We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat”
Review of Polynesian Spa

Polynesian Spa
Book In Advance
More Info
$133.98*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermal Geyser Tour and Polynesian Spa...
More Info
$140.68*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Highlights Tour Including Cultural...
More Info
$36.47*
and up
1.5-Hour Rotorua Highlights Tour
Ranked #2 of 14 Spas & Wellness in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Relax and unwind on the tranquil shores of Lake Rotorua at Polynesian Spa - a world-leading, natural mineral bathing and luxury spa retreat. Channelling geothermal marvels in its backyard, the 28 mineral pools at Polynesian Spa are fed from two natural springs for a combination that both nourishes the skin and relieves tired muscles, aches and pains. Specialising in a range of health and wellness treatments, Polynesian Spa has a decadent spa therapy menu. Also a retreat for athletes, wellness rituals ensure maximum sports relaxation featuring hydrotherapy and a reflexology walk. Combining ancient healing practices with modern techniques, Polynesian Spa is frequently recognised as one of the top 10 spas in the world.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We treated ourselves to the private delux spa with a view out over the lake which was excellent.
Towels & "cossies" can be rented if required although for the private spas you don't need a cossie as its totally private so birthday suit will work.
Our only complain is that the staff for the private spa's had gone AWOL and it took two trips back to reception to chase them before someone finally appeared.

Thank jimbosmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I sincerely apologise for the hassle in finding our staff. I have passed your comments on to our Pools Manager to ensure this does not happen again. It is great to see you enjoyed your soak during your recent visit, we look forward to hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,817 - 1,821 of 2,641 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

After a long day we thought it would be a great place to relax, the pools are nice and the facilities are clean, however the place is really overprice for the facilities, great juice bar in the cafe area, very overpriced gift shop in the foyer. Avoid late afternoons as that appears to be when the tourist buses arrive

Thank mousekett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We feel that our prices are very much in line with other attractions in Rotorua but we do appreciate your feedback as we do look at our prices annually. I am glad that despite the fact that you felt that it was overpriced you still managed to relax and enjoy a soak in our hot mineral pools. We hope you return in the future for another relaxing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went for a quick 1 hr dip and ended up staying for the entire day. They had 4 pools of different temperatures, your looking out over Lake Rotorua, everything is kept very natural and private feeling, and when you want out of the water you can sit on heated chairs looking out over the view. We took a break to have fresh squeezed juices, and the staff checked the water temperature every 30 minutes to make sure it was perfect. What a wonderful afternoon!

Thank Micksterooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad you managed to stay longer for what sounds like a relaxing day! Our fruit juices are a popular treat after a long hot soak so it is great to hear that you managed to try one to complete your Polynesian Spa experience. For our guests comfort our staff regularly check the temperatures to ensure they are the correct temperatures. Again thank you for your feedback, we hope you return in the future for another day to relax :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went with 3 other freinds for a relaxing moment at the end of our exhausting holiday, we had never seen the rooms so we asked to see them,(private rooms have 2 different stlyes, a cheaper one that is just a room with the heated rock pool stlye or one that is open to look at the lake.) The moment we all saw the view we decided on this one. So very worth it. We hired a couple of towels( 10 dollars with a refund of 5 on returning.) The temperature was perfect! The 4 of us fit easily, laying across the pool looking out at this amazing scenery. It was better than I expected and worth the price. Totally relaxing.

Thank BelAraratAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your visit to Polynesian Spa. The Deluxe Private Pools are very popular and the views are hard to pass by. I am glad you and your friends enjoyed the hot mineral pool and that the temperature suited you all. We hope you return to Rotorua for another relaxing experience :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time here. Place is very close to city center. We chose the lake spa option which we thought was best value as you're not limited in time, you get a towel / soap / shampoo etc and it's a relatively quiet / private option (not completely private but there were about 10 people in total over four pools when we were there).
We went at sunset, and view of the lake and sky was lovely. The pools themselves are perfect - different temps keep it interesting while all are still comfortably warm. Pools are built from carved stones with lots of nooks to sit or lie in. Pools are sorrounded by trees and plants and it's very pleasant to take a dip in such a natural environment. Don't miss the heated chairs outside the pools!

Changing rooms and showers are clean, there are lots of them. Freshly squeezed juice at the cafe afterwards is a must!

Loved this place - highly recommended.

Thank NK_NYC_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review! I am glad you enjoyed your experience here at Polynesian Spa. The heated recliners are a recent addition to the Lake Spa which is the more exclusive bathing area. A fresh fruit juice is the perfect way to complete your spa experience so I am glad you also enjoyed this. We hope you return to Rotorua for another soak in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polynesian Spa also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Polynesian Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing