We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the property but.....I think it may be haunted!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed at the hotel on 15th May 11 in room no 526, although I liked everything about the hotel- location, room, size, layout, amenities, bed and pillows but we didn't have a good night sleep. We felt some paranormal activity in the room like there was a third spooky presence. It was just weird.

Dear GM- I just want an honest answer if you have had any other guest report similar thing. Are you aware that the property might be haunted?

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rashikhosla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2011

Dear Rashikhosia,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

Regarding your comment about the hotel being haunted, in the 5 ½ years that I have been General Manager at this hotel I can honestly say that we have not had any reports of paranormal activity in this room, which also has one of the highest occupancies of all our rooms due to its location with views of both the city and the geothermal valley. I can only suggest that the extraordinary storm which we experienced on the night of your stay, with very strong winds, may have contributed to the feeling of paranormal acitivity.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed everything else about the hotel and hope that you will return in the future to see that the hotel is not haunted.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 859 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed here when it was still the Heritage Hotel, but it was about to change to become a Holiday Inn. Room was good, came with air con because of the sulphur from the geysers which was good. Had a small balcony.
Bathroom was ok, the bath was half built in the wall so not ideal.
Had a nice swimming pool and two spa baths outside with decking and sun loungers. The pools were heated by geysers.
They had a hotel mini bus which would run you into town which was about 2 km away, and would collect you if you rang them up. We took advantage of this to go into town for dinner. Lots of good places to eat in the town. Also has a large lake at the end of the main street.
Mud bathing is recommended, we went to Hell's Gate which was good fun. Smells a lot but is amazing and mud baths are fun :)
Would definitely stay again and Rotorua was one of our favourite towns.

Room Tip: Hotel service was great
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pimmsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Dear pimmsgirl,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I am sure you will be pleased with the improvements we have made as we rebranded to Holiday Inn Rotorua. I am also very glad that you made good use of our courtesy van, which we hope makes a more pleasant stay for our guests.

Rotorua has so much to offer visitors and it is great to read that you made the most of your time here and got out and about.

Again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Rotorua.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Excellent site right next to Whaka village and the Te-Puia geysers - make sure you get a room with this view! The all-pervading smell of sulphur in Rotorua takes some getting used to, but it didn't penetrate into our clean and spacious room. We skipped breakfast both mornings as there were hordes of Asian tourists in the queues, and their buses tended to clog up the entrance to the carpark. If you have the choice, spend your money with the maoris in Whaka village rather than at the over-commecialized and overly expensive Te-Puia.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

Dear TonySwiss,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Holiday Inn Rotorua is very lucky to have such a prime position overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve. The geothermal views are truly spectacular and such a renowned aspect of a visit to Rotorua. And, yes, the smell of sulphur is also a renowned aspect of a visit to Rotorua, I am very pleased that you found that it didn’t penetrate your room.

I am sorry that you felt unable to eat breakfast in the hotel due to the presence of tour groups. The close proximity to Auckland makes Rotorua an attractive short stay destination for international groups. I understand that large groups of people can be off-putting, however we do try and minimize the impact to other guests through seating these groups in a separate area in the restaurant and having systems which allow these groups to be seated as quickly as possible.

Our service is our benchmark; feedback such as you have provided, enables us to monitor ourselves, ensuring that we remain on track to provide a consistent level of guest service.

Again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We only had one night in Rotorua but had a pleasant stay at Holiday Inn.

We were there for sightseeing so this was a great location for Whaka Park or Te Puia and not too far from town or other attractions, such as zorbing/agrodome/skyline etc

It is a large hotel but was welcoming enough as the staff were pleasant. The room was comfortable with the usual amenities such as hairdryer/tea&coffee/iron/ironing board/toiletries etc The bed was comfortable and you could choose the firmness of your pillows.

We ordered room service which was good value for money as the portions were huge and the food was delivered quickly & without any fuss.

There is a pool & towels are provided for this. We did not venture into it as we went over to the Polynesian Spa which I would highly recommend. We watched the sun set & the moon come up over the lake while we lounged in the naturally, hot pools. Fantastic!

Overall we had a pleasant stay & we appreciated being so close to the thermal parks.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDN_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

Dear LDN_Wanderer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I really appreciated the comments you made regarding your room and room service. Having just recently changed to Holiday Inn (on 1st March 2011) we have made significant improvements to both the rooms and room service and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Our service is our benchmark; feedback such as you have provided, enables us to monitor ourselves, ensuring that we remain on track to provide a consistent level of guest service.

Again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

This was a very clean hotel with great staff very custom friendly. Our room was smaller than what we are used to. The hotel is not town center but they do offer a shuttle which was helpful since we did not have a car.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaceys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2011

Dear kaceys1,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I am glad to read that you made use of our shuttle service. Although we are located 3 km from the central city, our location on an active geothermal valley is unique, even in Rotorua, and is complemented by the shuttle service to provide access to the central city.

We do appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Once you get used to the sulphur smell of Rotoura you can appreciate the location of this hotel right next to the Thermal park. Plenty of space inside and out with helpful staff. The hotel was rather taken over by Korean coach parties which seemed to be constantly gathering by the entrance but it wasn't a major issue. The rooms were a good size and overall I would rate it as good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerRotorua, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2011

Dear Dwon,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Rotorua recently and for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

I appreciate the comment you made regarding the large number of tour groups present in the hotel. The close proximity to Auckland makes Rotorua an attractive short stay destination for international groups. We do try and minimize the impact of the large groups on our other guests and am pleased to read that it wasn’t an issue for you.

Since your visit we have become Holiday Inn Rotorua and have made many changes to the hotel. We welcome you to return and experience our new hotel and would appreciate any feedback you would have.

Again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback.

Kindest regards,

Marcus Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 용빈 임
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
2.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
207 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotorua

Address: 10 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Heritage Rotorua)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $86 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Rotorua is a modern hotel overlooking the Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve and Historical Village. It features: • A free to use heated swimming pool and health club. • Free parking. • Kids Eat and Stay Free. (Up to 2 children under 12.) • Free Wifi for IHG Rewards Club Members. The air-conditioned rooms of Holiday Inn Rotorua offer a modern design and cable TV with free movies and 2 children's channels. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided. The award winning Chapman’s Restaurant and Bar offers an a la carte menu, and buffet, and serves contemporary New Zealand cuisine, matched with a fine wine selection. Room service is available 24/7. The Rotorua Holiday Inn is situated close to all the city's attractions and offers free shuttle pickup from the Rotorua Tourism Information Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing