We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repetitive and over priced”

Buried Village of Te Wairoa
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.33*
and up
Buried Village of Te Wairoa Tour
Ranked #19 of 112 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience New Zealand's most visited archaeological site where stories of the 1886 Mt Tarawera Eruption come to life! Violent and unexpected, the volcanic eruption was one of New Zealand's greatest natural disasters burying the peaceful village of Te Wairoa and ending more than 150 lives. Today at the Buried Village encounter the world class Museum of Te Wairoa, explore the Archaeological Site which once housed the people of Te Wairoa, experience the unique insights of stories from our tour guides, and take the Waterfall Trail which showcases the stunning Wairere Falls.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Repetitive and over priced”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The buried village, whilst in a lovely location, is not very well done. The reproduction buildings are all the same and not really representative of what is on the info boards. And a lot of the information is repetitive. All that would be fine if the admission price wasn't so steep. On the upside there is a lovely waterfall that is worth the short detour, and the service was very friendly. Of all the fantastic things to do in the area, we would probably recommend giving this one a miss, unless you have money to waste.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hope454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We are sorry if you felt mislead then this was not our intention. Buried Village is an excavated site meaning the Te Wairoa village was dug up from the volcanic mud of the Mt Tarawera Eruption. The reproduction buildings are dug up and replicate what once stood in the thriving village. The Wairere Falls is one of special features that we value dearly and I am glad you enjoyed it. Buried Village provides the history of Te Wairoa and shows how people once lived. Many people get a feeling, an emotion that cannot be described when visiting; and we hope one day you can experience this too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    296
    118
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Great 'Adventure' for Young Ones”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My kids enjoyed following the numbers and seeing the various half-buried buildings – they turned it into a little adventure! But the best part (and well worth the hike) is the trip down the stairs to see the magnificent Wairere Falls – although the stairs were steep, even my three-year-old made it down and up without much assistance!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DV226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thanks for the positive reply. We know sometimes it is hard to encourage kids to get involved in history and glad that they found it adventurous ! At Buried Village we also have Smithy the archaeologist where children help Smithy find clues at each excavated site so I hope they could take part in this as well! The Wairere Falls is one of our treasures and glad that you and your family could experience it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our family visit”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Extremely interesting place to visit. Must have been terrifying at the time of the eruption. We spent 3 hours walking around it was educational also.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 523lync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for reviewing The Buried Village of Te Wairoa. It is disheartening that such a tragedy took place at Te Wairoa but we are glad that we can share the fateful day with you. I am pleased to hear you involved yourself with the educational side of the Buried Village and impressed with the three hours walking around! It is so easy to get lost in the stories that there are to be told!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва, Россия
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting site”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Go there if you have 1-2 hrs spare time and want to know more about the history of Tarawera region. In the end of the walking route (we did a self-guided one) there is a very remarkable waterfall.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thanks for taking full advantage of what Buried Village has to offer. It is great to hear even without the guided tour you thoroughly enjoyed the excavated sites. The Wairere Falls (Te Wairoa Falls) are one of the highlights of the Nature Trail and is a stunning feature of Buried Village. Thank you for giving us such positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Be Selective”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile




The museum tells the story of the 1886 eruption of Mt Tarawera and you are then escorted around what was the village before it was engulfed by volcanic mud and ash.
The tour is a gentle amble around various excavations but there isn't that much to see. At the end of the tour there is an opportunity to walk down to view a magnificent waterfall. Beware though, it's a long way back up.
If your time in Rotorua is limited you can certainly afford to give this one a miss.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 99ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam M, Public Relations Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for visiting us at Buried Village. Your feedback is helpful in enabling us to improve and satisfy our customers. I am sorry you felt that there was not much to see; although, we do have four products to showcase:The Te Wairoa Museum, the excavated site, the Wairoa Falls, and Vi's Teahouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buried Village of Te Wairoa also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Buried Village of Te Wairoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing