We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

Buried Village of Te Wairoa
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.33*
and up
Buried Village of Te Wairoa Tour
Ranked #19 of 112 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience New Zealand's most visited archaeological site where stories of the 1886 Mt Tarawera Eruption come to life! Violent and unexpected, the volcanic eruption was one of New Zealand's greatest natural disasters burying the peaceful village of Te Wairoa and ending more than 150 lives. Today at the Buried Village encounter the world class Museum of Te Wairoa, explore the Archaeological Site which once housed the people of Te Wairoa, experience the unique insights of stories from our tour guides, and take the Waterfall Trail which showcases the stunning Wairere Falls.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Concordia, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Impressive”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Our guide, Lyn, made the village come alive .......telling about the time before the eruption and what life was like after the eruption.The area must have been amazing with the pink and white terraces. By having such a detailed introduction of the area and then to walk the trails and experience the waterfalls and nature was pure delight.
The museum is is outstanding ......exhibits are well done and the history told makes quite an impact.
After our history lesson we had lunch at the tearoom. The food was delicious and everyone was so friendly.
We would make this a must if you are visiting the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuzyT62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thanks for the great review. Yes, the guided tours definitely help give a great insight before and after the eruption. I will pass this onto Lyn she will be pleased! Agreed the Museum of Te Wairoa has several exhibits that portray the history of Te Wairoa in-depth. And what a great way to end the experience at Vi's Teahouse .. I will pass this onto our staff . Please do come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    296
    118
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Highlight of Rotorua for me!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Te Wairoa The Buried Village was such an amazing experience. The story of the early inhabitants, the Mt Tarawera eruption and its impact on the area is told through narratives, drawings, photos, displays, stories and an impressive collection of artifacts rescued from the rubble. A surreal experience, and so humbling to learn about the people, the devastating effects of the volcano eruption, and the legendary Pink & White Terraces. AMAZING - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank djmathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Wow thank you for the five star review. Yes the Buried Village really helps bring to life stories of the Mount Tarawera eruption and we are glad you could experience this. Such a tragedy took place at Te Wairoa and to able to share the stories is gratifying. Please do visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a really interesting site featuring a good museum. We spent time in the museum first and would recommend doing so as it provides good context for walking around the village. We really enjoyed the story about the poplar fenceposts (sounds unlikely, I know - you will have to judge for yourself!).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TJT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thanks for such a great review. Yes the Museum of Te Wairoa really helps set the scene displaying exhibits such as the early settlers of Te Wairoa Reverend Seymour and Ellen Spencer, the Tuhourangi people, the first hosts of New Zealand; and the Eighth Wonder of the World - The Pink and White Terraces. Agreed the poplar fence posts are such a fascinating story and it was upsetting having to cut the poplar trees down - however who knows they may grow again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Surprisingly enjoyable”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

The museum itself is first rate, it explains about the people and events before, during and after this volcano. The before and after photographs (especially of the pink and white terraces) are amazing. The site itself was OK and as it was pouring with rain and dry quiet we were given a discounted price and were really the only ones walking the site.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for the five star review it is always a pleasure. Agreed the Museum of Te Wairoa really captures the early settlers of Te Wairoa, to the Aftermath of the eruption. Yes sometimes weather can affect your visit; however it can add to the experience too, making the Archaeological Site and Waterfall Trail become an adventure! Please come visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
227 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

It's important to note that this is an excavated village. I think we were expecting to see things still buried and this wasn't the case. All of the artifacts have been removed and are in the museum or in display cases at the sites. A lot is left to the imagination and the signage is often redundant. It's a very nice property and great for roaming on a beautiful day. The trail to the waterfall is very steep, but worthwhile. Overall, the price is very steep for what it is. I'm not familiar enough with other attractions in the area to suggest an alternative, but with limited time in Rotorua, I would recommend giving the Buried Village a miss.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoamingTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thanks for you review. Yes Buried Village is an excavated village as well having two other features: The Museum of Te Wairoa, and the Waterfall Trail. Not all artefacts have been removed from the sites; for example if you visit the BlackSmith's workshop you will find his saws and that is just one site! However some of the excavated objects have been moved to the museum in order to protect what is left of such a tragic disaster. We are glad you enjoyed the Wairere Falls as the waterfall is really a hidden treasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buried Village of Te Wairoa also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Buried Village of Te Wairoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing