We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rotorua Museum - CLOSED
Save
Rotorua Duck Boat Guided City and Lakes Tour
441

Book in advance
from
$52.96
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Reviews (1,321)
Filter reviews
1,321 results
Traveler rating
643
480
145
32
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
643
480
145
32
21
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,321 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2018

I visited the museum as part of my trip to Rotorua, the museum is currently closed to the public but you can come here for a picture with this pretty building.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank keithlky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 17, 2018 via mobile

The grounds are lovely and the building makes a nice backdrop for photos (less the fencing around the structure). Still under consideration as to the costs of bringing the beautiful building up to code ....the red terra cotta roof is too heavy to meet earthquake resistance standards.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank PETER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 16, 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately the building doesn’t conform to earthquake regulations so it is closed for repairs. It is a beautiful old building, well worth a look from the outside.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank deboraha279
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 9, 2018 via mobile

The museum is closed while the city determines how to reinforce the building to make it earthquake resistant. We were told it would probably not reopen until 2020 or later.

Date of experience: November 2018
2  Thank gleno51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 9, 2018

Along my walk by the lake, I ended up by the museum. It is a neat building/structure, but it is closed due to earthquake damage. So worth looking at while strolling around Rotorua, but not likely worth a separate stop for it alone.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank laurenkV1055YJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews