We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.07*
and up
Whakarewarewa, The Living Maori Village Guided Tour with Optional Hangi Meal
Ranked #8 of 112 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In August 2015 Whakarewarewa received recognition as one of the Lonely Planets’ Top 500 Ultimate Travel Destinations, being ranked at #276 in the world. he Living Maori Village is set among the geothermal landscape of the Te Whakarewarewa Valley, a ten minute walk from town. See the Geysers, Bubbling Pools, Mud Pools, and Steam Vents and walk our back tracks with amazing photo opportunities. The Living Maori Village is an authentic and unique attraction where the villagers live, cook and bath in the geothermal waters on a daily basis. The entry fee includes a fully guided tour and Maori Cultural Performance, including the world famous HAKA. Our guides are direct descendants of the guides who guided at the Pink and White Terraces over 170 years ago, this legacy is as important today as it was then.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value for money. The show performance was brilliant and very well rehearsed / polished. If you haven't seen bubbling mud or natural thermally heated water, this is an eye opener. Also, ensure that you ay a visit to the couple who run the store that specifies in hand carved green stone. If you want an authentic piece this is THE place to get it from, really nice couple to.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    907
    535
    133
    41
    50
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“interesting and educational experience”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Booked our tour at the Tauranga cruise port with Scott Tours. We were very pleased with our driver, Geoff, who also acted as our guide for the day tour. This thermal village in Rotorua was one of our stops. We had a different guide in the thermal village who also was very good. She had so many interesting stories to tell us about her life and that of the community living in this thermal village. Interesting was how they cooked their meals using the many boiling pools and the cultural show that included singing and dancing was enjoyable. We even had pictures taken with them with no charge unlike some other tourist traps in other countries. Really enjoyed this tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“great Maori experience - go with a guide”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is perhaps the only place in the world where people actually live IN a geothermal area. The attraction consists of a Maori settlement in modern houses in the midst of a geothermal area. Be sure to go on a guided tour; self-guiding at this site would miss the whole point. What makes this site so fascinating is the stories told by the guides. Our guide told us stories of growing up in the village and what it was like being a penny diver, as well as telling us stories of life in the village today. Cooking food over the steam vents and in the boiling pools was a fascinating use of natural resources...lawyers in the US would never allow it. The earth over one of the paths is only 30 cm deep in one area. The twice-daily music and dance show (included with admission) is very good, and the dancers were clearly having fun. There are a few example buildings showcasing older architecture and plenty of carvings. Go in the shops to see Maori artwork and some craftspeople at work. A jade carver made necklaces for my daughters while we watched (lucky for us, it was a slow day). The geothermal activity is modest but interesting (I live near Yellowstone National Park, so I'm hard to impress when it comes to geothermal stuff). The cafe is pretty good, and quite a bit of the food is cooked in the geothermal features.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique, educating and fun”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Really unique and special place (where else would you find ordinary houses right next to active thermal pools?) that manages to preset the maori culture without feeling commercialize or fake. We avoided guided tours in our 2-month stay in NZ but this one was great - our guide was knowledgable, funny, authentic and just real.
The thermal sights here are very impressive (geysers, colorful mud pools, steam etc etc) and the fact that this is woven into an otherwise normal Maori village is just fascinating!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NK_NYC_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An insight into thermal life”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a fantastic visit to Whakarewarewa village. Make sure you get there in time to see the Cultural show at 11.15am and 2pm. This was really well performed and a great opportunity to see the Haka!
We also paid $2 for a Hangi corn on the cob which was delicious and great to sample the traditional way of cooking.
We had a guided tour which made the visit. Not only did this explain certain areas of the village and the way of life there but also gave us an insight into Maori culture. Our guide was very informative and made the tour really fun. We also were lucky enough to see the excited geysers as part of the tour.
A definite recommendation to anyone visiting Rotorua!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScottC449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing