We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful....”
Review of Polynesian Spa

Polynesian Spa
Book In Advance
More Info
$134.24*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Geothermal...
Ranked #3 of 16 Spas & Wellness in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Relax and unwind on the tranquil shores of Lake Rotorua at Polynesian Spa - a world-leading, natural mineral bathing and luxury spa retreat. Channelling geothermal marvels in its backyard, the 28 mineral pools at Polynesian Spa are fed from two natural springs for a combination that both nourishes the skin and relieves tired muscles, aches and pains. Specialising in a range of health and wellness treatments, Polynesian Spa has a decadent spa therapy menu. Also a retreat for athletes, wellness rituals ensure maximum sports relaxation featuring hydrotherapy and a reflexology walk. Combining ancient healing practices with modern techniques, Polynesian Spa is frequently recognised as one of the top 10 spas in the world.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I went to the Adult & Priest pools and that was amazing. The best part was the view of the lake BUT go at sunset as this is a real treat as the colours are exquisite. Calming and enjoyable and very therapeutic.

Thank Donnak333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you very much for your glowing review. It seems like you had a very relaxing and enjoyable experience which I am very pleased to hear of. Look forward to hosting you in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"adult pools"
in 174 reviews
"private pool"
in 208 reviews
"family pool"
in 62 reviews
"hot pools"
in 201 reviews
"lake pools"
in 34 reviews
"overlooking the lake"
in 51 reviews
"mud wrap"
in 50 reviews
"varying temperatures"
in 32 reviews
"relaxing experience"
in 55 reviews
"aches and pains"
in 33 reviews
"changing rooms"
in 64 reviews
"lake rotorua"
in 97 reviews
"warm water"
in 41 reviews
"hot springs"
in 56 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 44 reviews
"rainy day"
in 29 reviews
"new zealand"
in 56 reviews
Filter

2,066 - 2,070 of 2,830 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012


These pools are well set out and give you chance to sample various heats. The only drawback was the communal changing rooms! Not everyone likes to shower and change in front of (THE MANY) tourists!!!

Thank weebsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thanks for your feedback, as always we appreciate it so we know what areas we need to improve. Awesome to hear that you enjoyed the different temperatures! We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Bit pricey for a 30minutes dip but well worth it if all you want to do is relax! Great views of the lake (probally why they get away with the price) nice and private, perfect end to the day :)

Thank Sonz091285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you enjoyed your bathing experience and felt relaxed. We are very lucky that we are located so close to the beautiful shore of Rotorua so it's good to see that you enjoyed the views!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Totally chilled out....After my visit to the Lake Retreat spa this weekend. I have returned time and time again to this lovely spa especially because I am a huge fan of having a choice of spa therapies and trying different treatments and the Lake Retreat has a good choice. If you can choose the Aix spa therapy you must, it is a joy. My visit to Rotorua this weekend was a last minute overnight visit so I phoned to see if they had an appointment available. The reception were very helpful and I managed to get a treatment for an hours relaxation massage. Make sure you eat before your treatment but if you don't the Polynesian spa has a lovely cafe where you can indulge in a delicious smoothie to give you that boost before you start your treatment. Once in the Retreat you have the use of the Thermal pools to soak in before your treatment, just sit in the outdoor thermal pools and enjoy the lovely scenery of the lake which is just there......amazing and relaxing. On to the massage.....a delight....and if you can ask for Javi (Harvey) you must, he was fantastic and worked a treat and was so lovely. The treatment rooms I have always been in are amazing and quiet and overlook the Lake, relax whilst listening to the calming music and the sounds of silence from the Lake surroundings. After the treatment you are able to relax in your robe in an amazing room that overlooks the lake and enjoy a herbal tea and a complete wind down which helps you to come round after your massage rather than be rushed out of the door. Full marks Polynesian Spa thank you.

1  Thank Zara58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review. It seems like you had the full Polynesian Spa experience from the mineral bathing to the aix therapy to the smoothies and herbal tea! I am glad to see you enjoyed your day here, I really appreciate your feedback. I will pass on your comments to the Retreat Manager with regards to Javi and the reception staff. I hope you return again soon for another relaxing experience :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

For $43 entrance to the Lake Spa, they should limit the amount of people entered. Instead, they pack everyone in like cattle in a bowling bowl of water just to turn a profit. Complete waste of money and time. This was the most expensive and most unpleasant/unrelaxing spa/hot springs i have been to in New Zealand. Even the Lost Springs in Whitianga was only $30 and they limited the people in.

1  Thank SLH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolynesianSpa, Manager at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry you felt this way. The weekend you visited was Labour Weekend in NZ and is a time that we are very busy which would explain the amount of people bathing. Typically the Lake Spa is very exclusive and only a small percentage of our guests bathe in that area but if you wanted a completely private experience I would recommend one of our Private Pools. For a deluxe Private Pool overlooking the lake it is $27 per person for 30 minutes. I do hope you return as your experience is not one that the majority of our guests receive and not one that we would want our guests to have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polynesian Spa also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Polynesian Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing