We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting”

Tamaki Maori Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.81*
and up
Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance
Ranked #3 of 112 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tamaki Maori Village – Evening Cultural Experience. New Zealand’s Most Awarded Cultural Experience! Experience an evening of ceremonial ritual, powerful cultural performance, storytelling & hangi feasting. Share in the Powhiri, our ancient ceremony of welcome before entering our pre-European Maori Village nestled within a native Tawa Forest. The village comes alive with sights, sounds & activity of days gone by including haka, poi, tattooing, weaving, carving and arts of warrior training. You will have the opportunity to participate in these activities. Witness the earth being scraped away from the hangi pit to reveal baskets of food cooked beneath the ground on hot stones. Enter the ancestral meeting house and enjoy a powerful cultural performance before dining the traditional hangi buffet feast!
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I knew nothing about the Maori native New Zealanders. They put on a fabulous evening -entertaining and informative. The Hangi dinner was a feast to behold! Nice evening

Thank Gypsy-by-trade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaki-Maori-Village, Director of Sales at Tamaki Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Kia ora,

Thank you for your great review, we are happy you enjoyed your experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,543)
There are newer reviews for Tamaki Maori Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,791 - 2,795 of 3,543 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

This experience is one I will never forget. The Maori people welcomed us into their village and explained how they live their lives and what they stand for. They put on an excellent show and then cooked us a fantastic meal. They invite 'or volunteer' you to join them for some of their games, which are good fun. Brilliant night had by all.

Thank Ernie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaki-Maori-Village, Director of Sales at Tamaki Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Kia ora,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we appreciate you spending the time to post your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were picked up from our hotel by Aroha, the bus driver. She soon made everyone very welcome & relaxed. On the drive out to the village she explained what was going to happen when we reached there. Each bus has to pick a chief who participates in the ceremony to enter the village. Different things to see & do before watching the hungi food being removed. Then inside for a performance while the food is being set up. Smorgasboard with lamb, chicken, spuds kumera salads etc, very nice & filling. The bus ride home is a laugh, Aroha getting different countries to sing songs. Luckily we didn't get dropped of first, otherwise we would have missed the "roundabout". I won't tell you what happens ther as it will spoil your suprise... All in all a very entertaining night.

Thank Witch1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaki-Maori-Village, Director of Sales at Tamaki Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Kia ora,

Thank you for your great review!

We will pass on your excellent feedback to our staff especially Aroha, who we agree is a wonderful driver and host. We are happy you enjoyed your experience at Tamaki Maori Village.

Nga Mihi Nui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is something you should have seen at the end of your trip. It's all about the maori culture and it is an amazing experience. They tell about the maori history and sing and dance and make everything very entertaining. The hangi is fantastic, the food is just great! At first I didn't know what to expect but now I understand why they won several cultural prices over the last few years.

Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The tour is well done. You have an informative tour and later a show and then a delightful meal. Pleasant day and a must see in the area.

1  Thank poodlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaki-Maori-Village, Director of Sales at Tamaki Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Kia Ora,
Thank you for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your experience at Tamaki Maori Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamaki Maori Village also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Tamaki Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing