We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Do”

Tamaki Maori Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.35*
and up
Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance
Ranked #3 of 108 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tamaki Maori Village – Evening Cultural Experience. New Zealand’s Most Awarded Cultural Experience! Experience an evening of ceremonial ritual, powerful cultural performance, storytelling & hangi feasting. Share in the Powhiri, our ancient ceremony of welcome before entering our pre-European Maori Village nestled within a native Tawa Forest. The village comes alive with sights, sounds & activity of days gone by including haka, poi, tattooing, weaving, carving and arts of warrior training. You will have the opportunity to participate in these activities. Witness the earth being scraped away from the hangi pit to reveal baskets of food cooked beneath the ground on hot stones. Enter the ancestral meeting house and enjoy a powerful cultural performance before dining the traditional hangi buffet feast!
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must Do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Awesome authentic experience. Value for money, great people, great food, great show and bus ride. You really would be missing out if you didnt see it through your travels to North Island New Zealand.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleena_Long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,308
    700
    189
    60
    37
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
central Victoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good for children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

this was better than expected. The eccentric busdriver was hilarious. The village tours were well done with plenty of participation- great for kids. I did have to question the supposed seriousness of the entry haka. Food was fairly average but passable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank richard8108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Commercialised "entertainment"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Booked an evening at the Tamaki Village based on good reviews. We were picked up in a coach outside our accommodation by Dazza, the best entertainer of the evening, and driven out to the village. We were greeted by the Maori tribe, and welcomed into their village. They had six or so huts dotted around in the forest, each showing off a piece of Maori culture, but you were rushed around these with barely enough time to take anything in. Our "Hangi" was revealed, but this was clearly not enough to feed the 80+ people on our tour. We were then rushed through to watch some traditional Maori entertainment and then herded into a hall where the "Hangi" was served. This was one of several dining rooms for one of several tours that happen each evening. Dinner was, unsurprisingly by this point, rushed, but was relatively tasty. The night came to an abrupt end, and we were effectively kicked out back to our bus. Very little seemed genuine, which is a shame, because those who take part in the performance clearly love what they do and have a passion for sharing their culture. This is poorly managed more than anything else, with the sole aim of getting as many paying visitors through the gates efficiently as possible. Not worth the money, but if you still really want to go, then find a local "Jasons" guide, find a discount voucher and visit their ticket office in the centre of Rotorua - do not book in advance online.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank fatflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love it - Always a good night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is my third time to do the cultural night and I love it.
From the bus ride to the meals they do a great job and all of the staff appear to enjoy what they do.
Would thoroughly recommend this.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tan_bsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must do experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Was voted the chief for the night, the whole experience taught visitors about the Maori culture, the activities for the visitors were fun, and the hungi was so delusion we could have just stayed there and eaten ourselves silly. Great staff and a wonderful insight into the real New Zealand. Will do their overnight package next time, felt very welcomed and can not rate high enough.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamaki Maori Village also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Tamaki Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing