We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff”
Review of Polynesian Spa

Polynesian Spa
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.61*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermal...
Ranked #3 of 16 Spas & Wellness in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Relax and unwind on the tranquil shores of Lake Rotorua at Polynesian Spa - a world-leading, natural mineral bathing and luxury spa retreat. Channelling geothermal marvels in its backyard, the 28 mineral pools at Polynesian Spa are fed from two natural springs for a combination that both nourishes the skin and relieves tired muscles, aches and pains. Specialising in a range of health and wellness treatments, Polynesian Spa has a decadent spa therapy menu. Also a retreat for athletes, wellness rituals ensure maximum sports relaxation featuring hydrotherapy and a reflexology walk. Combining ancient healing practices with modern techniques, Polynesian Spa is frequently recognised as one of the top 10 spas in the world.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Went here and hired a private spa, the place was nice but the employee was rude when explaining how the spa works etc. de Brett's in Taupo are more friendly. Seems expensive compared to others.

2  Thank EdwardT2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Hi EdwardT2155,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your recent visit. I will look in to this incident as it is definitely not acceptable for our staff to be rude to our guests. Customer service is of utmost importance to us and I apologise that the high quality service was not delivered to you as we intend to deliver to all guests. I hope this has not deterred you from visiting us in the future.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"adult pools"
in 174 reviews
"private pool"
in 208 reviews
"family pool"
in 62 reviews
"hot pools"
in 201 reviews
"lake pools"
in 34 reviews
"overlooking the lake"
in 51 reviews
"mud wrap"
in 50 reviews
"varying temperatures"
in 32 reviews
"relaxing experience"
in 55 reviews
"aches and pains"
in 33 reviews
"changing rooms"
in 64 reviews
"lake rotorua"
in 97 reviews
"warm water"
in 41 reviews
"hot springs"
in 56 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 44 reviews
"rainy day"
in 29 reviews
"new zealand"
in 56 reviews
Filter

1,922 - 1,926 of 2,825 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

A totally wonderful, world class experience!. The Staff were all very professional and of the highest standard, the surroundings; out of this world! After a glorious soak in the hot pools, had a full-body mud massage whilst under a warm rain like shower - very relaxing and special.The Spa area was so very nice, the facilities were top notch and the Green Tea afterwards a lovely touch. Cannot thank the staff and management enough for their fantastic service and graciousness - highly recommended and a certain must do when visiting Rotorua. Prices most reasonable and the experience and scenery should not be missed. Something for everyone; singles, families, couples....no matter what age. Will certainly be back. Thank you Polynesian Spa. :)

Thank Mydawny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Hi Mydawny K,
Very overwhelmed with gratitude by your glowing review, I will ensure I forward your message to the Retreat Staff. It is always great to see that the high quality of service that we strive to deliver to all our guests is appreciated and that they thoroughly enjoyed their time here. The aix massage is one of our signature treatments and is very popular because of it being quite a unique experience. We look forward to hosting you next time you are over here from the beautiful Tauranga :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It's world's top 10 spa. They deserve it!

+ great thermal pools
+ great scenery
+ great service
+ reasonably cheap
+ nice souvenir centre shop

- cannot think of any
probably only it is far from Auckland..but its not a cons anyways!

This is one of the best place to visit in Rotorua.


Thank teakwood t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Hi teakwood t,
Thank you so much for your raving review and endorsement! We really do appreciate our guests feedback and it's great to see that you were satisfied with the pools, scenery, service and value. These are four very important factors in the Polynesian Spa experience. I hope you managed to take a little memento back to Auckland with you to remind you to come back and visit us in the near future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wasn't on our to do list but afterwards we were very glad we went!!
I went with a friend and was perfect after long days of sightseeing. under an hour was enough as the water is quite hot, almost sauna like.
We choose the private spa as the others are super busy and loud with kids, also was cheapest option which private usually is more expensive so we thought was a good deal.
Very relaxing and beautiful outdoor scenery making it a real highlight.

The minerals made it really relaxing and soothing but the private is definitely the go with couples and my friend even remarked taking her partner there next time.

Thank Surfs_up36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Awesome to read that you enjoyed your recent visit! The Deluxe Private Pools are a great option for those who want the more peaceful soak but still enjoy the views over Lake Rotorua. We look forward to hosting your friends! Safe travels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

It was not too busy when we went but the weather was dry and not too cold. booked the adult and priest spas which gave us access to 7 spas. I loved the front pool with the view over the lake. The shop here is great, all the staff are friendly and smoothies from the café are fab., MAIN BONUS, IT IS A WEEK SINCE WE VISITED HERE AND THE ARTHRITIS IN MY KNEES IS ONLY NOW STARTING TO PLAY UP AGAIN, FOR THE DAYS FOLLOWING OUR VISIT I WAS PAIN FREE! My husband had read all the info on the place and only told me afterwards about the proposed medical benefits for joints etc. I was really surprised about just how good I felt. Incredible place, if I lived nearer, Id go every day. :)

Thank MichelleS1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Hi MichelleS1805,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am very pleased to hear that your soak helped with the arthritis. The water for the 3 Priest Pools in the Adult Pools & Priest Spa is sourced from the Priest Spring which is renowned for its therapeutic properties due to it's acidity in the mineral water. We hope to host you next time you're up from New Plymouth :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polynesian Spa also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Polynesian Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing