We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Nearby Hotels
$156
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 05/30
Book now, pay at stay
$163
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$848
$699
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/27
$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$149
$116
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$484
$412
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$120
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$144
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$100
$92
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (980)
Filter reviews
980 results
Traveler rating
290
442
194
39
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
442
194
39
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthermal villageshuttle buswhakarewarewa maorite puiaroom servicegeothermal areabuffet dinnerthermal reservefree wifisulphur smellstandard roomheated poolcomfortable hotelhot springsstayed here for nightstown centrethermal pools
Filter
Updating list...
872 - 877 of 980 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The hotel had bad air circulation and add to that the smell from the sulphur pools... it was not good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2012

Dear Heidi S,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua. The scent of sulphur is a renowned aspect of a visit to Rotorua, and one of the features that make our area unique and memorable. One would not normally experience this scent within our fully air conditioned guest rooms, though depending on the atmospheric conditions prevalent at the time it can occasionally be detectable in the corridors. Without having details of when you stayed, I am unable to ascertain whether there may have been an issue with the air conditioning in your room, which may have prompted your comment about bad air circulation. We are usually able to rectify any air conditioning issues promptly when alerted to them. I apologise if this was not the case, and am sorry that this was not a good experience for you.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor and thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed in room "816" which was on the second floor (G, 1, 2) of the wing. The views over the geothermal park were very nice. We were originally put in a ground floor room but asked for one a bit higher as the views of the fence were not that exciting. Our room was very nicely laid out with two extremely comfortable queen beds.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, moved our room with no problem.

The outdoor pool and spas were great, the main pool a little too warm for my liking, but my wife loved it.

The breakfast buffets were very good - especially loved the 'eggs benedict' that were there for two of the three mornings.

We thought that the location would be great, being next to whakarewarewa, but we didnt end up visiting either whakarewarewa or te puia after reading the reviews on tripadvisor.... instead we visited a few free geothermal spots instead and would have done waimangu if it wasnt raining on the day. Being futher from town didnt bother us as we travelled by car.

One big negative was the in-house tv. The picture quality was pretty bad for regular and SKY TV channels on the LG flat screens and the "free to guest" movies were even worse. The FTG picture was fuzzy and the audio difficult to listen to and often out of sync with the picture. On the final day of our stay, the disney channel and some other channel was showing a "you're not subscribed to this channel" message.

Room Tip: geothermal rooms in the second floor of the wing had good views (even numbers 8xx)
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

Dear nzregs,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the views from your room overlooking the geothermal valley. This is one of the special features that make a stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua, a unique and memorable experience.

Also pleasing, was your comment about your extremely comfortable queen beds. We receive an abundance of positive feedback about our beds and pillows and it is very rewarding for us to know that you have rested comfortably and well, while you were with us.

I am sorry that the in-house television was less than satisfactory during your stay. We experienced a fault with one of the decoders, which affected the picture quality. We had it re-tuned once the fault was brought to our attention. Additionally, a Freeview box stopped working, which we replaced as soon as we were able. Though, obviously the time in between would have been very frustrating for you, and I apologise that this reduced your in-house viewing enjoyment.

I hope you enjoyed the local spots you visited, and I am sure there will be many more for you to experience next time you come to town.

We look forward to welcoming you back, and thank you again for placing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have stayed at the Holiday inn (used to be Heritage) hotel many times and the last few times we have booked a king room first king room was AMAZING overlooking the city then the next time we were upgraded to a suite over looking the city and this was a nice room also but the last time we stayed we were put in this small room overlooking the thermal side and it was so small and dingy. We have dined at Chapman's restaurant and the food here is REALLY good!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Dear ntegra,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It is fair to say that some of our rooms are a little smaller than others. We refurbished these rooms to allow more space, although, as you had previously stayed in more spacious room types, it is understandable that you would notice a discernable difference.

Please do make mention of your preferences next time you plan to stay. Our Reservations Team are happy to discuss your requirements with you, to ensure you are given a room that best suits your needs. Reservations can be made directly with the hotel by calling Freecall 0800 108 114.

Thank you very much for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you travel our way.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had booked our room specifically for the view but found this was marred by overlooking the roof, the carpark & a very large tree. Was also very noisy from hotel machinery in in area just outside our room. Room has been refurbished & was very clean, however bathrooms in need of an upgrade, at least to get rid of rusty fittings.
The saving grace of this hotel is its wonderful staff, from reception through to the breakfast restaurant. All were friendly & very helpful. I'd return because of the staff, however I would be very specific about which room I want, as this hotel is all about the (promised) view.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah4341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Dear Deborah4341,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that the service of our friendly & helpful staff made up for the disappointment you felt with the view from your room. Please do make mention of your preferences next time you plan to stay. Our Reservations Team are happy to discuss your requirements with you, to ensure you are allocated a room that suits your needs. Reservations can be made directly with the hotel by calling Freecall 0800 108 114.

We really do appreciate you taking the time to place feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you come to town.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here two years ago when it was a 'Heritage Hotel' - has had its rooms refurbished since then and overall I think its a great value for money family spot.
ROOMS
We had interconnecting rooms - a little on the small side but really comfy beds and a fantastic selection of pillows on the new linen covers and sheets to choose from. There is a good selection of amenities in the bathrooms and a note offering more complimentary ones from housekeeping if you had forgotten an essential item, which I thought was a nice touch. Lots of towels too which is always good! No mini bar as such but a call to room service should you need anything to drink. Air conditioning worked well, and rooms quiet because of not on the main road.
LOCATION
About 5 min drive from the centre of town - but a couple of takeaways/cafes/restaurants within walking distance. There was a notice near the lifts saying they had complimentary shuttle service for those without a car. Lots of car parks right out front of the hotel for free.
SERVICE and FACILITIES
Really helpful, efficient reception staff - no charge for our snack to be delivered to the pool area. Outdoor heated (like quite warm!) pool a hit with the kids. Gym was well kept and all the equipment and machines was new and we enjoyed using it on our stay. Noticed they had a Beauty Spa but did not visit. Buffet breakfast was adequate and with good selection - with an offer every morning of cooking eggs to our liking in addition which was great. Staff in restaurant very friendly and helpful.

Overall a great family place - would definately stay again when in Rotorua!

Room Tip: rooms at back of hotel would get a great view of the bubbling hot pools over the way
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemizfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Dear littlemizfab,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, particularly with the comfy beds and pillows. We believe in the importance of resting well while you are travelling and away from home, and it is rewarding to receive so much positive feedback appreciating the investment we have made in this area.

I am delighted that you consider our hotel to be great value for money, and a great family place to stay. We do have a strong family focus, and our pools and games have proven very popular with the children who stay here.

It was also pleasing to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We strive to provide a consistently good quality of product and service throughout the hotel, and it is most rewarding to see feedback reflecting that this was achieved and experienced during your stay.

Thank you again. We really do appreciate you taking the time to place feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua next time you come to town.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews