We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely grounds, poor service”

Paradise Valley Springs Wildlife Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.26*
and up
Paradise Valley Springs Wildlife Park Pass
Ranked #11 of 108 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

The grounds are beautiful to walk through and the animals are nice to feed, however the hospitality was poor. The lion cub trainer was quite rude and unwelcoming, barking instructions to us and our kids and other people behind us in the cue. We could have returned to spend more time with the cubs after their rest time, but did not wish to due to the experience simply not having been fun. Café was very poor - it had one pie, and the only option then offered our family was microwaving more frozen pies. We left as we were really hungry by this point. I wouldn't go back in a hurry,

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    310
    61
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for the kids to experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

My two kids loved this place. The Lion cubs were so cute and being so close was amazing. The rest of the animals were friendly and very happy to receive the pellets offered to them. I would say to time your visit for an hour before feeding time, go round the park then back for the main event at 2.30, or start with feeding time for the big Lions then go round the park as before that they are all asleep in the sun or their cave. You can leave and come back for feeding if you wish as we did and that worked well. Its a beautiful setting and very clean and natural.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anita2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pat a lion cub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic day. Got there early to stroke the lion cub twin boys. A really great experience, the keepers don't rush you through so it felt like a special time. The park is all in a natural setting with plenty of welcome shade. Save the animal food for the farm animals at the end.

Helpful?
Thank Embobabe1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Gorgeous lion cubs and massive trout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We went to this park today and had a great afternoon. We got to stroke the lion cubs which were terribly cute while they slept and saw the other lions being fed. My husband who is a mad keen fisherman was enthralled by the size of the trout. It was a very clean place with pleasant, professional and friendly staff. Great place for young and old alike, quite easy and accessible to get around. Lovely New Zealand native bush to walk through, nice on a summer afternoon. We definitely recommend this as place to visit while in Rotorua. The children with love it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 610Margaretd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings, AND LION CUBS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Spent a great three hours with the family here, and really enjoyed it.
Spotless and well presented grounds, and an easy to follow layout meant we made the most of our time here.
Patted lion cubs, fed rainbow trout, deer, and a menagerie of farm animals and native birds. Got up close to adult lions, their enclosure is getting a well deserved upgrade. Even filled the kids drink bottles from an inground spring which they were impressed with.
Was a really enjoyable few hours

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hardsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Valley Springs Wildlife Park also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Paradise Valley Springs Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing