We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super fun Day”
Review of Skyline Rotorua

Skyline Rotorua
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$22.26*
and up
Rotorua Gondola with optional Luge Ride
Ranked #1 of 20 Fun & Games in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Famous for a reason, Skyline Rotorua is your ticket to an unforgettable holiday. Begin your day with a tranquil Gondola ride up Mt Ngongotaha overlooking Lake Rotorua then wind your way down via the Luge or if you prefer to descend by mountain bike, weave your way through one of the newly created Gravity Park trails. Get the adrenalin pumping even more on the Zoom Zipline and the Sky Swing. Or for a more relaxed approach take a stroll through the stunning nature trails with informative and interactive panels along the way. Left feeling a little peckish? Head to the Food Market Kitchen or the Stratosfare Restaurant & Bar to fuel up again. While you’re there, why not also pop into the Volcanic Hills Wine Tasting Room and Winery while the kids explore the Jelly Belly Gallery and Store. Finish the day with an out-of-this world experience during Skyline’s Stargazing tour. It’ll have you exploring constellations and discovering planets invisible to the naked eye, at one of the top eight stargazing locations in New Zealand. The Skyline Rotorua complex is just 5 minutes’ drive from central Rotorua, sitting atop Mt Ngongotaha providing unsurpassed views of New Zealand’s coolest hot spot. This is an all-weather must do attraction suitable for all ages. Open 365 days a year from 9am to late.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Cambridge, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super fun Day”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Travelled to Rotorua from Cambridge with our 7 year old grandson to do the Luge. I had packed a picnic lunch and asked at the ticket office if we were able to take it up on the gondola and eat up there - no problem, so if you have a big family, this is a good idea. The resurant has a great selection of food and all good, but with big families this just adds so much cost to the day. Better to spend the money on the luge rides which are just brilliant. Our grandson (from Perth) hadnt done this before so we went down the "Scenic" Route first and this just gave him the confidence to do the next level. Another thing, take a jersey or Jacket as it can get cold up there and the ride back up on the chair lift can be a wee bit chilly for the young ones. If you dont have a camera, there is plenty of photos taken of you during the luge ride and chair lift, so keep smiling and enjoy. cheers :-)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,601
    1,385
    255
    43
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“visiting rotarua”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

we stayed in cedarwood lakeside resort on robinson avenue, a delightful resort our lodge was right beside lake and well kitted out with every utensil you would need, bright and cheerful and spotless, but there is no shop on site for groceries well not whlie we visited (early dec,), but there is asmall supermarket back up on main st , te nagee road it think its spelt, (pronounced takky nakky) but it is a bit on theexpensive side so , before you leave rotorua best to get your bits there,.the skyline luge was great much longer than the one in queenstown so its worth a half day visit up there , fabulous views , and a nice restaurant. another bit off advice is to keep the lightin to a minimum and windows closed at night in cedarwood, the trout flies might take a liking to you.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank boxywicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top day”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Had a fantastic trip we booked the family 20 luge runs the kids loved it but by the time we finished all the runs we had to hit the road. If you are going to go plan for the day, a part from the luge there is lots of other things to see we just ran out of time as we did so many luge runs but if you are a family of 4 the 20 runs is a must. Our kids were 10yr & 9yr. The restaurant looked excellent and good value sadly didn't have time to try next time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GBSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“FAmily fun”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Great fun for all ages. Our children (7&10) and my husband would still be racing the luge if they had their way.

Helpful?
1 Thank DAVNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
161 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Awesome fun on the Luge !”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Plenty has been said before me about what the Gondola and Luge entail, so I'll just give my advice.

1. Do not miss these attractions, they're great fun ! Have a look at bookme.co.nz for cheap deals.
2. Go early to avoid the crowds. We were ready to get on the Gondola by 9am and experienced no queues at all on either the Gondola or Luge or in the cafe.
3. Your photo will be taken once you're seated in your gondola but you're under no obligation to buy.
4. Make sure you visit the Jelly Bean shop at the top !
5. If you're doubtful about sharing helmets for the Luge, there are disposable hair-nets available but they weren't offered to us. They are just sitting in a container on the front of the Luge kiosk. Be prepared to look like a dork until you get your helmet on !
6. Large/heavy people won't go as fast on the Luge as smaller/lighter people. You CAN win that race !
7. There are some dinosaurs statues off one of the Luge tracks so if you want to do a group photo with them you'll have to arrange with your friends to meet at the pull-off area next to them. Once you're all hooning down the hill, it's difficult to communicate.

A great, fun time for everyone.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiwibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Rotorua also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Skyline Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing