We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent way to finish the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Polynesian Spa

Polynesian Spa
Book In Advance
More Info
$136.09*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights Tour Including Cultural...
Ranked #2 of 13 Spas & Wellness in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Polynesian Spa is New Zealand’s leading international day spa. In a picturesque, tranquil setting overlooking Lake Rotorua, visitors can enjoy a wonderful fusion of relaxing hot spring pool bathing, sumptuous spa and massage therapies and picturesque lake views. Polynesian Spa has the use of two types of hot mineral water, one alkaline and one acidic, that are the unique point of difference of the operation. Many thousands of visitors to the spa have attested to the remedial effect the hot mineral waters have on such ailments as muscular complaints, arthritis and rheumatism. The Priest and Radium springs are most noted in this respect. We invite you to experience this World Top Ten Spa (natural/thermal/medical), as voted by readers of the prestigious Conde Nast Traveller magazine for several years and once again in 2011. We look forward to welcoming you to Polynesian Spa.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent way to finish the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Fantastic way to end a great day. Spent couple of hours in the hot pools followed by a nice relaxing massage. Found the staff very nice and helpful and would recommend you visit. The only thing I didn't like was the small kids splashing us as they played around, thought we were in the adult section.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi Brett,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is always wonderful to read that our guests enjoyed their Polynesian Spa experience. We highly recommend a soak in the natural hot mineral pools before a spa treatment as is is the perfect relaxing combination. I do apologise for any misunderstanding with regards to the children in the Lake Spa. They are welcome in this area, although we do advise parents that this is the deluxe area and noise must be kept to a minimum.
Hopefully it is not too long before you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,039
    786
    307
    95
    61
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A smile would go a long way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

How hard is it to smile or have a freindly greeting? You pay top dollar for this place (and its a nice place) but the customer service needs to match the price.
The spa treatment and the hot pools are fantastic. Just try and be a bit friendly please.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Mayall35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hi Kevin_Mayall35,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am very sorry your experience was let down by the customer service you were given. Delivering great customer service to all our guests is of paramount importance so I am disappointed that this was not the case on this particular occasion. Despite this, it is pleasing to see that you enjoyed your soak in the natural hot mineral pools and also your spa therapy. Be assured that we intend to up skill all our staff in regards to customer service. We look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Saturday afternoon relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Spent the weekend with friends in Rotorua and decided to spend an afternoon at the "pools"
We went a little before lunch and there were not that many people. Had a very relaxing few hours in the various hot pools. Rented a locker but really didn't need one as there are storage trays outside the changing rooms. Changing area basic but that is all you need.

Numbers built in the afternoon - lots of tired participants from the Tough Guy and Girl Challenge.

Very pleasant afternoon, definitely would return again. Didn't have time for a spa treatment this time but will book ahead next time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TLCAUCKLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi TLCAUCKLAND,
Thank you very much for your review. It is great to see that you had an enjoyable and relaxing experience.

We are proud sponsors of Tough Guy & Gal Challenge and often a number of the participants come in afterwards to warm up their tired muscles.

We look forward to hosting you in our Polynesian Spa Retreat next time you are in Rotorua!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Relaxing Morning Spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited the Spa one morning quite early during our visit to Rotorua. We booked ourselves a 'deluxe private spa' which has a nice view of the lake. Although it was cold outside the spa itself is very hot so you'd never no. You get your own change room, shower and obviously the spa itself looking out over lake rotorua. It cost us around $60 for 2 of us for 30 minutes use, in my opinion it is a little overpriced but none the less well worth a visit - you leave feeling really relaxed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_and_Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi Matt_And_Ash,
It's great to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to Polynesian Spa! With the weather being a little cooler a hot soak is perfect on a cold winter morning. We appreciate your comments with regards to pricing as we do strive to provide good quality for money.
We look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Incredibly relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Went early on a winter's morning, didn't do any of the massage things, just had my choice of 4 pools of different temperatures that look out onto Lake Rotorua. It was quiet, pools were clean and no sign of coach parties. Very relaxing, great views.

I have been to other spas that are more expensive and plush, but if you're looking for a comfortable clean chill out in sulphuric pools (not smelly if you've been in Rotorua for a couple of days), I'd recommend it - it all depends on what you are looking for. I can imagine it's a completely different experience if it's busy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveP1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi SteveP1974,
Thank you for your review. Great to see you enjoyed our premium bathing area, the Lake Spa. Early winter morning is one of the best times to experience Polynesian Spa as you can almost have the pools to yourself and with the chill in the air there's plenty of steam coming off the beautiful Lake Rotorua. We hope to host you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polynesian Spa also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Polynesian Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing