We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rotorua Museum - CLOSED
Save
Rotorua Duck Boat Guided City and Lakes Tour
441

Book in advance
from
$52.96
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Reviews (1,321)
Filter reviews
1,321 results
Traveler rating
643
480
145
32
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
643
480
145
32
21
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,321 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2019

We were disappointed that we culd not revisit but understand the safety issues but hopefully it may reopen in the near future

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 23, 2019 via mobile

Went to Government Gardens yesterday and the museum within is closed due to enhanced earthquake requirements, post Kaikoura ‘quake. Target reopening date after strengthening is late 2021.

Buildings and Gardens are beautiful - but we visited to see a highly-rated museum.....

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 789rogera
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 7, 2019 via mobile

The Museum is closed because the building is being retrofitted for earthquake protection. They do not give any indication when it will re-open.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 5, 2019 via mobile

Although the museum is currently not open due to building work, I would recommend driving by as it is very pretty as the standard of building in NZ goes, and happens to by right be the blue baths and Polynesian spa, and not far from the tourist information building. The gardens are perfect for a picnic and there are some spots to see geothermal activity without paying.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank _katieg_26262_
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 5, 2019 via mobile

The Museum is currently closed but is well worth a visit to see the glorious architecture of the buildings and to tour the Government Gardens in all their glory. As such an important part of Rotorua’s history and heritage it should not be missed.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews