We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wollongong
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good value and wonderful staff”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent three nights here while visiting Rotorua, it was excellent, staff were very efficent and always helpful, very knowledgable regarding local tours and attractions. rooms delightfully clean and welcoming and lovely pool and spa area. Not in the heart of town, but only a short drive to most things.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gems151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Gems151,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. It is good to know you enjoyed an excellent stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,

Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    373
    173
    35
    11
See reviews for
233
373
26
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

After a number of stays at this hotel in recent times,( including in its previous incarnations ,before its current branding as a Holiday Inn), we are pleased to report that it remains an excellent, and good value,venue in Rotorua.
The reception area and staff are immediately welcoming.
Although a little way out of the CBD ,the hotel is well served by its regular,free shuttle bus into town ( and back ) .
Its position is generally quiet and peaceful, with the possible exception of the arrival and departure of tour buses at the front of the hotel.
Views over the nearby thermal attractions from the rear of the hotel ( particularly from the upper floors) are expansive and impressive - especially when the geysers are active.
Rooms in the main body of the hotel are comfortable and well appointed - if a little on the small side for a long stay.
Most recently, we have stayed in high floor,thermal reserve, view rooms which have a superb king-size bed and a small balcony, to maximise the aspect.
There is a newer wing of rooms adjacent to the swimming pool and surrounding lawns ,which we have not personally experienced,but note that these rooms do not have balconies.
The thermally heated swimming pool and spa pools are great ( although,some good changing rooms in the pool area would be an advantage).
The staff are universally friendly,knowledgeable and accommodating. We cannot not speak highly enough of the hotel service at all levels ( with a special mention to the concierge,Brian , who also drives the shuttle bus).
We have not recently dined at the hotel restaurant, " Chapmans", in the evening,but can totally recommend the hotel breakfast which is fresh,varied and caters for all tastes.
This is our " Go To" hotel in Rotorua (and we have stayed in a few ! ).

Room Tip: We would personally recommend ,high floor ,thermal view rooms, with balcony, in the main body of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 310HilaryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear 310HilaryW,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. It’s great to know that we are your ‘Go To’ hotel in Rotorua, and rewarding to read that you have stayed numerous times and consider ours to be an excellent, good value hotel. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you on your next return.

Kind regards,

Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night whilst travelling around the North Island. We arrived quite late and were given a room with a great view over the thermal village - altough we didn't see it until the next morning. The hotel is in a perfect location for the village which is what we wanted as we didn't have much time to spend in Rotorua unfortunately. The room was very nice and clean - a bit of a sulphur smell when we first got there but we soon got used to it or it went away. Other than that it was all very much what you come to expect from a standard Holiday Inn.

My only comment would be that we arrived about 9:00PM and were absoloutely shattered as we had done the black water rafting at the Waitamo caves that afternoon. We went down to the restaurant as we thought we might be able to get something quick and easy to eat. They had a huge buffet laid out which looked gorgeous but the staff informed us that it would be closing at 9:30 sharp but the main menu was still available. By this time it was 9:10-15 and we didn't want to rush so we decided to got and get a take away instead. I know we were only 2 people but it might have been nice if they could have perhaps still offered us to eat at the buffet and slowly clear things away but we didn't want to sit there for 10 minutes and then feel pressured to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear smiffy79,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed the great view from your room, and found us to be perfectly located for your needs. I am sorry that you weren’t offered a better solution to your dinner requirements on the day and understand your decision to opt for takeaways given the circumstances. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kind regards,

Kent Breeze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Vic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

From the moment we arrived hours before check in and the friendly, helpful staff arranged storage of our baggage through to a wonderful breakfast the next morning and everything in between was just perfect at this hotel. We booked the Gondola Heights package which was amazing value. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed the skyline gondola and luge. The hotel has a great pool and spa area with both being heated to a very inviting temperature. We had very comfortable beds, excellent block out curtains and no noise from the surrounding rooms equalled a great night's sleep for the whole family. Would have loved to stay longer. Service from all staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woojay25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear woojay 25,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed everything about your time with us, and received excellent service from our staff. It is good to know how much your kids enjoyed the Gondola Heights package! We aim to provide affordable fun packages the whole family can enjoy, and it is rewarding to know we hit the mark. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had 2 nights here on a bed-and-breakfast basis, and ate in both nights (in the restaurant for the buffet one night, and room-service the second night). The room was upgraded as I'm a platinum priority member, and we could see the geysers and Whakarewarewa village from our balcony. The whole stay including excellent 3-course dinners cost just over £250 - and that was over the Easter holiday, when the hotel was packed. We felt we had really good service and value-for money. The room itself was fine and the bed very comfortable - shower a bit lacking in pressure but other than that minor issue we had nothing negative to say. We would happily stay there again, even if it is a bit out of town.

Room Tip: 5th floor balcony rooms overlooking the village give best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear IMUK,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you experienced good service and value for money when you stayed with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have always loved taking the family to Chapmans Restaurant, however on Easter Sunday I took family and friends to the Buffet that I had bosted was second to none. The staff were friendly and well presented but the food was very average. All of the seafood I tried was tasteless and the selection wasnt great, the presentation of the seafood area was messy, it looked like a group of small children had been grazing. The hot food was all overcooked any dry with the exception of the roast vegetables which were perfect. The restaurant wasnt overly busy but the staff were very slow to remove our dirty plates. The deserts ran out, I had been craving a brandy snap all day but they werent replenished. I would be reluctant to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brendaselwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear brendaselwyn,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you found our staff to be friendly and well presented. I am sorry the presentation of buffet food did not meet with your expectations though; our Chapman’s Dinner Buffet is very popular and well attended both by in-house, and local or casual diners. As such, when large numbers of diners are serving themselves, the presentation of the buffet can at times be left wanting between the time of the dining rush and when the team can clean up, and restore orderliness. We expect this to be taken care of as soon as practicable to maintain the quality of our product and presentation, and I apologise for the slow service you experienced. I am not sure what time you dined with us, but I imagine it may have been following a peak time as described above. Our Dinner Desert Buffet varies daily and is based on our Chef’s creations and selections, and I am sorry that you missed out on the brandy snaps you were so looking forward to. Incidentally, we try to do as little as possible to our seafood selection to allow the natural flavours of the food to take centre stage. Your review was the only uncomplimentary feedback we received about the Restaurant on the evening in question, and it is a shame that we weren’t afforded the opportunity to address your dissatisfaction whilst you were still here. We are in the business of helping people to have a good time, and welcome the opportunity to turn things around if you are not happy with any aspect of your stay. I would be very happy for you to contact me personally, gm@holidayinnrotorua.co.nz so that we can talk through your feedback in more detail. Again, thank you again for placing your feedback on Trip Advisor. All correspondence, positive or negative, assists us in working towards improving our products and service.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here three nights - the room was fantastic, the beds very comfortable and the service was great. It was a little bit out of town, but they had a great service bus for those of us who don't drive. Would recommend it to anyone who wants a good night's sleep and a great view.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Julie S,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed a comfortable stay with a great view! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Property: Holiday Inn Rotorua
Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing