We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very natural feel, lovely people and you must take the bus!!”

Tamaki Maori Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.40*
and up
Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance
Ranked #3 of 110 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tamaki Maori Village – Evening Cultural Experience. New Zealand’s Most Awarded Cultural Experience! Experience an evening of ceremonial ritual, powerful cultural performance, storytelling & hangi feasting. Share in the Powhiri, our ancient ceremony of welcome before entering our pre-European Maori Village nestled within a native Tawa Forest. The village comes alive with sights, sounds & activity of days gone by including haka, poi, tattooing, weaving, carving and arts of warrior training. You will have the opportunity to participate in these activities. Witness the earth being scraped away from the hangi pit to reveal baskets of food cooked beneath the ground on hot stones. Enter the ancestral meeting house and enjoy a powerful cultural performance before dining the traditional hangi buffet feast!
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very natural feel, lovely people and you must take the bus!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This had a really natural "family" feel about it and you felt like they valued what they were sharing of their culture and were proud of it and very happy that we came! We thoroughly enjoyed the sharing, singing, stories and dancing as well as the meal!! We know they do this every night but it felt like it was just for us. Make sure you take the bus out from town - Darren was our driver and it was a hoot!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThePrests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,346
    708
    190
    60
    38
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Having over the years survived some very uncomfortable re-enactments we were thrilled to find this a really great experience. From the bus trip with Sonny to the Maori "village" to the military precision of some 200+ people being served their meals, the whole evening was enlightening. Cannot find fault, vivacious staff, the hangi was very tasty, interesting cultural items to learn about and participate in before the meal. If in Rotorua don't miss this, the costs is a little steep, but just do it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank IMVO19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

It was a very nice experience and learned a lot about the maori culture. The food tasted brilliant and the staff were very helpful. But be under no illusion this is for the tourists. Make the most of talking to the "villagers" cos once you've been round the village they go do their stage performance and then they are gone.

All in all a good trip. But do shop around cos you can find some good deals on the prices

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trebor_Notrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good cultural experience”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We chose Tamaki over some of the other options as we liked the idea of being in a traditional village atmosphere in the dark. And it was fun especially for the kids, with the fires going, and seeing how to do the haka, swing a poi etc. However it is a very large (albeit extremely organised) tour that can funnel a couple of hundred people through the demonstrations, a show, and a hangi dinner in a couple of hours, and it does feel very "touristy". The staff were lovely though, including the bus drivers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pipobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a fantastic night, including our 6 and 3 year old children. The bus ride there and home was all part of the experience - so entertaining. There were many activities outside after the initial greeting ceremony. Then we went in for the cultural performance, followed by the hangi dinner. We are used to eating dinner around 6pm so I thought the kids would be complaining abuot being hungry as the meal wasn't served until about 8pm - but they were so fascinated with what was going on the forgot about their hunger until the show finished (and it was time for dinner). We learned a lot and had a great time doing it. Well worth keeping the kids up way past their bed time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamaki Maori Village also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Tamaki Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing