We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kiwi Experience”

Rainbow Springs Nature Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.68*
and up
Rainbow Springs Entrance Ticket
Ranked #17 of 112 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The majestic magic of New Zealand's wildlife comes together in one incredible place - Rainbow Springs, Rotorua. Set amongst the native trees and beautiful forests of Rotorua, Rainbow Springs Nature Park offers a fun-packed and educational experience for the whole family. Learn about New Zealand's fascinating natural history and come closer than ever to the creatures who call this great land of ours home. The fun never stops at Rainbow Springs with our impressive playground area, the thrilling Big Splash water ride and ever popular Bird Show. Rainbow Springs is also one of Rotorua's premier kids party venues with attentive and friendly staff on hand to take care of everything. For something a little more grown up, business, social and wedding functions are also popular and available here.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Tairua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kiwi Experience”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Visited here with friends and really enjoyed the bush walks with views of the various animal and fish life. Some of those fish are BIG. But the best part was the kiwi experience where you can see them in their natural habitat as you proceed through a darkened walkway. And a real bonus! We were lucky to be taken out the back into the area where they were rearing young kiwis, and were able to talk to the people doing this important conservation work. Nice coffee from the shop afterward and close to the Gondola which was our next attraction that day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaveD1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelley_burnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Springs Nature Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Great Review Dave,
Thanks for sharing your thoughts! It certainly sounds like you made the most of your visit and to see kiwi (particularly behind the scenes) is a fantastic addition to your Rainbow Experience.
Hope to see you here again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    542
    188
    70
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
333 reviews
249 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great to explore”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a great place to explore with kids and family . They will thoroughly enjoy the day seeing all the animals fish etc it is a beautiful walk through the bush as well . Well worth the visit

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelley_burnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Springs Nature Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello Sandra,
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed exploring the park with the kids - We are prout to share it with so many people!
Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Too expensive for what you get”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The shows were cancelled, Cafe's price is super expensive and food was very ordinary. Staff were friendly, and gift shop had variety of selections.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mhaase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelley_burnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Springs Nature Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello and Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here in the park.
We are sorry the bird show was cancelled the day you visited. This show is weather dependant so if it is wet or too windy, we are unable to fly our birds. It is lucky that our animal experiences and the Big Splash (also included in your admission) are not weather dependant so we hope that you managed to enjoy these instead.
Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takanini, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place to learn about our natural habitat”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

great place to take kids and families for a knowledge tour. Great to learn new things about our natural animals and most importantly see the KIWI bird. Its a bit of a mission to find them as they are hidden in the dark.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelley_burnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Springs Nature Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello Ashif!
Great to hear that you educated the family about New Zealands amazing animals and natural environment. We are proud to display these animals so that visitors can learn about how precious they are!
Good on you for checking out our kiwi as well - being small, brown, nocturnal and very shy they can make for some good "hide and seek" in our nocturnal displays.
Hope to see you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Awesome place, can see why it is a must do when visiting Rotorua. Loved the Big Splash, man made waterfall, kiwi, parrots and the laser maze. Very cool!

If you have kids then definitely take them :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hali09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelley_burnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Springs Nature Park, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your comments!
We have been on the tourism calendar for the last 80 years (we opened in 1932) so it is great to hear that we are still a "must-do".
Wishing you safe travels and perhaps a return to the park one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Springs Nature Park also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Ngongotaha, Rotorua
 

Been to Rainbow Springs Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing