We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Quick to check in. The rooms was as described on expedia and look the same as on their website. Interesting that their rooms came with 2 double bed (option for twin queen) the room was tidy and clean on arrive. The rooms was good sized and other things expect of hotel their. The spa and thermal heated pool is a plus. The down side was that our room was not cleaned after first night and the next day thet walk into our room at around 4pm to clean it. The buffet breakfast was average. Overall it was good for money.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Steven L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that your room was not attended to in a timely manner; unless there was a Do Not Disturb tag on the door it ought to have been serviced on the day – this must have been frustrating for you and I apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to stay.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 892 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

I remember coming here for lunch or dinner when I was knee high to a grasshopper. I think it was called the International in those days. Since then, iirc, it's been a THC, a Centra, a Holiday Inn, a Heritage, and now a Holiday Inn, again (!) So, very much an institution in Rotorua over the years - one of the first 'big city'-style hotels there.

My IHG Rewards Club platinum status was recognised on checkin, and I already knew from the website that a room upgrade had been provided. Well done!

The room was located on the top floor of the new wing, and looked out onto the back of the property, offering views of the Whakarewarewa thermal area - definitely a good choice for first-time visitors to Rotorua, who would, no doubt, be including this attraction in their itinerary.

A choice of soft and firm pillows are provided per the Holiday Inn standard, and the beds were very comfortable. The air conditioning worked well, with quick heating or cooling as needed. This is a huge pet peeve of mine at some properties, but no worries here at all.

On the first night of this two-night stay, we ordered room service. This consisted of the chicken breast and the steak as main courses, with a shared side of fries, and for dessert a creme brulee and a brandy basket. I can recommend all of these as tasty choices with well-sized portions.

We were staying specifcally to enjoy the Christmas dinner buffet on the 25th, which was offered at NZD 125.00 per person, booked and paid for in advance. I couldn't fault this - selections included ham, pork, beef, roast turkey, fish, vegetarian options, soups, seafood, many salads, and a good choice of desserts including traditional Christmas pudding with brandy sauce. Included in the price were platters of antipasto and bread for the table, Christmas crackers, plus the first drink of the evening. A bottle of pinot gris was a reasonable $30.00.

Service in the restaurant, Chapman's, was gracious at all times, which we really appreciated. The wait staff are a credit to the hotel. In addition to Christmas dinner, we breakfasted there both days, and the breakfast buffet was fine too. Maybe add grapefruit juice, and watch the consistency of the scrambled eggs - a bit watery!

I recommend a good long soak in one of the two outdoor jacuzzis by the pool to end a long day of sightseeing. Just the right temperature, and you can enjoy a drink out there if you ask for plastic glassware at the house bar. Pool towels can be had from reception.

Free Internet for IHG Rewards Club members is limited to 512 kbps, which is on the borderline of usability in 2013, but it felt even slower than that. This may be an ISP issue - the provider is Reivernet, who also supply the HI Sydney Airport, where the Wi-Fi was truly unusable.

There were a few minor issues in the room - the fridge door would not stay shut, the phone was very crackly, the shower pressure wasn't great, and the hot water at the bathroom sink wasn't really hot. Perhaps a maintenance check of all rooms wouldn't go amiss. Also, how about some power points near the beds? Another pet peeve of mine, since not having to stretch cables across the room is great!

Will I stay again? Of course, and soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear DDNZ,

Welcome back! Thank you for choosing to return to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the Christmas Dinner Buffet selection, and felt well looked after by our Chapmans wait staff.

Thank you for the feedback on your room. We are endeavouring to locate and resolve these items, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I had booked two rooms for my family of 6 and we were put up in the new wing which overlooked the thermal reserved. The view was really amazing. I have never had a hotel room with such a view.

The rooms were of good size and new, beds were comfy and the cleaning crew did a good job after our first night. We enjoyed the heated pool and jacuzzi too a big plus was that they closed late so it was a nice cap to our day.

I had also called the hotel prior to our stay because of bedding arrangements and they were wonderful in accommodating my request.

We didn't have breakfast or any meals in the hotel, but since we had a car we didn't find traveling to town a problem.

Overall, highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Sue_Yin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Sue_Yin,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is good to know you enjoyed the amazing views from your rooms in the newer wing. I am pleased you and your family made the most of our pool facilities and had a comfortable stay here.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean hotel as you can expect from a holiday inn. Pool & hot tub facility is very nice... Breakfast superb!

The location is what we booked this for... It's only a couple of miles from lake rotorua and all the activities. It's also a 5 minutes walk (round the corner) to Te Puia which is the Maori cultural meal and show which is fantastic.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear David R R,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed our handy location near Te Puia, and it is good to know you appreciated our pool facilities and superb Breakfast.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hotel has been renovated, so everything is nice and clean. We were coming and going from the room a fair bit, and they seem to clean it at stages. So depending what stage of the cleaning process they were up to, you could have no soap (they replace the old bars with new bars every day), or no towels (even if you hang them up to re-use them, they replace them every day too). The biggest negative was the expensive wi-fi.
The upsides, nice geothermal heated pools in the hotel, lots of brochures in the lobby for you to plan things yourself, and washing and drying machine facilities came in handy. Not a bad view from the rooms near the top floor either.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EchidnandKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear EchidnandKiwi,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

We presently offer free internet access for Gold and Platinum IHG Rewards club members, and from 01 January 2014 will also offer free internet access for all IHG Rewards club members.

Thank you again for your feedback comments around are housekeeping service. We are working to reduce these inconveniences and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to stay.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Rooms are clean but they do have a shortage of staff, no housekeeping after 6. The hotel is quite a distance away from the city centre so lack of own transport was a problem.
Breakfast was adequate not great.
Overall an average stay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Usha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Usha P,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

We are a little removed from the bustle of the city centre, and we have our courtesy van operating (on demand and subject to availability), between the hours of 8am and 9pm for hourly pick-ups and drop offs at the Rotorua Tourism Centre,

We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Ok, first of all it smells like eggs. Very bad. But that's the thing about Rotoroua, You have to be aware of. Geothermal waters smell bad. You will hate it at first, get used to it and love it. Holiday Inn is right next to the biggest attraction of geothermal waters. A place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear agnielu,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and our handy location next to the geothermal reserve. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,
Kent Breeze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
744 reviews
2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
461 reviews
1.8 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
828 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $113 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing