We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcoming place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birchwood Spa Motel
Ranked #86 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed January 30, 2008

We have just returned from a trip to New Zealand. We had stayed at the Birchwood Spa Motel in 2000 so decided to go back. Our stay was even more comfortable. The new hosts just couldn't do enough to make our Rotorua experience enjoyable. Just outstanding. Spotless rooms, pretty surroundings and situated in such a convenient area to enjoy everything that Rotorua has to offer.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kiwiandsidekick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 101 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2007

Very fine place, walking distance to two of the thermal areas and just off one of the main streets. Everything we needed including free broadband wireless, a free car wash, microwave, toaster, TV with several channels (most motels got 3), and a large spa tub in the room. We enjoyed that greatly. A solid 5 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MisterWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

My wife and I spent two nights here on a tour of the North Island. The motel was on a busy road in the suburbs of Rotorua, but we weren't disturbed by traffic at night. We had a bedroom with a separate bathroom. There was a hot tub on the patio at the back, which we used once. The room wasn't very well equipped - just a fridge and microwave. The decoration and furnishings were simple but pleasant. The charge of NZ$120/night seemed reasonable value for Rotorua.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank james2anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2006

Not that great a Motel for the price I had to pay, was a bit disappointed that it lacked atmosphere and the Spa Pool wasnt good at all, it was clean but that was about it, wouldnt stay there again its a bit far from town as well

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jack_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2006

Had a good stay in Rotorua, lots to do there, motel is close to the maori thermal area but a bit far to walk to town, spa could have been better, clean and comfortable, bit over priced and basic

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James_Marlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2006

The owners, Steve and Jill, are delightful. Jill gave us a tour of all the rooms available when we arrived. Steve had worlds of great information about local attractions and restaurants. Rooms are roomy and very clean. Spa tubs in most rooms. Kitchenettes. Laundry on site but no restaurant. Parking right outside the room. A few blocks from the center of town, but very convenient and easy to get to. Definitely give them a look if you are going to Rotorua. Like any hotel on a busy street, a little traffic noise.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redthatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2004

This motel is on the motel 'strip' as you go into Rotorua - it is right opposite the whakarewarewa thermal village and a so good location for some thermal activity - beware the stink of sulphur that eminates around Rotorua!! The rooms are great with separate bedroom and a private outdoor spa and you can park right outside your front door. The staff are very friendly and their cat will come to greet you every time you leave your room!
Its a bit of a walk into the town centre - but there is not much there anyway - and thats not what you go to Rotorua for anyway so it is not a disadvantage.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank atob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Spa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Spa Motel

Address: 6 Sala Street | Po Box 6107, Rotorua, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $79 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birchwood Spa Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the Birchwood Spa Motel. Studio, one and two bedroom spa units, townhouses with own garaging, close to thermal attractions, 2.5kms from town centre. Studios offer tea/toast making facilities, other units have well equipped kitchens. Qualmark Four Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birchwood Spa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing