We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local guide was a highlight”

Buried Village of Te Wairoa
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.25*
and up
Buried Village of Te Wairoa Tour
Ranked #20 of 108 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience New Zealand's most visited archaeological site where stories of the 1886 Mt Tarawera Eruption come to life! Violent and unexpected, the volcanic eruption was one of New Zealand's greatest natural disasters burying the peaceful village of Te Wairoa and ending more than 150 lives. Today at the Buried Village encounter the world class Museum of Te Wairoa, explore the Archaeological Site which once housed the people of Te Wairoa, experience the unique insights of stories from our tour guides, and take the Waterfall Trail which showcases the stunning Wairere Falls.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Local guide was a highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was a great chance of pace after mountain biking and ziplining, with the highlight being a local guide who showed us around and told the story of the volcano eruption. Without the guide it might have been less interesting but her local knowledge and stories really brought the eruption to life. Well worth a visit and just another natura marvel of Rotorua.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dmousekb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    293
    116
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Costly but a historical interesting place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you enjoy digging for what was left under the mud after the Tarawera eruption this is the place to go, they have now also got a new electronic guide, which helps if you can find the numbers!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shajomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I first visited The Buried Village when I was 10 years old and very new to New Zealand. I remember it being about a volcano, but was a bit scared. Thinking that, you know, it was going to happen the next day! So now 12 years later, I decided it was time to go again and understand it properly.

I could not get away from the walk around muesum section. All the bits dug up was fascinating. I was just staring with awe. Reading the tragic story about the mum and her young children was so sad :( But very real the way it was portrayed.

We decided to take our own tour around outside. The trees that were chopped down due to a storm was a bit of an eyesore. I did think there would be more "houses" to see in the ground. Where the oven is was hard to imagine the actual hotel. But I guess thats just down to time. It was so long ago that I guess it gets harder to make look so real.

The walk through the bush was nice. The stream was so clear I couldn't beleive it. I had memories coming back to me as we took the steps up to the waterfall. It was a sight, very lovely water fall. We took the opportunity to buy some magnets from the shop, not too badly priced.

The admission is a little high, but I think if you do it once, why not? It is after all, a real peice of history! Oh, and the lady at the counter was really nice and had the full blown outfit of the dresses back then. Very cool.

So yes, well worth a visit for the stories and real evidence of the people who lived there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robyn_256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tired and steep.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Interesting to see a village with parts uncovered over the years from the eruption. Some exhibits were looking a bit tired when I was there last. Also this attraction is a bit over priced for what it is.

Helpful?
Thank librarychicknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
140 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Unique and Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This place graphically illustrates the local effects of the Tarawera eruption, in a pleasant setting. History, geology, and a very nice devonshire tea in the shop!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Abby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buried Village of Te Wairoa also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Buried Village of Te Wairoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing