temperature.

Excellent stay for a family with a 2 and 4yr old

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidSubritzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Doogiehowser_md,

Thank you for returning to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you and the kids enjoyed your time here and had an excellent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked rooms with 2 double beds as advertised. On arrival we found each room with 2 single beds. It was with great difficulty that we managed to sleep through the night with a couple and a child. We complained at the front desk and they said they can't help as the hotel had no double bed rooms available. The building and carpet are very old hence the continuous bad smell. Could do with some TLC.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubbanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Bubbanc,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry to read you did not have a good hotel stay. We do not have any room types that match your description of ‘each room with 2 single beds’ though, so I think you must have posted feedback about our hotel in error.

We look forward to welcoming you to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you travel our way.



Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Staff were nice on arrival,
Rooms were ok, in need of a revamp.

Our toilet smelt of urine, asked the cleaners to come back they did but still smelt.
The toilet filled with water every time you flushed.

Flounder a condom box under the bed. ( gave that to house keeping)

Also the air con was so loud.



Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Abba1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Abba 1976,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that the toilet and room cleanliness was less than satisfactory, it is disappointing that we weren’t able to get that right for you and I apologise for the inconvenience caused.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Second time we stayed at the hotel. Great staff, friendly front desk! Awesome pool, the kids enjoyed their stay too. Breakfast is average but it's what you expect from most hotels. Creme brûlée was amazing though, the candied macadamias were awesome!!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank hbassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Hbassett,

Thank you for returning to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you and the kids enjoyed your time with us; it is good to know how much you enjoyed the dessert buffet too. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

On entry we were well received and helped by the receptionist. Our room was located towards the last with view to the thermal springs. The bed was soft, yet comfortable for me. Location was more close to Te Puia ( thermal geyser attraction), however, if you prefer local cafes, you might have to take a cab to fenton street. We chose to walk though to reach pizza hut/Mc Donald's . Breakfast had good variety of cereals and fruits and had a hassle free checkout process. The staff were cordial to hold on our bus while we were rushing our breakfast :)

Room Tip: choose a room to the corner for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AishwaryaOnAStroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear AishwaryaOnaStroll,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to stay.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Spacious hotel, nearby all the attractions. However the bed was too soft. I didn't get a good night sleep. All in all, it maintains Holiday Inn quality. The parking space in the hotel is limited. I ended up parked on the street two nights in a row.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morpheus20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Morpheus20,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently. We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#8 of 92 in Rotorua
444 reviews
1.8 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#27 of 92 in Rotorua
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $97 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing