We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

Tamaki Maori Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.63*
and up
Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance
More Info
$742.47*
and up
2-Day Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Tour from Auckland
Ranked #2 of 113 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tamaki Maori Village – Evening Cultural Experience. New Zealand’s Most Awarded Cultural Experience! Experience an evening of ceremonial ritual, powerful cultural performance, storytelling & hangi feasting. Share in the Powhiri, our ancient ceremony of welcome before entering our pre-European Maori Village nestled within a native Tawa Forest. The village comes alive with sights, sounds & activity of days gone by including haka, poi, tattooing, weaving, carving and arts of warrior training. You will have the opportunity to participate in these activities. Witness the earth being scraped away from the hangi pit to reveal baskets of food cooked beneath the ground on hot stones. Enter the ancestral meeting house and enjoy a powerful cultural performance before dining the traditional hangi buffet feast!
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was awesome seeing their culture in the village took you back in time. They gave you a ton of food and great entertainment worth every penny

Thank Nicunurse26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,925 - 2,929 of 3,676 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our visit to the village was indeed an excellent learning experience in understanding Maori culture and history. Unlike the aboriginal people of Australia , the Maori people stand tall and proud in their homeland. Staff and entertainers at the village were enthusiastic and were keen to ask where the visitors come from. Very unpleasantly, when an Asian looking lady replied she was from Auckland she was met with sarcasm . Overall, we still rate the village a must if you are in Rotorua.
Maybe , the management should re train the staff in balancing their Maori nationalism with the reality of modern New Zealand .

Thank y_fook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Bus driver very entertaining. DVD at the finish of the evening was a good supplement. Food was disappointing since it was supposed to be a Hangi, but the tastiest food turned out to be the salads and the dessert. Overall an informative evening. The huge crowd was handled quite well, but would have been better with a smaller number.

Thank phyllismdrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaki-Maori-Village, Director of Sales at Tamaki Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Kia ora and thank you for coming out and experiencing our Award Winning Tamaki Maori Village. We always value the opportunity to listen to feedback from our customers.
I am pleased that you were entertained by our bus driver and enjoyed the short movie, and found your overall experience informative. In regards to your feedback on the food, this is definitely a ground cooked hangi, which visitors can view being lifted from the earthen pits at our village, We always receive wonderful comments on our food, so I am sorry to hear that the traditional hangi meal is not what you expected.
Our entire site encompasses over 25 acres, including a native Tawa forest within which our Maori Village is located, and we do cap our total number of people on our evening show to ensure intimacy of the experience. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

You are taken to their village in the forest, on the way there the bus driver tells you what to expect and some thing about their custom,
The show itself is very entertaining, and you are also explained so of their traditional ways.
The hangi was very enjoyable and plenty of buffet style food to go around, an added bonus was some entertainment from the bus driver and one of the women in the show who was also on the bus with us sang a beautiful song...
An enjoyable night ....

Thank toycp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaki-Maori-Village, Director of Sales at Tamaki Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for your amazing review!
We are happy to hear you received great care from our guide, and I will pass on your great feedback to him.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

You can see and learn here much about Maori culture. The shows are wonderful and in the village they tell you about crafts and backgrounds.
The Hangi food is great too.

Thank Hans_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaki-Maori-Village, Director of Sales at Tamaki Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Kia ora and thank you for spending the time to write your review! It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your experience with us at Tamaki Maori Village! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday through New Zealand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamaki Maori Village also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Tamaki Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing