We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel with private outdoor spa bath”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birchwood Spa Motel
Ranked #85 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Motel is on the outskirts of Rotorua but this does not cause a problem with free parking in the town. Within walking distance of Te Puia a Maori visitors centre and training centre. Rooms are not large but this is well offset by the private spa bath in a private enclosed courtyard.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilCowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 101 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2010

Last week we enjoyed a very pleasant 3 days at this motel. Jill & Stephen made us very welcome and were always on hand to answer any questions.

The unit was extremely clean and well furnished. The other staff were very pleasant and always smiling.

In short a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayhorrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Stayed at Birchwood spa motel the weekend of raggamuffin and was a great weekend. The hosts were friendly and made us feel very comfortable.
i would highly recommend Birchwood motel to anyone. I am looking forward to my next stay there, infact im trying to make an excuse to go back.......... Thanks for a memorable weekend!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tui75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Two families stayed in 2 townhouses. Perfect. Clean and spacious, facilties great, our home away from home. Hosts Jill and Steve were the friendliest and most helpful throughout our travels in NZ. Would recommend to anyone.
From The Kong & Gu Familes, Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LYLHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Spotlessly clean motel, ideally situated, just a comfortable distance from the centre of town, all units wonderfully equiped with all the essentials. Also Jill and her husband are the perfect hosts ready with all the local knowledge to make your stay even more enjoyable. Not one fault to find!! great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topsy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

I booked this motel for the easter weekend for my boyfriend and I, when we arrived we were greeted by the owners of the motel, who were absolutely wonderful and very helpful with things to do in Rotorua. The motel room was extremely clean and spacious equipped with everything we needed, the bathroom was very clean and tidy but basic, But excellent value for money. Overall the motel was fantastic and I would recommend for anyone wanting a warm, clean and nice room for a decent price alongside warm hospitality from the staff. Also the free dvd library is excellent, kept us well entertained when in the motel =)

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOURISTNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We found this gem through the Rotorua Info Site. Since we had come from a very disappointing stay our previous night, Birchwood felt like heaven. We had a 2 bedroom unit which was spotless with a large common area and a great shower. We were 4 adults and very comfortable. There was a nearby hot tub which was perfect after our outdoor activities in the rain. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. It was a sort walk to Te Puia where the evening hangi, entertainment and thermal areas were a highlight of our trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MAquohoag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
0.5 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#44 of 92 in Rotorua
216 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#39 of 92 in Rotorua
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#66 of 92 in Rotorua
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Spa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Spa Motel

Address: 6 Sala Street | Po Box 6107, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $77 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood Spa Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the Birchwood Spa Motel. Studio, one and two bedroom spa units, townhouses with own garaging, close to thermal attractions, 2.5kms from town centre. Studios offer tea/toast making facilities, other units have well equipped kitchens. Qualmark Four Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Birchwood Spa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing