We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing afternoon”
Review of Polynesian Spa

Polynesian Spa
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.80*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights Tour Including Cultural...
Ranked #2 of 13 Spas & Wellness in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Polynesian Spa is New Zealand’s leading international day spa. In a picturesque, tranquil setting overlooking Lake Rotorua, visitors can enjoy a wonderful fusion of relaxing hot spring pool bathing, sumptuous spa and massage therapies and picturesque lake views. Polynesian Spa has the use of two types of hot mineral water, one alkaline and one acidic, that are the unique point of difference of the operation. Many thousands of visitors to the spa have attested to the remedial effect the hot mineral waters have on such ailments as muscular complaints, arthritis and rheumatism. The Priest and Radium springs are most noted in this respect. We invite you to experience this World Top Ten Spa (natural/thermal/medical), as voted by readers of the prestigious Conde Nast Traveller magazine for several years and once again in 2011. We look forward to welcoming you to Polynesian Spa.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very relaxing afternoon”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I dont normally do spa treatments and considering I had been to Rotorua before, I decided I should try out the Polynesian Spa.

I did the Body Polish & Aix Spa Massage Combo, which was fantastic, the session starts of an hour earlier to the therapy so you can use the thermal pools, which they are off differing temperatures (36, 38, 40 and 42 degree) Then once you are relaxed you head off for your spa treatment. I would certainly have this again.

Prior to leaving Rotorua I also indulged in the Skin Saviour Facial, which was for 45 min. It was a great moisturising facial especially after a week in the sun.

Overall, I would certainly go back. It is very pleasant experience, i didnt go back in the thermal pools on the 2nd trip back due to lack of time on my behalf. The therapists are experienced and very professional. There are lockers for your personal items, hairdryers in the ladies change rooms, some private change rooms etc

thank you

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi LCC20,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Polynesian Spa. It is great to read that you enjoyed your soak before then indulging in an Aix spa massage. The combination of the two is what makes us different to other places that offer massage and spa therapies. It is also great to read that you returned for a Skin Saviour Facial, the Manuka Honey products used do a wonderful job of healing, restoring and rejuvenating skin! We look forward to hosting you next time you are in Rotorua.

Kind regards,
From the team at Polynesian Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,077
    811
    309
    100
    63
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“stunning kiwi experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is high end pricing and completely worth it - has to be one of the best places to remember why we love NZ

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi Susan T,

Thank you for your comments. We do like to pride ourselves on being a premium product but we also like to ensure our guests receive great value for money. We were voted as 2nd in AAs 101 Must Dos For Kiwis which we are very proud of as it is great to see that our very own Kiwis enjoy Polynesian Spa.
We look forward to hosting you next time you are in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have visited here several times, all of which were relaxing and enjoyable. I've visited with family and friends and used a range a different pools. Staff are helpful and friendly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hen03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi Hen03,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is awesome to read that you have enjoyed your experiences at Polynesian Spa and we look forward to hosting you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lake Spa ”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My friend and my daughter had the most wonderful experience at the Lake Spa area of the Polynesian Pools. We were treated with respect, friendliness, care and skilled practitioners tendered to our treatments.
We all left feeling relaxed, pampered and special.
We gave a gift voucher to our DIL it was so good!

Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi Carmel M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your soak in the Lake Spa and your spa therapy treatments. We aim to ensure everyone is left feeling pampered and relaxed and are thrilled that you felt this way.

We look forward to hosting you and your friends next time you are in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“gotta love a private spa !”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

my partner and I booked one of the "deluxe" private spas(i was thinking it would be a bit shabby as it was only $40 for both of us) and very deluxe it was! private changing room, shower and a view over the water! we went at night so there wasnt much to see but was still very cool to see all the lights across the water. There's only a 30min time limit, at first i was a bit guttered but after 30min we were both pretty pruney and overheated anyway haha, well worth a visit!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank a_little_asian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and sharing your Polynesian Spa experience.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your soak in a Deluxe Private Pool. At night, it is quite nice to enjoy with the cool air but very stunning during the day to be able to see the views over Lake Rotorua.

Often guests think 30 mins isn't a lot of time so I am glad that you agree that it is plenty of time to relax and soak.

We look forward to hosting you in the future.
From the team at Polynesian Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polynesian Spa also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Polynesian Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing