We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and informative”

Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.07*
and up
Whakarewarewa, The Living Maori Village Guided Tour with Optional Hangi Meal
Ranked #8 of 112 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In August 2015 Whakarewarewa received recognition as one of the Lonely Planets’ Top 500 Ultimate Travel Destinations, being ranked at #276 in the world. he Living Maori Village is set among the geothermal landscape of the Te Whakarewarewa Valley, a ten minute walk from town. See the Geysers, Bubbling Pools, Mud Pools, and Steam Vents and walk our back tracks with amazing photo opportunities. The Living Maori Village is an authentic and unique attraction where the villagers live, cook and bath in the geothermal waters on a daily basis. The entry fee includes a fully guided tour and Maori Cultural Performance, including the world famous HAKA. Our guides are direct descendants of the guides who guided at the Pink and White Terraces over 170 years ago, this legacy is as important today as it was then.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and informative”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

This place was great.
Sandra, our guide, was fun and informative.
Totally recommended and better value for money than some of the other places.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTVT, Guest Relations Manager at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Tena Koe Nicole

Thank-you (Kapai) for spending time with us at Whakarewarewa, and sounds like you made a good connection with guide Sandra.

It is also good to hear that you “totally recommend” the experience and you thought it was “good value for money”, as all proceeds go back into the village for repairs and maintenance and enhancement of our visitor (manuhiri) experience.

Travel safely and we hope to see you back in the future.

Ma te wa
the Whakarewarewa Whanau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    907
    535
    133
    41
    50
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome - Great Place”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is a mind blowing place, especially if you have a geological leaning. The geothermal activity is spectacular and seeing how the village harnesses this power is wonderful. All the people involved were helpful and friendly, great for the family.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTVT, Guest Relations Manager at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Kia Ora Adam G

Sounds like you had a great time in the village, and got some understanding about the geothermal activity in the village and Whakarewarewa Valley, and how the villagers harness and utilize these natural resources on a daily basis.

The Geyser, mud pools, steam vents and bubbling waters certainly create an amazing atmosphere.

Kapai, thank-you for taking the time to visit us and to share your experience.

Travel safely and enjoy the rest of your journey.

Nga mihi nui
the Whakarewarewa Whanau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Trip around New Zealand”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Hidden away this original Maori village in which people still live, has thermal pools, boiling mud pools and geysers. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTVT, Guest Relations Manager at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Kia Ora Jackie2691

Kapai, thank-you for your wonderful feedback and comments on our authentic Maori Village, and the fact that you thought our village was “well worth the visit”.

Our staff and Guides endeavour to make the experience a unique one for all our visitors by explaining how the villagers live among the thermal pools, boiling mud pools and geysers on a daily basis.

Enjoy the rest of your journey.

Nga mihi nui
the Whakarewarewa Whanau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Just good.”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

I enjoyed my visit to Whakarewarewa but felt it lacked somewhat when compared to similar experiences on offer in Rotorua such as Mitai and Tamaki. Saying that, it is PERFECT for families. Definitely the best choice in town if you are visiting with children. Plus the geothermal activity in the village is amazing and very unique. The guides are also excellent.
For me it was average but I know it would be great for families and perhaps an older audience who don't want an evening experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mimiblay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTVT, Guest Relations Manager at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Tena Koe mimiblay
Thank you for taking the time to visit us, and giving us your thoughts that the experience is “PERFECT for families”, and “the best choice in town if you are visiting with children”. We appreciate that
We are different to other attractions in Rotorua, in that we are a “living community”, with the villagers living among the geothermal field on a daily basis. This does include and cooking in the steam vents, and bubbling pools, and also bathing in the geothermal waters, which are very therapeutic.
Our guides are from the village and try to educate our manuhiri about our people, history and culture.
Although we do not have evening experiences (as we need to respect the villagers and ensure they have private time) we do provide kai (food) that is in cooked steam vents and bubbling pools.
These hangi meals and hangi pies have a unique flavour and are available from our café.
Kapai, thank-you for your feedback.
Ma te wa
the Whakarewarewa Whanau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An amazing insight into Maori life.”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

A fascinating look at the history and culture of the Rotorua maori people. A bit of classroom for the welcoming ceremony then a tour of the village. This is a living community rather than a museum piece and all the better for it. Our guide later demonstrated the preparation of flax which was almost like magic. Recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rolypope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTVT, Guest Relations Manager at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Kia Ora rolypope

We appreciate your thoughts that the village is a “living community”, rather than a “museum piece”.

We take pride in our uniqueness and the fact that the villagers live among the geothermal field on a daily basis and cook in the steam vents, and bubbling pools, and also bathe in the geothermal waters, which are very therapeutic.

As you mentioned, our guides are very multi-talented, and not only speak of our people, history and culture, they do prepare flax (harakeke), and undertake weaving demonstrations and show how they make the traditional pui pui and mats.

Kapai, thank-you.

Travel safely, and enjoy the rest of your trip.

Nga mihi nui
the Whakarewarewa Whanau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing