We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Nearby Hotels
$157
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$147
$116
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$144
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$484
$412
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$120
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$725
$428
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$100
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (980)
Filter reviews
980 results
Traveler rating
290
442
194
39
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
442
194
39
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthermal villageshuttle buswhakarewarewa maorite puiaroom servicegeothermal areabuffet dinnerthermal reservefree wifisulphur smellstandard roomheated poolcomfortable hotelhot springsstayed here for nightstown centrethermal pools
Filter
Updating list...
898 - 903 of 980 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We used to come here when it was the Heritage and we were upset that it had changed hands but came anyway. Pleasantly surprised to find that things were even better! The same deals such as kids eat free with an adult etc. And they had a wonderful new coffee machine to help yourself to, the breakfast had a far greater selection and extremely good service. The meals a la carte were a far better standard and even though there were a few familiar faces in general the staff gave a far better service all round.
The rooms had been upgraded with new bed linens and everything in general seemed fresher and better.
If you go with your kids during school holidays make sure the parents of other kids stay to supervise them! The pool here is great- lots of fun for hours but not good if you have to supervise others while the parents escape to their room!

Room Tip: We were in room 810 which we have been in before. We like this wing as the view of the surrounding countryside and geysers is fantastic.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Dear kiwibear,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased that you came back to Holiday Inn Rotorua despite your misgivings over the brand change. Although we have changed brand, the ownership of the hotel has not changed and there was almost no change in staff. As you mentioned, we have made significant improvements as part of the brand change and I am glad that you appreciated these improvements.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua in the future.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Rotorua - a lovely little place in NZ!

Stayed 2 nights in Auguist, 2011.

Staff were very friendly, including the portugese barman and the Manager, who certainly knew his rugby Union!

Rooms - very nice and great value for money.

Ate at the hotel as well and the restaurant was good value.

A free car park - 10 mins from Rotorua CBD, so out of town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnogreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Dear jonnogreig,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.
I’m pleased to read that you found the hotel to be nice and comfortable and the team friendly. We are just 3km from the central City and we do offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from town, to remove any concerns over our location.
And yes, we are ready for the Rugby World Cup, with knowledgeable and passionate staff!
Our service is our benchmark; feedback, such as you have provided, enables us to monitor ourselves, ensuring that we remain on track to provide a consistent level of guest service.
Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback.

Kindest regards,


Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Very quiet location. Really clean and the food although a little expensive was very tasty. Our room was an interconnecting one as we had two kids. Plenty of space but the interconnecting rooms don't get views but we didn't care. The outdoor heated pool wasn't very heated. I think they should check this more often. As it's thermal it shouldn't be hard!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylor12auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Dear taylor12auckland,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.
It’s always pleasing to read positive comments from our guests. I’m glad that you found the hotel clean and comfortable. I am sorry that you experienced a cooler than usual pool. We heat the pool using geothermal water which comes in at a constant temperature, however atmospheric conditions such as rain and very low outdoor temperatures can impact on the pool temperature. We do our best to minimize these fluctuations and I am sorry that this impacted on your enjoyment of the pool.
Our service is our benchmark; it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to monitor ourselves to ensure that we are providing a consistent level of guest service.
Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback.


Kindest regards,


Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Family of 4, parents and 2 teen boys 13 and 15. 3 nights in a Superior B & B package which included a wonderful buffet breakfast. The room was spacious, beds very comfortable, the bathroom very clean. Great heated spa and pool. Room service meal was ex value. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank family4ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Dear family4ofus,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for passing on such positive comments about your stay. It is great to know that our guests are experiencing the high levels of service and quality we strive for. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I stayed at Holiday Inn Rotorua in June 2011 for 4 nights whilst attending an Industry Trade Show in Rotorua. The hotel is on the outskirts of town (bear in mind that the outskirts of town is just a few minutes from the centre of town) but has the added benefit of overlooking natural geo thermal springs. The location was tranquil and the view from my window was just lovely. It was beautiful waking up each morning and seeing the steam oozing from the springs. The staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly, nothing was a problem. The bed was absolutely amazing. Room was comfortable and very clean.
This was my first visit to Rotorua. I was told that the sulphur smell would be really bad, this was not the case at all, even though the hotel is right on the springs. The smell was evident at times but was in no way over powering and did not impact at all on my stay.
There is a cultural village adjacent to Holiday Inn which is well worth visiting. I caught a taxi to the Polynesian Baths on my last mornng and I would highly recommend this. Wonderful sitting in a pool at 41 degrees celcius in the middle of winter overlooking Lake Rotorua.
Would I stay here again....most definitely!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Dear lynWollongong,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Holiday Inn Rotorua is very lucky to have such a prime position overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve. The geothermal views are truly spectacular and such a renowned aspect of a visit to Rotorua. And, yes, the smell of sulphur is also a renowned aspect of a visit to Rotorua, I am very pleased that you found that it didn’t impact on your stay.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and in particular enjoyed our beds and the service you received from our excellent staff, about which we regularly receive positive comments.

Our service is our benchmark; feedback such as you have provided, enables us to monitor ourselves, ensuring that we remain on track to provide a consistent level of guest service.

Again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews