We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village

Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.17*
and up
Whakarewarewa, The Living Maori Village Guided Tour with Optional Hangi Meal
Ranked #8 of 108 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Living Maori Village is set among the geothermal landscape of the Te Whakarewarewa Valley, a ten minute walk from town. See the Geysers, Bubbling Pools, Mud Pools, and Steam Vents and walk our back tracks with amazing photo opportunities. The Living Maori Village is an authentic and unique attraction where the villagers live, cook and bath in the geothermal waters on a daily basis. The entry fee includes a fully guided tour and Maori Cultural Perfoemnace, including the world famous HAKA. Our guides are direct descendants of the guides who guided at the Pink and White Terraces over 170 years ago, this legacy is as important today as it was then.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Salisbury UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our first visit to NZ so Rotorua was a must. We visited Whakarewarewa on the recommendation of friends who live in NZ and their advice was good.

We had the guided tour, our guide was excellent - lots of information presented with a great sense of humour. The cultural presentation was also superb - they presenters clearly enjoyed their work rather than just offering a show..

We learnt lots about Maori culture both from the guided tour and from talking to the staff on the site, all of whom were very friendly and willing to share information.

Proved to be a great day out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank QJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMVT, Local Marketing Liaison at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments while visiting Te Whakarewarewa the Living Maori Village

I am glad that this your first visit to NZ and with recommendations from your friends to come visit Whakarewarewa.

It's great to know that you enjoyed your experience and that the staff were able to assist you from the informative guided tour to the entertainment of songs and dance at the cultural performance also having the opportunity to have speak our staff members who were happy to engage with you.

It is nice that you valued you experience and was worth the visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    839
    492
    127
    39
    48
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you want to find about Maori culture and heritage then go here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We spent the afternoon at the Living Village. It included a tour, a hangi meal and a cultural peformance. The charge for entry was very cheap for what you get for you're money. The tour is informative and rawly explains Maori culture and language. The staff at the site either live in the village or are connected to it so it's a fascinating insight into their lives. There is a mud pool, geothermal pools and a geyser which are amazing to see. We took some great pictures. They have made a bathing area out of the geothermal pools which is great to see. The hangi meal which is the traditional Maori way of cooking using the geothermal heat is tasty to say the least. Finally the cultural performance which included the Hakka, poi songs and dances is fantastic to watch. The harmonies the group makes beautiful to hear. We cannot recommend this pace enough!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Desbland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMVT, Local Marketing Liaison at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback while visiting Te Whakarewarewa the Living Maori Village

The Geothermal Hangi experience is a affordable package for our visitors who have come to experience Culture, History and Geothermal activity, with the opportunity to taste a meal cooked in Geothermal, glad to know that you made the most of this package and enjoyed your hangi meal.

The village still maintains it's authenticity with families still utilizing the natural resources of daily living.

Then with the cultural performance had highlighted your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“amazing, interesting great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I took my kids here a couple of years ago and they were fascinated by it, wonderful place and people so friendly. A must see

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMVT, Local Marketing Liaison at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments while visiting Te Whakarewarewa the Living Maori Village

It's great that from an earlier visit to the village that you bought your children to visit, as the village are too family orientated and when families arrive to see the children swimming in the river or performing on the stage with their family members are pleasantly surprised that our children are involved with activities in our village and makes their experience that more realistic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A very pleasant afternoon out - don't miss the Hungi pies!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We were in Rotorua for just one day and wanted to experience the thermal springs as well as some Maori culture. We were watching a program on the local tv station about the village and decided to visit because of the authentic nature of the village portrayed on TV. We weren't disappointed - the very well priced admission gave us admission to the village, a cultural mini concert that was excellent, and a guided tour that was extremely interesting. The best part was that the afternoon gave us an insight into Maori culture without the commercialism associated with a lot of these types of attractions. The people in the village were so friendly and accommodating, the guide was excellent, and the hungi pies are not to be missed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rilee0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMVT, Local Marketing Liaison at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments while visiting Te Whakarewarewa the Living Maori Village

Pleased that it was a local TV advert that made your decision to come visit us at Whakarewarewa.

The village is what makes the tours authentic and unique as the families still continue their communal living, by utilizing the natural resources and maintaining their identity, history and culture and that you had the opportunity to experience our lifestyle.

Everyone that has some affiliation from staff members, concert performers, village residents and our children are accustomed and communicate well with the visitors, just to speak with a local or tribal member can make a big difference to a visitors whole experience makes it more authentic.

Everyone who has tried the Hangi pies are impressed and really promote the pies, it's keeping up with demand as they are very popular.

So I am delighted that you valued your whole experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
222 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“This is amazing and a must do! Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was one of the highlights of this trip! The guide was phenomenal and the village and they way they live and all the steam rising and everything we learned and saw made this a very special part of our vacation. This is a must see!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank whales44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMVT, Local Marketing Liaison at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments while visiting Te Whakarewarewa the Living Maori Village

Whakarewarewa is amazing especially for those visitors who decide to come see what is unique about the village and be astounded of the lifestyle of the families living around activity geothermal surroundings.

It is wonderful to know that is was a special part of your vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing