We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Afternoon”
Review of Polynesian Spa

Polynesian Spa
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.36*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights Tour Including Cultural...
More Info
$92.83*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermal Geyser Tour and Kiwi Fruit Orchard...
More Info
$133.68*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermal Geyser Tour and Polynesian Spa...
Ranked #2 of 13 Spas & Wellness in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Polynesian Spa is New Zealand’s leading international day spa. In a picturesque, tranquil setting overlooking Lake Rotorua, visitors can enjoy a wonderful fusion of relaxing hot spring pool bathing, sumptuous spa and massage therapies and picturesque lake views. Polynesian Spa has the use of two types of hot mineral water, one alkaline and one acidic, that are the unique point of difference of the operation. Many thousands of visitors to the spa have attested to the remedial effect the hot mineral waters have on such ailments as muscular complaints, arthritis and rheumatism. The Priest and Radium springs are most noted in this respect. We invite you to experience this World Top Ten Spa (natural/thermal/medical), as voted by readers of the prestigious Conde Nast Traveller magazine for several years and once again in 2011. We look forward to welcoming you to Polynesian Spa.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Afternoon”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We spent a few hours here during our holiday and enjoyed separate treatments, the staff are very friendly and we really enjoyed the time here..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Jim,

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience. It is great to read that you enjoyed your spa treatment and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,121
    839
    315
    102
    63
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridg, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well below expectations”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We went here expecting a nice spa but the water had body hair floating in it, and my husband got an itchy rash that lasted two weeks requiring a doctors visit and medication. While we were in the family spa there was an influx of extremely hot water. We frequent Te Aroha spa regularly and it is impeccably clean and we have never had a bad experience. Polynesian Spa was expensive and disappointing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Louise,

We are very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience.

During the day there is a constant supply of fresh mineral water entering the pools, the pool water is renewed every 3 to 4 hours. All pools are emptied, cleaned and refilled with fresh mineral water over night.

It is possible that your husband may have had a slight reaction to sulphur or heat that can cause itchiness. In most cases this should subside in an hour, however if it stays for longer you are best to put some Aloe Vera cream on it.

We hope to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Relaxing Private Spa excellent”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Private spa overlooking Lake Rotorua very relaxing and enjoyable. Although we almost missed out on the experience as the Young Lady on the counter when we called in the day before to make enquiries about bookings ectra was quiet rude and very unhelpful. It was only that our daughters had paid for a gift voucher that we went back the following day. On this occassion the staff on duty were extremely helpful particularly Manuel our Spa attendant who explained everything. Wonder how many other people have been turned away by Miss Ginger Negativity and missed this most remarkable experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Helen,

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your soak in our Private Pools. I will pass on your comments to Manuel, who is a fantastic asset to our team. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the service you received during your initial visit to Polynesian Spa. Please be assured this is not the standard of service we strive to deliver to our guests and that we are carrying out customer service training for all staff in the coming months to ensure consistency.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Go for the private pool but….”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The private pool is great and affordable - outdoors, overlooking the lake, warm and 30 minutes is the right duration, in our view. As others say, it is a shame you don't get more such as use of the public pools and extras such as soap and towels. But don't let that put you off. It is a good visit and memory. We have shown off the photos to all our friends!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Mike,

Thank you for your review.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to Polynesian Spa.

We do have a combo available for bathing in a Private Pool and access to the Adult Pools & Priest Spa.

For those bathing in our Lake Spa, shampoo & conditioner, body wash, body lotion, secure lockers, hair dryers and towels are included with no time limit. Perhaps this area would be more suitable for you.

We hope you return next time you are in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok... but expensive”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

After 17 years we come back to the polynesian spa. Last time was without kids , so this time we were in the family pool. It was ok. The heat was good for the bones to have a good soak. I did find the numbers at times in the 3 pools was too many for such a small area. But the kids did enjoy themselves, so that is really all that matters. We tried for the private pool and then wanted to continue into the family pools. Sadly this was not offered. For The price this could be a good addition to allow visitors into the private pools access to the family pools afterwards for no extra cost. This would keep me coming back every visit to NZ.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Shane,

Thank you for your review, it was our pleasure to host you and your family!
We are pleased to read that everyone enjoyed their experience. Thank you also for your feedback regarding Private Pool and Family Pool access. We are at present looking at combo options as guests are wanting to bathe in multiple areas.

We look forward to hosting you on your return to Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polynesian Spa also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Polynesian Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing