We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pass time”
Review of Skyline Rotorua

Skyline Rotorua
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.28*
and up
Rotorua Gondola with optional Luge Ride
More Info
$103.23*
and up
Skyline Rotorua Adventure Pass
More Info
$140.36*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights Tour Including Cultural...
Ranked #1 of 20 Fun & Games in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Famous for a reason, Skyline Rotorua is your ticket to an unforgettable holiday. Begin your day with a tranquil Gondola ride up Mt Ngongotaha overlooking Lake Rotorua then wind your way down via the Luge or if you prefer to descend by mountain bike, weave your way through one of the newly created Gravity Park trails. Get the adrenalin pumping even more on the Zoom Zipline and the Sky Swing. Or for a more relaxed approach take a stroll through the stunning nature trails with informative and interactive panels along the way. Left feeling a little peckish? Head to the Food Market Kitchen or the Stratosfare Restaurant & Bar to fuel up again. While you’re there, why not also pop into the Volcanic Hills Wine Tasting Room and Winery while the kids explore the Jelly Belly Gallery and Store. Finish the day with an out-of-this world experience during Skyline’s Stargazing tour. It’ll have you exploring constellations and discovering planets invisible to the naked eye, at one of the top eight stargazing locations in New Zealand. The Skyline Rotorua complex is just 5 minutes’ drive from central Rotorua, sitting atop Mt Ngongotaha providing unsurpassed views of New Zealand’s coolest hot spot. This is an all-weather must do attraction suitable for all ages. Open 365 days a year from 9am to late.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Trivandrum, Kerala, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good pass time”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Hi, its a good passtime if u hav enough time on...Suggest u take the walk uphill from the place u drop from the skyline at the top....also the wine tasting at the top is a good experience

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kiranbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,675
    1,418
    266
    43
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So much fun!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

So, my sister and I were really apprehensive about this at first, it seemed quite daunting going into the unknown...but we took the ride on the gondola up to the top and looked around at the view of Rotorua from high up. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Once my sister and I worked out how it worked, we took our first trip down on the Luge and loved it! There are 3 lanes you can choose from, scenic/intermediate/advanced. By the 5th ride we were almost temped to buy another set of 5 rides each! We liked the idea of getting your picture taken on the scenic route, it would be awesome if they had cameras for the other 2 as well, but they are so exhilarating! I would suggest this to anyone. You don't need skill or practice to use one of these! Anyone can do this. The only problem is that it's over far too quick! It's a great afternoon .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank eckyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A thrilling experience that even a 3 years old keeps asking for more”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

With my wife and my 3 and a half years old daughter, we went today to this fun and intense place.

The way up on the gondola is ok, nothing special, unless you have never being on one before, on that case, they are spacious for about 4 - 6 people, depending on your sizes, great clear glass all around and with a speed fast enough so is not too long, but slow enough to go up and take some pictures.

Once you are up, the fun starts. We didn't have much time, so we only did the luge, but it was amazing. My daughter was pushing the handle so hard to gain speed that it was difficult to control the cart on some parts of the route. We did 5 descends. All of them on the scenic route since that one is longer and gives you a bit more time to enjoy the ride. And she wanted to keep going more and more.

If you are experienced, you visit the place often, or you don't have kids that have to ride with you on the same cart, then using the other routes, at least once each is a very good option. But if you really want to enjoy your only visit to the place or you have little kids, the scenic one is great; and don't let the name mislead you, there are parts where you can go really fast, there are some nice turns to take, and there are more meters to enjoy.

After each ride, you will go up in one of those zipper lines, or sky chairs, it takes about 10 minutes, so take that into consideration when you plan your time on the park. Each complete ride will take like 2 minutes going down, 10 minutes going up, plus the cue, none for us since it was low season and early in the morning.

The restaurant is very good, the food looks fresh and tastes very good, the service is quick enough and the prices are very reasonable, not the typical "park prices". Of course September is low season, so it was not full, but still, all of the above is true. The coffee is horrible, but I suppose that it depends where you come from. In my case, coming from a family of coffee lovers and a coffee growing country, it was just horrible.

The gift shop is overpriced, and not very interesting.

The people on the park where very kind and helpful, which adds points to the whole experience.

There are other attractions, like the 4D movies and the skyswing that we didn't have time to try, but will be back and try them next time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PatomaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views and A Fast Ride!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

It's been many years since I last rode on the Gondola's and the Luge and so I thought the time had come to do it again. The views of Rotorua from up high on the Gondola were spectular. I thoroughly enjoyed my Luge ride as well even though the handlebars on the Luge were stiff and extremely hard to turn. It was still a heart stopping thrill to the end!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Skyline Gondola & Luge”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We enjoyed the relaxing pace of the gondola ride - after a lot of adventure stuff already done in Rotorua! It was nice to just sit and relax and take in the views of the town. My husband/daughter did the Skyline Luge and they had a great time - however, said it was over too quickly!!! They wanted to keep going!!! I had a choc chip muffin at the cafeteria and it was the BEST muffin I think I have ever had - anywhere in the world!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chopperduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Rotorua also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Skyline Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing