We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kia Ora” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamaki Maori Village

Tamaki Maori Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.34*
and up
Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance
Ranked #3 of 108 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tamaki Maori Village – Evening Cultural Experience. New Zealand’s Most Awarded Cultural Experience! Experience an evening of ceremonial ritual, powerful cultural performance, storytelling & hangi feasting. Share in the Powhiri, our ancient ceremony of welcome before entering our pre-European Maori Village nestled within a native Tawa Forest. The village comes alive with sights, sounds & activity of days gone by including haka, poi, tattooing, weaving, carving and arts of warrior training. You will have the opportunity to participate in these activities. Witness the earth being scraped away from the hangi pit to reveal baskets of food cooked beneath the ground on hot stones. Enter the ancestral meeting house and enjoy a powerful cultural performance before dining the traditional hangi buffet feast!
rotorua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kia Ora”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Had the most amazing time, from drop off to pick up the hospitality was awesome. Was good to see the way of life for the indigenous people of New Zealand. The entertainment was fabulous. and the food was delicious.

Thank you for an amazing night Tamaki Whanau!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank farrell b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,227
    679
    187
    59
    36
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Night would recommend to all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I am a Kiwi but took a friend from Melbourne to this on Tuesday night and in a word it was fabulous. Right from being collected by the lovely Denis to the smooth payment the great trip on the bus to the Village. The welcome was heartwarming and then the tour around the different cultural houses with the most lovely men and women making us so welcome and including members of our group. I am sure they do this everynight but each and everyone of them had the most lovely smile for us all and really knew their stuff, we all learnt alot about the culture and our history. The meal was fabulous and there was a lot of food, it was presented well, they cleaned up and then we had a drivers sing song and that was such a highlight, the boys had great voices and I felt so pleased that we had such a great time, I was nervous that this could have been very ordinary, the ride home was funny and Denis is a huge asset to the experience as he was funny, knowledgeable and a great driver. If you are in Rotorua go on this trip it is value for money and I doubt you will be disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“RIP OFF !!!!! worth $50 dollars not $110”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very average, not authentic (tamoko's looked super fake !!!! over cooked hangi (meats). crap transport (old bumpy bus) over crowded (200 people plus) bus drivers speaker was broke, disappointing gift shop.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank myohhmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Excellent way to learn about Maori culture being so close to them. Excellent food and friendly crew. I strongly recommend you to go there!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level Contributor
1 review
“do not miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

An excellent evening from very start to the very end. Anyone who has rated this lower than 4 stars has no sense of humor/adventure. A great family show, the people are very friendly and talented. Food was beautiful, and the show was excellent. Thanks for a great night, never been around a roundabout like that before!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JennyTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamaki Maori Village also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Tamaki Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing