We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A smile would go a long way”
Review of Polynesian Spa

Polynesian Spa
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.25*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermal Geyser Tour and Polynesian Spa...
More Info
$140.97*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights Tour Including Cultural...
More Info
$36.55*
and up
1.5-Hour Rotorua Highlights Tour
Ranked #2 of 14 Spas & Wellness in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Relax and unwind on the tranquil shores of Lake Rotorua at Polynesian Spa - a world-leading, natural mineral bathing and luxury spa retreat. Channelling geothermal marvels in its backyard, the 28 mineral pools at Polynesian Spa are fed from two natural springs for a combination that both nourishes the skin and relieves tired muscles, aches and pains. Specialising in a range of health and wellness treatments, Polynesian Spa has a decadent spa therapy menu. Also a retreat for athletes, wellness rituals ensure maximum sports relaxation featuring hydrotherapy and a reflexology walk. Combining ancient healing practices with modern techniques, Polynesian Spa is frequently recognised as one of the top 10 spas in the world.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

How hard is it to smile or have a freindly greeting? You pay top dollar for this place (and its a nice place) but the customer service needs to match the price.
The spa treatment and the hot pools are fantastic. Just try and be a bit friendly please.

Thank Kevin_Mayall35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Hi Kevin_Mayall35,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am very sorry your experience was let down by the customer service you were given. Delivering great customer service to all our guests is of paramount importance so I am disappointed that this was not the case on this particular occasion. Despite this, it is pleasing to see that you enjoyed your soak in the natural hot mineral pools and also your spa therapy. Be assured that we intend to up skill all our staff in regards to customer service. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,756 - 1,760 of 2,644 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Spent the weekend with friends in Rotorua and decided to spend an afternoon at the "pools"
We went a little before lunch and there were not that many people. Had a very relaxing few hours in the various hot pools. Rented a locker but really didn't need one as there are storage trays outside the changing rooms. Changing area basic but that is all you need.

Numbers built in the afternoon - lots of tired participants from the Tough Guy and Girl Challenge.

Very pleasant afternoon, definitely would return again. Didn't have time for a spa treatment this time but will book ahead next time.

Thank TLCAUCKLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hi TLCAUCKLAND,
Thank you very much for your review. It is great to see that you had an enjoyable and relaxing experience.

We are proud sponsors of Tough Guy & Gal Challenge and often a number of the participants come in afterwards to warm up their tired muscles.

We look forward to hosting you in our Polynesian Spa Retreat next time you are in Rotorua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited the Spa one morning quite early during our visit to Rotorua. We booked ourselves a 'deluxe private spa' which has a nice view of the lake. Although it was cold outside the spa itself is very hot so you'd never no. You get your own change room, shower and obviously the spa itself looking out over lake rotorua. It cost us around $60 for 2 of us for 30 minutes use, in my opinion it is a little overpriced but none the less well worth a visit - you leave feeling really relaxed!

1  Thank Matt_and_Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hi Matt_And_Ash,
It's great to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to Polynesian Spa! With the weather being a little cooler a hot soak is perfect on a cold winter morning. We appreciate your comments with regards to pricing as we do strive to provide good quality for money.
We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Went early on a winter's morning, didn't do any of the massage things, just had my choice of 4 pools of different temperatures that look out onto Lake Rotorua. It was quiet, pools were clean and no sign of coach parties. Very relaxing, great views.

I have been to other spas that are more expensive and plush, but if you're looking for a comfortable clean chill out in sulphuric pools (not smelly if you've been in Rotorua for a couple of days), I'd recommend it - it all depends on what you are looking for. I can imagine it's a completely different experience if it's busy.

Thank SteveP1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hi SteveP1974,
Thank you for your review. Great to see you enjoyed our premium bathing area, the Lake Spa. Early winter morning is one of the best times to experience Polynesian Spa as you can almost have the pools to yourself and with the chill in the air there's plenty of steam coming off the beautiful Lake Rotorua. We hope to host you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place is awesome. It's well priced and the change rooms right through to the outer pools is clean and welcoming. I've been to a few thermal spas and they were like a warm kids fun park. This is different. It's got an adults area which my wife and I loved. So relaxing and warming on a cold NZ night.

1  Thank Peter_allen70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi Peter_allen70,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We sincerely appreciate your comments! It is great to see you and your wife had a relaxing experience. We hope it is not too long before your next visit to Rotorua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polynesian Spa also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Polynesian Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing