We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile”
Review of Rotorua Museum

Rotorua Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.80*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights Tour Including Cultural...
Ranked #14 of 112 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were lucky to catch a performance of Maori music and singing which set the scene wonderfully for looking at the exhibits which are well set out and not overpowering. Set in beautiful gardens the view from the roof worthwhile and the history of the building itself is interesting. Do go to the basement. We did our own thing but tours available. Modest entry fee.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    448
    122
    22
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great museum”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

the museum is very informative in every way without getting too lengthy in its explanations. great use of multi media.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank good4trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
219 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice but very small”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I will start with nice part of the museum which is located under the building. Very impressive old geothermal baths and the history of the place. In general very small Museum but we enjoyed it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spatchski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Very informative tour which was well presented by the guide. Well worth the $20 entry, we enjoyed it very much. Gardens are excellent

Helpful?
Thank Braeden87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Informative - both history & contemporary”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Went on a rainy day with not much thought to it and not expecting much. Fee is $20 pp to get in and this includes a free tour if you wanted to participate, which glad we did. We had Nan Miller who toured our group of 5 and she was a fountain of information and very passionate. There was a slight glitch with the electronic headset but that was fine as the group was small and we could crowd around, although would be good if it was working so we could have wandered about whilst she was doing her commentary. There was an undergound area as well, contemporary modern art section and cafe (we didn't go here) and a viewing room which runs every half hour I think and unfortunately we missed it each time. I think the tour was a great way to see the place and worth it to go, rainy or not.

Helpful?
Thank enzedwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotorua Museum also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Rotorua Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing