We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Rotorua
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Polynesian Spa
from $20.71
More Info
from $38.18
More Info
from $124.72
More Info
Reviews (3,433)
Filter reviews
3,433 results
Traveler rating
1,578
1,144
439
163
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,578
1,144
439
163
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool adult pools family pool hot pools lake view family area mud wrap relaxing experience varying temperatures changing area aches and pains changing rooms lake rotorua hot springs warm water rainy day new zealand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 3,433 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yes , it may be a littler touristy for the purist, but nonetheless, this is a brilliant place to chill out ( or warm up) without the stress of finding the best place in the wilderness... So many different options for soaking, sleeping, massaging and the food is actually good here too. Baths are heated from 36 degrees celsius up to 42 degrees. with various private, alkaline, acidic and plunge pools. It can get crowded so make sure you time your visit to be away from the period that the tourist busses come in.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank WiseBlue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed the variety of products on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

An absolute delight and a fab chance to chill after several hectic days exploring North island. The mud polish & massage under water jets was the best hour I think I have ever spent and we also treated ourselves to a private pool overlooking the lake which was just something a little special. No doubt if u are a spa connoisseur the Polynesian Spa may not quite measure up but for us weary travellers it was just what we needed and in such a beautiful setting too.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank HardyWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked a romance package for our honeymoon - mud massages and the hot pools. The hot pool area was pretty gross, given it was supposed to be private. The locker rooms are incredibly awkward - no private spaces or nooks and crannies so you're just thrown into standing next to each other while wet. Meanwhile, there's a woman running around telling everyone not to get the floor wet... but there's only so much you can do if you just get out of the pool or a shower...

Then, you have to wait for your massage in this incredibly public room... in a robe. Not only are there people coming in and out and going to the pools, but as we were waiting, a GIANT group of elderly tourists took a tour through the entire facility, walking around and pointing at us and asking why we were in robes. it was certainly not tranquil, and definitely not relaxing. Then, the massage itself was... meh.

We were going to skip this because of the reviews we read, and we really should have. The mystique of the pools was not worth the discomfort we felt during the whole experience.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank apairofskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, I am sorry if you did not feel comfortable on this occasion. We have private changing cubicles in our change room and regret if you did not notice these. It is also pretty normal spa practise to relax in a lounge area prior to one's treatment, our apologies if our other visitors were a bother.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

A historic natural hot spring in the heart of Rotorua for a mineral water soak. Facilities to fit all budgets. We recommend the lake view pools with several pools of different temperatures. The dressing and shower rooms were clean and well equipped.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank EmaSaloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

We were recommended Polynesian Spa by our Airbnb. Upon arrival we asked the staff about the different packages which were a bit confusing as to what was the best deal and what they included. Of course we got upsold the Deluxe Lake Spa as the natural pools which was very overpriced in hindsight. The area has 5 pools and is quite small and you can only access that area which I think is pretty crap. There weren’t too many people so the pools weren’t that crowded, they were just very shallow and nothing that special. We have been to the hot springs at Mornington Peninsula so had high expectations and this place just did nothing for us. It also desperately needs a renovation. The grounds and main building have no atmosphere and very obviously just appeals as a generic tourist spa. We only ended up staying about 45mins so for $120 for the both of us we felt it was a rip off.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank kimberleysarah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews