We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Polynesian Spa

Polynesian Spa
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.24*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermal...
Ranked #3 of 16 Spas & Wellness in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Relax and unwind on the tranquil shores of Lake Rotorua at Polynesian Spa - a world-leading, natural mineral bathing and luxury spa retreat. Channelling geothermal marvels in its backyard, the 28 mineral pools at Polynesian Spa are fed from two natural springs for a combination that both nourishes the skin and relieves tired muscles, aches and pains. Specialising in a range of health and wellness treatments, Polynesian Spa has a decadent spa therapy menu. Also a retreat for athletes, wellness rituals ensure maximum sports relaxation featuring hydrotherapy and a reflexology walk. Combining ancient healing practices with modern techniques, Polynesian Spa is frequently recognised as one of the top 10 spas in the world.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Had a lovely time soaking in the thermal pool, followed by a wonderful massage by Bobbi. My feet were tired and aching after a 45km hike, so the extra attention to my feet was very welcome. Very relaxing and a wonderful overall experience.

Thank thetravellingcircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your soak and massage. I will pass your comments on to Bobbi!

We hope it is not too long before you return to Polynesian Spa :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"adult pools"
in 174 reviews
"private pool"
in 208 reviews
"family pool"
in 62 reviews
"hot pools"
in 201 reviews
"lake pools"
in 34 reviews
"overlooking the lake"
in 51 reviews
"mud wrap"
in 50 reviews
"varying temperatures"
in 32 reviews
"relaxing experience"
in 55 reviews
"aches and pains"
in 33 reviews
"changing rooms"
in 64 reviews
"lake rotorua"
in 97 reviews
"warm water"
in 41 reviews
"hot springs"
in 56 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 44 reviews
"rainy day"
in 29 reviews
"new zealand"
in 56 reviews
Filter

1,819 - 1,823 of 2,830 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We spent about 90 minutes here today. The pools were nice and relaxing. Apparently there is a mix of minerals making some pools green and some white. Nice and relaxing but a cooler pool would have been nice for the summer.

Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Hi Richard,

Thank you for your review. It is great to read that you had a relaxing experience at Polynesian Spa. The pools are filled with clear mineral water, however, the clarity of the mineral water can change with atmospheric conditions or variations in the mineral solids suspended in the water when the temperatures are lowered. The most active minerals are sulfur, silica and iron oxides. These bond together as the water cools and can become visible in the form of white particles in the water. It is the minerals in the water that have therapeutic properties and are actually very good for your skin.

Thank you also for your comments regarding a cooler pool, this is a popular request and something that we are looking in to for the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

It is only 10 minutes walk from centre of Rotorua. We paid $25 each and utilised the adults Pools " 7 Pools ". If you have kids there is a Family section with more pools. There is also private pools. Temperatures varied from 36 Deg to 42. Well worth the visit.

Thank toeknee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for your review and 5/5 rating. It is great to read that you enjoyed your Polynesian Spa experience. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The Polynesian Spa is a great place to chill out and soak away any stress. The hot mineral pools overlooking Lake Rotorua is are in an amazing location and the whole spa is very well maintained with plenty friendly staff. The massages are a little on the expensive side but worth it for a special treat. As a warning, the smell from the lake can be overpowering, if you can get over it then you will be in paradise!

Thank KathrynBirkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Hi Kathryn,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and share your experience at Polynesian Spa. It was our pleasure to host you for a soak and a spa therapy. We are very fortunate to have the stunning views over Lake Rotorua but as a consequence the sulphur is at its most pungent in this very active geothermal area, however as you mentioned most guests manage to get past the smell and enjoy their time.
We hope to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This place was included on a tour from our Ship Sun Princess. We were fortunate to really get here, because the tour was actually our second choice so we were glad we did get to do it.
WE had a lovely lunch there, then proceeded to the pools.
The temperatures of the pools are marked quite clearly so there is no mistaking!
There is a smell of sulphur but it is not unbearable and after all, you are in thermal pools so it should be expected.
Very relaxed atmosphere.
We did not partake in any massages or treatments as these were an extra cost.
Most enjoyable. We will on any return trip to New Zealand seek out Polynesian Spa again. Thank you for your hospitality.

Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Hi Evelyn,

Thank you for your review and 5/5 endorsement. It was our pleasure to host you and your fellow passengers who were aboard the Sun Princess! We are very pleased to read your comments and look forward to hosting you next time you are in Rotorua.

Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polynesian Spa also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Polynesian Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing