We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Big Splash” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Springs Nature Park

Rainbow Springs Nature Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.12*
and up
Rainbow Springs Entrance Ticket
Ranked #17 of 108 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The majestic magic of New Zealand's wildlife comes together in one incredible place - Rainbow Springs, Rotorua. Set amongst the native trees and beautiful forests of Rotorua, Rainbow Springs Nature Park offers a fun-packed and educational experience for the whole family. Learn about New Zealand's fascinating natural history and come closer than ever to the creatures who call this great land of ours home. The fun never stops at Rainbow Springs with our impressive playground area, the thrilling Big Splash water ride and ever popular Bird Show. Rainbow Springs is also one of Rotorua's premier kids party venues with attentive and friendly staff on hand to take care of everything. For something a little more grown up, business, social and wedding functions are also popular and available here.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved the Big Splash”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our family enjoyed our time here. went on the Big Splash several times. Good value. Got the photos. Tip would be to do the Big Splash early on when queues are non-existent. We rode it twice back to back as no-one else in the queue. Later on queue got long!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndAkiAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelley_burnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Springs Nature Park, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed the Big Splash and the park when you visited. It is a great attraction here and the fact you can ride as often as you like is a real bonus.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we hope to see you back in the park again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    519
    176
    67
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Out of budget for locals”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

My partner and I went a few weeks ago for something different to do, but we turned around and got back in our car when we got to the front door and saw the prices. WAY to much to pay for a local.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jontyEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelley_burnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Springs Nature Park, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for taking to time to post your thoughts on the park.
We use all comments as an opportunity to improve our guest experience. If you are interested, we would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you (as a NZ 'local') about your thoughts on our pricing and our newly launched annual pass.
You can contact me on info@rainbowsprings.co.nz or (07)3500459.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Do the Kiwi Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We visited Rainbow Springs earlier this week on a rainy afternoon. The staff were all lovely but the park itself is just okay. What was better than okay was the optional a Kiwi experience. For just another $10 you can spend half an hour with a small group and a passionate guide learning about this fascinating bird, it's plight and what Rainbow Springs is doing to help rebuild the kiwi population. Not only do you have a wonderfully educational 30 minutes but that money spent goes right back to helping the kiwis. If you plan on visiting Rainbow Springs, I highly recommend this add-on to your time there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelley_burnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Springs Nature Park, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Kiwi Experience is a real highlight for us as well and it is great that our guides can educate our guests about the fascinating kiwi.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
163 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Kiwis are cute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

So go visit. It is a must do. There are plants, birds and marine animals galore to see and watch. The rain forest trees and their write-up boards are also something that should be explored.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LocalActingGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelley_burnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Springs Nature Park, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
You are right, Kiwi's are cute!!!
Thank you for your comments and we are very happy you enjoyed your visit with us.
Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lots of native NZ animal and plants, very helpful staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I visited this place in the evening and I was hoping to see the Kiwi birds in the bird house. I was not able to and when the staff found out, they actually went back to the kiwi house with me to try to spot the bird for me! I did not expect this and this is why this place is so special! Not to mention of course the tuatara, the kea, the morepork and the great nz native birds found there. The park is not big but it is full of things to see. There is also the big splash which is a fun ride. I went back the next day and saw the kiwi birds in the nocturnal house and again a member of the staff went to the house with me to make sure that I could see the birds. I look forward to bringing my family to this place next time I am in NZ.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NiceGirlC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelley_burnett, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Springs Nature Park, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments!
We are very happy you enjoyed your time here and got to see a kiwi not once but twice! They are certainly a very unique bird.
Looking forward to seeing your family with you next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Springs Nature Park also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Rainbow Springs Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing