We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great entertainment”

Tamaki Maori Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.58*
and up
Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance
Ranked #3 of 108 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tamaki Maori Village – Evening Cultural Experience. New Zealand’s Most Awarded Cultural Experience! Experience an evening of ceremonial ritual, powerful cultural performance, storytelling & hangi feasting. Share in the Powhiri, our ancient ceremony of welcome before entering our pre-European Maori Village nestled within a native Tawa Forest. The village comes alive with sights, sounds & activity of days gone by including haka, poi, tattooing, weaving, carving and arts of warrior training. You will have the opportunity to participate in these activities. Witness the earth being scraped away from the hangi pit to reveal baskets of food cooked beneath the ground on hot stones. Enter the ancestral meeting house and enjoy a powerful cultural performance before dining the traditional hangi buffet feast!
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
139 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

The fun began with our bus driver. He picked everyone up at various hotels and did a great job telling us about Maori culture, himself, and us in a comical fashion. The village itself was set up with different displays/activities so you could learn. The singing and dancing was well done. The food was delicious. My husband got to act as the "chief" of our bus which was a fun interactive element. Overall a good night of entertainment and learning.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank JThielman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,301
    700
    189
    60
    37
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“informative & entertaining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was a very entertaining and informative evening and very enjoyable
the food was fab . I had read some of the other comments on trip advisor and was prepared for a commercial cyniclal view of the moari experience i couldnt have been more wrong our LADY bus driver was fantastic and professional and kept everyone interacting and it was much better than i thought - the village well i really wasnt expecting that and it was very informative and very interesting all the ppl were professional and approchable - i really enjoyed the concert but i did feel a little sorry for the young lady who was very obviously heavily pregnant i felt she should be sitting down and being entertained by all of us ! the singing was superb i love maori singing - The food was great a lot of food and of course the pavlova jokes - really a very good evenings enteertainment information and all done very professionally NOW WE HAVE BEEN TO ALL THE 3 MAJOR MAORI TOURIST ATTRACTIONS - ALL OF THEM ENTERTAINING AND ALL OF THEM ARE DIFFERENT AND UNIQUE

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank missy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“a nice evening out, but just a fraction of the real Maori life”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

If you go to a Maori show and dinner, see this one. It was indeed very entertaining, and the bus rides to and from the village were funny. We also learned a few things about Maoris, and it's good to see in practise what you've read about before (for example, in the Auckland Museum), and the food is good. But all together, I felt a bit like in a Maori-Disneyland with an idyllic view on Maoris (where silcence is kept about the fighting between different tribes). Having already spent a few weeks in NZ, and read quite a bit about the culture, I was disappointed that the Maori actresses were with an embarrased look trying to escape an answer when I asked them discreetly (not in front of everyone else) if a sense of tribe belonging still plays a role in modern life. I would have preferred more time to see all the village stalls than filling the bus waiting time with a gift shop visit full of the same made-in-China Tikis etc. that you find anywhere.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank windrose_se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Everything about this attraction was incredible. Their bus picks you up at your hotel and delivers you to the village after dark. The driver gives you a brief overview of what you will experience and teaches you a few words of Maori.

The experience after getting off the bus is surreal and magical-in the dark with only key areas illuminated, you hear the haunting chanting of the Maori women on the pa wall as a backdrop to the truly chilling and awesome Haka and chants of the Maori warriors. The Haka continues for several minutes until you are formally welcomed; I can't imagine what kind of impact this would have had on warriors trying to attack Maori villages in the past. The closest thing familiar to a Western mind would be the crying of bagpipes and drums accompanying a horde of kilted and hollering Scotsmen.

From here, you enter the Maori village where you learn a great deal of their culture, from games to war training to tattooing. You then see the Hangi (meal) being pulled from the thermal pit in which it was cooked and watch several songs being performed in a reproduction meeting house.

The Hangi was very satisfying-lamb, chicken, kumara, potatoes, carrots, and steamed pudding as well as salad, fruits, and pavlova. It was all you could eat and you could purchase alcoholic beverages. Avail yourself of the kiwifruit liqueur. After dinner, there are songs and you can visit the gift shop. Fires were burning outside (it was rather chilly) and this added to the overall atmosphere.

We were sorry to see the evening end. The driver keeps you entertained while everyone sings songs from their homeland. We found this enjoyable and fun as we heard songs from Wales and China. I subjected the passengers and driver to a rousing rendition of Elvis' Blue Christmas; this was probably their least fun part of the evening.

This was truly an amazing time for me, my wife, and 12 year old son. I would have liked more time in the village to learn even more about the Maori. This event was worth the cost of the admission and will remain a high point of our trip to New Zealand.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank wikid_purplerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson az
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun, Enlightening, Scrumptious Evening with the Maori”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

The fun began with my bus driver. When I got on at my hotel and said I was from the USA, he burst into song with our National Anthem. The fun continued as he told us how to say Kia Ora in 72 languages (how are you). The entertainment ranging from the initial confrontation by our chief (selected on our bus) with the Maori leaders, to the explanations of their lifestyle to the dancing & singing were superb. The meal (hangi), cooked underground via the geothermal heat was great-- several kinds of meat, potatoes and vegetables. Great cmpanions at my table , again great entertainment. Ride back the bus driver was equally entertaining. Really glad I went. Yes, it's "touristy" but I wouldn't miss it!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank gflgfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamaki Maori Village also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Tamaki Maori Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing