We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok... but expensive”
Review of Polynesian Spa

Polynesian Spa
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.17*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermal Geyser Tour and Polynesian Spa...
More Info
$141.92*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights Tour Including Cultural...
More Info
$108.88*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermal Geyser Tour and Kiwi Fruit Orchard...
Ranked #2 of 13 Spas & Wellness in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Polynesian Spa is New Zealand’s leading international day spa. In a picturesque, tranquil setting overlooking Lake Rotorua, visitors can enjoy a wonderful fusion of relaxing hot spring pool bathing, sumptuous spa and massage therapies and picturesque lake views. Polynesian Spa has the use of two types of hot mineral water, one alkaline and one acidic, that are the unique point of difference of the operation. Many thousands of visitors to the spa have attested to the remedial effect the hot mineral waters have on such ailments as muscular complaints, arthritis and rheumatism. The Priest and Radium springs are most noted in this respect. We invite you to experience this World Top Ten Spa (natural/thermal/medical), as voted by readers of the prestigious Conde Nast Traveller magazine for several years and once again in 2011. We look forward to welcoming you to Polynesian Spa.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

After 17 years we come back to the polynesian spa. Last time was without kids , so this time we were in the family pool. It was ok. The heat was good for the bones to have a good soak. I did find the numbers at times in the 3 pools was too many for such a small area. But the kids did enjoy themselves, so that is really all that matters. We tried for the private pool and then wanted to continue into the family pools. Sadly this was not offered. For The price this could be a good addition to allow visitors into the private pools access to the family pools afterwards for no extra cost. This would keep me coming back every visit to NZ.

Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Hi Shane,

Thank you for your review, it was our pleasure to host you and your family!
We are pleased to read that everyone enjoyed their experience. Thank you also for your feedback regarding Private Pool and Family Pool access. We are at present looking at combo options as guests are wanting to bathe in multiple areas.

We look forward to hosting you on your return to Rotorua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,476)
There are newer reviews for Polynesian Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,528 - 1,532 of 2,476 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a relaxing soak after a long day of attractions and driving. We bought the lake spa ticket and were quite pleased with the range of temperatures and beautiful layout of the spa. The showers and facilities were lovely and we really liked the shampoo, lotions and conditioner.

Very clean and well kept and staff were helpful. All and all, a good experience, only it was a bit too expensive. Glad this place opened till late! We went home feeling refreshed and relaxed. =D

Thank avad005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your bathing experience in our deluxe Lake Spa. We are sorry that you felt that way with regards to the price. Over the past year we have added the outdoor relaxation area with heated recliners and also the separate shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion. We are constantly looking at ways to add value to a guests experience in order for them to receive good value for money.
We hope you return some time in the future for another relaxing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Whilst very pretty and well run, this is definitely geared to the overseas tourism market. When you are paying for a Luxury private spa you would expect that after your half hour of solitary splendor you could then enjoy the public pools but you can't. That is extra. Towels are extra. Soap is extra etc etc.
Did I enjoy it? Ummmm, yes. Would I go back there? Probably not. Too expensive for me and I would rather spend my money on other things.

Thank Vivienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Hi Vivienne,

Thank you for your feedback and comments regarding the organisation of the spa.

We do have combos available so that you can enjoy both a private spa and the Adult Pools & Priest Spa. We would recommend opting for Lake Spa as it includes complimentary usage of towels, secure lockers, body wash, shampoo & conditioner, body lotion, hair dryers, heated recliners, Lake Spa lounge and there is no time limit.

We hope you return some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you want to bath in the thermal springs in Waitomo and go for a spa treatment, this is the main place in town. It is large and well organized. The spa treatments are good. If you want to see the thermal pools in their natural setting, go to Wai-o-tapu Thermal Wonderland 25-minutes south of Waitomo.

Thank KilburnPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Polynesian Spa and the wider Rotorua area. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We chose the adult pools option but didn't realise that towels, shampoo etc weren't included in the price. These 'extras' are included in the more expensive Lake Spa option but that's a family pool and we wanted the quiet of the adult pools. This place is an OK option if you don't have much time in rotorua but there are other places (if you've got time to investigate them)......which are maybe a bit cleaner?

Thank greenlanegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. While our Lake Spa does allow children and families to enjoy, it is not as popular for families as our Family Spa. Lake Spa is for those wanting a more luxurious bathing experience with all the added extras (secure lockers, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, hair dryers, towels, heated recliners) and it is also complimentary with any spa therapy.

Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polynesian Spa also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Tikitere, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Polynesian Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing