We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most impressed by staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Most impressed by staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Holiday Inn Rotorua as part of a group. Our room was on the small side as was the bathroom but perfectly adequate for our needs. The beds and pillows were exceptionally comfortable which made for a good night's sleep. The buffet breakfast was tasty and there was a wide variety of food options. What really made this hotel stand out for me was the friendliness of the staff from the cleaning staff to the front desk. Everyone was welcoming and happy to help in any way. I have no hesitation in recommending a stay here...it may be 3kms from the centre but there is always a shuttle on hand to drop you off and pick you up as well. It actually only took us 30 minutes to walk back one night anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyT117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Penny T117,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and slept well while you were here. Thank you for mentioning our friendly and welcoming staff; I will enjoy sharing your feedback with them, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    366
    171
    35
    10
See reviews for
228
365
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney AU
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Spent two nights here Feb 2013. Been a while since here last and if I remember rightly it was a Crwne Plaza back then. Rebranded as a Holiday Inn has been successful in my opinion. The Hotel staff are very friendly and efficient. The Reataurant isa ver popular - the Friday night buffet we went to was just lovely. Great choice of food - well attended by staff considering how busy it was, and food was always replenished in a timely fashion.
We stayed in their toer blovk - only 5 storeys but we had an executive suite front and centre with views out to Lake Rotorua and the hills to the left of it. The suite was very comfortable and has separate bedroom. Bed was comfy as were the pillow choices.
The room was nicely kept, clean with modern flatscreenTVs and dvd player as standard. Loved the fact they continued the tradition of the free slip-on slippers that many hotels have abandoned.
Another plus is the free self parking in the hotel grounds. Not undercover, but most cars were rentals anyway. Street parking available as overflow.
The hotel backs onto the entrance to Whakarewarewa Maori Villiage and Thermal area. A must see for all tourists and right on your doorstep. Literally 2-3 minutes walk away. Hotel is well serviced by tour buses and tour companies.
My only dislikes were the continued rip-off we see in most IHG hotels in Oceania - no free internet or wireless. Even wireless access in rooms and lobby and computers set up in lobby were all "pay to use". C'mon IHG - if MacDonlads can give free wireless while you eat your burger, surely wireless for a room costing hundreds per night is not too much to ask.
Also, I wanted assistance from a Concierge one morning. I waited at the "rostrum" I assumed was there for that purpose, yet no one ever came to help. Reception was flat out with checkouts, so I did not interupt them and in the end I gave up and sorted things myself - over the internet at MacDonalds.
Hotel is not right in the city - it is set back a couple of Klms, bit if you have a car or are doig tours, no problem - and Whakarewarewa is just right there. Also a very good souvenir and NZcrafts shop across the road. There is also a small souvenir shop in the lobby area, which is quite reasonable and very convenient.
Will I go back - yes.Overall a very pleasant and enjoyable experience. Rotorua has a lot to see and do.

Room Tip: Go for floors 4 or 5 in tower, recommend the executive suites. Lower floors are the ones the tour bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Good_onya_Mate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Good_onya_Mate,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the views from the Executive Suite.
Thank you for mentioning our popular Restaurant; it is good to know you found a great choice of food and were well looked after by our friendly staff. Morning check-out can be a very busy time and I thank you for being so patient. I can appreciate why you didn’t approach Reception for help and I am sorry no one was available to be of service to you at the rostrum. Our Front Office Reception staff are well versed in local services and attractions and are more than happy to provide assistance when needed.
Thank you for your Wi Fi comments. We are continually investigating ways of improving our Wi Fi service and presently offer complimentary Wi Fi access in our Hotel Lobby area only, (where Wi Fi is for 30 MB or 30 minutes, whichever is used first). The rates we charge for usage outside of the free Wi Fi, is in line with other hotels in this destination who are also charged by the local internet providers. From our experience, it is common practice in Hotels across Australasia for Wi Fi to be charged for – this has certainly been the case when we have stayed in other hotels across the Tasman. Going forward our charges may well change; for the moment though, our Wi Fi service remains as is, in line with IHG policy.
Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.
Kindest regards,
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed there for 1 night during our Honeymoon roadtrip. We passed from Rotorua as gateway heading from Auckland to Wellington, in order to see the hot springs.
The hotel is outside the center with many parking spaces. The lobby is average but the rooms are renovated. From our room we had a view to a geothermal spring. We didn't try any other hotel facility, but we noticed that there was a swimming pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dleliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear dleliot,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This Hotel is what every hotel should aspire to be. We were met with wet towels and bottles of water. The staff treated us like we were their long lost family. I loved this hotel. The restaurant service and food was exceptional. Everything about this place is fantastic. We felt very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wren5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Wren5758,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. It sounds like you were very much at home at our hotel and it is good to know you really enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your high praises; I look forward to sharing your comments with our Team and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne NZ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We enjoy Platinum Elite status and we took two reward nights here in late January 2013.

We were received and welcomed and given a second floor double bedded room facing the Thermal complex. The room had TWO armchairs and a large picture window + air conditioning that worked quietly The room facilities were spotless ( and maintained that way in spite of us !!!) We slept well and enjoyed spectacular views of the thermal area outside.

We ate Dinner both evenings from the 'Buffet' menu and enjoyed all the seafood variety offered. Staff were attentive and friendly throughout.. We heard from others that the 'a la carte' was also enjoyable.
A feature of this Hotel is that several (perhaps many) of the staff were employees with a number of years service -- and they were good! It would account for the quiet way in which this hotel efficiently 'ticked along' unobtrusively ! There is a 'safe' pool outside for Junior to swim in safely and it was maintained at about 35C and there were hot-tubs as well. Of course WE forgot to pack our swim-wear !!!!!

We have stayed in some of the best Hotels in Europe (at great expense!),-- but this Hotel is the equal of the best and better than some where we have stayed and regretted our choice We recommend this hotel for any kind of visitors: -- week-end away; longer holidays; and especially tourists;) as there is plenty to do in the Rotorua environs

Room Tip: Do pay the extra for a second floor new wing room facing Thermal area. Worth it !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelinspector72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear HotelInspector72,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed the spectacular thermal views from your room in our Whaka Wing, and rate us as equal of the best and better than some of the hotels you have stayed at. It is a shame you forgot your swimwear as I am sure you would have liked our pool & spa too! Thank you for mentioning our attentive and friendly staff, they really appreciate the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to stay (remember your swimmers!).

Kindest regards,
Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here in late December 2012 for just one night and enjoyed the hot pool with the family. Very good place and location. Try to get the Skyline combo price, works out quite well. Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Globe TrotDad,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, it is good to know you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the hot pool. I am pleased the Skyline Combo worked for you; that really is a good deal, particularly for those staying with children. Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated on the edge of the city next the Maori thermal village. There's eggy smell everywhere here and several steam holes within a few feet of the hotel which makes for a dramatic backdrop.
The place with the strongest egg smell in Rotorua is in the corridor outside room 608 in this hotel. However the air con inside mitigates this.
Lavinia the breakfast manager is worth a mention for her excellent service.
There were a lot of Japanese staying and it's worth looking at their table manners to thank heaven they didn't win the war.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Linda F,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua and for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor. It is good to know you received excellent service and I have passed Lavinia’s name on to our Human Resources Coordinator to ensure that she is appropriately recognised. Again, thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua the next time you travel our way.


Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Property: Holiday Inn Rotorua
Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing