We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine location, but facility could use an upgrade”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #48 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Springfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
609 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Fine location, but facility could use an upgrade”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour package, so I do not know the price of the room. Our room was spacious and well-appointed, but it was quite a distance from the lobby area. There was a good laundry facility available, which was a god-send since we had been traveling for several weeks and really needed a laundry (it is coin-operated). There are plenty of options available for lodging here in Rotorua, so you may want to consider another place. The breakfast was average. This is a very large hotel, so be prepared to walk quite a distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank authored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and ratings authored

We are aware of the issues that our property is currently faced with and we are working on solutions to these to be fixed for the future. Our rooms are very large and spacious and so they are alittle spread over our property, I was surprised that a request was not put through asking for a room move or a request from your group leader? We would have no hesitation in assisting people with such a request.

I am also wondering if you may have us confused with another property as we do have a guest laundry, but it is free to use and has been since we opened? We do charge for laundry powder at $2.00 a bag (available at reception) but no charges for machine useage.

Thanks again for your comments

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    439
    255
    126
    97
See reviews for
427
416
37
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times, if you can get the deal with a room and breakfast with kids staying free, then it is probably the best value in Rotorua.

The rooms are large, the kids can share a decent sized Queen size bed, the bathrooms also handle everyone, the decks with a view onto the racecourse are lovely whatever the temperature - when its cold outside the racecourse looks amazing.

One reservation, if there is a wedding in the room downstairs make sure they don't give you a room above it as the noise travels badly, and its not that well soundproofed so people chatting in the hallways or kids running up and down the wide corridors can be annoying.

We love the buffet breakfast, everyone can fill up and that's all you need for the day.

Its not flash compared to some hotels but its great for families, only complaint is the pool being under glass, can be very stuffy and unappealing if it's sunny - no matter the season. Still the kids love it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Like2Travel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and ratings Like2Travel08

Couldn't agree with you more in regards to you title. Many families stay with us for the fact that the we do offer good family deals and we have plenty of space within the room for most families.

We are aware that we do have some issues within the hotel and it is something which both the management and staff are working on.

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to hosting you and your family in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hotel was not brand new, but the room was huge with a balcony and spa. The bed was comfortable and I asked for different pillows, it was not a problem. Room service was great, best steak ever. I would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and ratings DAWSydney

The size and space of the rooms can't be beat and we are very happy with this point of difference. We are aware that we do need to improve in some areas and it is something that we as a managament team are continually working on, one area where we have made some changes is in the restaurant and you're positive comment about the steak reflects that.

Looking forward to being able to host you in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I hate to be harsh, but having read other reviews here of the Rydges Rotorua, we all have fairly much the same impression and opinion. This hotel in Rotorua is tired and in dire need of refurbishment. Rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable with white linen which is the only saving grace. Sure the bathrooms have a corner spa but its not very enticing when its a corner peach coloured spa which looks like it needs a really good scrub out along with tiles which need a good scrub and clean with exit mould. Yes there is a roof top pool but don't hold your breath- you will need to BYO towel from your room and pretend you're not in the 80's with the décor. I don't mean to be harsh but I am surprised RYDGES have put their name to this hotel. I guess I expected a certain minimum standard from a hotel chain. Given there are plenty of other hotels to choose from in a tourist town like this- next time I'll be choosing a motel or a new hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you fussytraveller2 for your comments regarding your stay with us.

We are aware that we need to improve on areas within the property and it is something which the Management team is continually working on. We are disappointed naturally that you will be choosing somewhere else to stay during your next visit to Rotorua but should you decide to stay with us again, I am sure you will notice the improvement.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Waikato
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

stayed here the weekend just gone...Our room was comfortable enough but I think a deep clean of the bathrooms would go a long way - shower had a dirty film all over the floor that would have come off with a good scrub - I know because I scraped a little bit off with my fingernail!! Also the front desk staff weren't the most friendly bunch!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misschiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for your comments and ratings misschiff

A disappointing read but definately gives us something to work on for the future - both myself and the Executive Housekeeper will be looking at ways to ensure that these comments are turned around and soon.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel which we chose because we had good experience of Rydges hotels in previous years, and because it was slightly away from the town centre. We were not disappointed by the location as our room's balcony overlooked the race course. Our 3rd floor "deluxe spa room" room was very spacious and comfortable with two large beds, exactly what we had ordered. The hotel was pretty empty but the atrium restaurant was functioning well and we had two good meals there. The covered heated pool on the rooftop was quite pleasant, although it and its surroundings were all a bit tired, like the rest of the hotel. The hotel is a bit of an enigma, but it would be quite a stunning hotel if it had a total refit. But we still had a comfortable stay, despite the decor. My only complaints are the prices of the breakfasts and especially of the Internet WiFi - it was a bit of a rip-off, even after a 50% discount as a Rydges priority customer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamski47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for your comments and ratings adamski47

Couldn't agree with you more that the rooms are very spacious, even with 2 Queen sized beds and then to have a balcony with the view over the race course makes for a very comfortable stay indeed.

We are also aware of the costings of the internet usage and once we have finished our contract with our current supplier, we will be going towards a much cheaper option.

Thanks again and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

When we first walked in to this hotel it certainly had the 'wow' factor. Our room was huge and the bathroom had a corner jacuzzi bath in it. On closer inspection everything seemed tired and needed TLC. The bed, however, was very comfortable. The view over the race course as the sun rose was stunning especially as horses were on the gallops. I know that Rotorua is in a thermal area and one gets used to the smell but as we were only here 2 nights we never really got acclimatised! The hotel was, in my opinion , let down by the young girl on reception. She seemed to have no idea of customer service and was not bothered that she could answer none of our questions. She made no attempt to find out. Compared to her the dining room staff were superb. Friendly and efficient. We even managed to have some banter about the NZ/England 2 day match being played. On the whole a good experience but it could have been so much better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marybells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for your comments and ratings Marybells

Room size and beds are definately 2 of our stronger selling points but I was very disappointed to read that the young girl on reception had let you down so badly. Our Front Line standards have been let down by this individual and this is something that we will be following up on.

We are also aware that the product is in need of some TLC and it is something which we are currently working on.

Thanks again Marybells and we hope we have the opportunity to have you visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Property: Rydges Rotorua
Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing