We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #48 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Whangarei, NZ
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights over school holidays. Had a great deal that included breakfasts and gondola and luge package. Seemed to be a popular hotel choice with families. Room we had was looking tired. We had inadvertently (?) booked the disabled room so bathroom was covered in water after each shower. Good swimming pool facility. Good breakfast buffet in the restaurant. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Gym was small and hot (hotel room converted into a gym) Would stay again but would be more careful with room selection. Good location, although can't go wrong staying down the "golden mile". Enjoyed family dinner at the Kurious Kiwi ( or something like that - next to McD's) meals were good value and good quality with good service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GizzyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments and ratings GizzyBoy

The Gondola and Luge package that we have available is very popular with families and Rotorua does have a huge influx of families over the School holiday periods, Skyline must just go off!!

We are aware of the issues regarding the rooms and the General Manager and Maintenance team are working on giving the hotel a 'brighter, fresher' feel to it.

Thanks again again for your feedback and we hope we are able to host you in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    439
    255
    126
    97
See reviews for
427
416
37
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ravenshoe, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Okay it is an aging hotel, some parts a little frayed around the edges, but is is spacious, clean and very comfortable and well located...
We had a Deluxe King Spa Suite overlooking the race course and lake, lovely outlook, super comfy bed and the room was huge, with comfortable furnishings, all areas were clean and well presented...
The Buffet Breakfast was excellent, lovely open Atrium area, good variety of food, all good except the Mez Bar was crowded...too small.
Ample parking at the rear of the hotel, all staff were friendly and smiled, we highly recommend this hotel and would stay again

Room Tip: Race Course and lake views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allan_don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and ratings allan_don

You're right in pointing out our 'frayed edges' and we are curretly working on those for your next stay with us, we are also working on change for the bar set-up which we may have in the not too distant future, so watch this space!

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ and we look forward to hosting you in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

great room , we got a suite with a spa bath / pool , huge room very nice , only down side was they need to address cleaners as not up to scratch , 2 heat pumps , huge bed , great size table and a great view over the race course

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheika05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and ratings sheika05

Couldn't agree with you more in regards to the size of our suites, plenty of space and excellent views over the race-course.

I have spoken with the Executive Housekeeper in regards to the cleaning issues and she is currently working on solutions to ensure that these issues are sorted for the future.

Thanks again for your feedback and I hope we have the opportunity to host you in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was the second time we've stayed at Rydges Rotorua.

All staff were very friendly and welcoming from reception through to the restaurant. The restaurant was very nice (dinner and breakfast). Parking and access was also great. We were a small family 2 adults 2 children (under 6) staying in a deluxe spa room and they are on the top / 4th floor

Huge 3? 4? metre ceilings? great big space as well as the two queens, a balcony, views out to the lake and over the race course, literally metres away from a great indoor pool

We had a ball, the kids loved the pool, looking through the window at the pool edge down to the restaurant floor. Great sleep, loved the beds and pillows.

There was one thing I thought was a bit odd was cutlery being left outside of rooms to be collected but other than that it was a flawless stay. The decor was a bit dated as per other reviewers but it was fine, as a family the focus tends to be more on activities, service and food rather than aesthetics.

Can't wait to stay again.

Room Tip: Deluxe Spa Room's are just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozborni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and ratings ozborni

The hotel certainly seems to be able to cater for the 'family group' with many families taking advantage of the size of the rooms as well as the pool, and then with the Kids Stay Free, Eat Free offer, why wouldn't you?!

As mentioned the decor is in need of an update and the General Manager is aware of this and is currently working on solutions to this little 'bug bear'.

Once again, thanks for your feedback, and we hope to be able to host you and your family in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

First impressions - big grand foyer, lovely service on check in - genuinely friendly and this was replicated by a different person on checkout.

Rooms are massive - double queen beds and enough room to hold a dance party. The bathroom is as big as many studios.

However - the rooms are very dated. Antique style furniture bridges the gap but there is no such compensation in the bathrooms - they really need a refresh. Cheap plastic toilet seats and the toilet had running water all night meaning the bathroom door had to be kept closed to shut out the noise.

Conference facilities were excellent and ran like clockwork (was there on business trip).

Breakfast was poor for the price - no wow factor and dishes were very cold. A flat white was extra charge which stings when poor cooked breakfast is so expensive

Overall, hotel was OK for business trip but unlikely to stay on personal trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwis4europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments and ratings kiwis4europe

Couldn't agree with you more in regards to the size of the rooms, definately and plus if travelling with a group or with children in tow.

I have spoken to the General Manager, F&B Manager and Maintenance Manager in regards to your comments about the rooms and breakfast and they are currently working on solutions to the issues raised.

Thanks again for your feedback, I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our experience in the Rydges Auckland was so good that we decided to try the Rotorua branch. Our trip was quite unpleasant. We joined the priority guest membership and wanted to activiate our membership with this stay.The booking system failed to recognise our priviledge membership and failed to activate our membership. We raised this up at check-in but was impatiently told to try at the next stay. We asked for a lake view room but was given a 'room with all views', which actually over looked the empty racecourse. The room had a bad stench, despite airing it and turning the heat pump/ air conditioner on; and is dated. The bathroom was dirty with scum and mould in the shower. The spa was located in a very nice place, but it had some bits of remnants left from the last use. The beds were so uncomfortable that both my husband and I had sore backs on the following day. This stay definitely did not live up to the high quality this hotel chain is known for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandFamilyALV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and ratings AucklandFamilyALV

A disappointing read for which I do apologise. I was suprised to read that your booking was unable to activate your membership as once you have made your booking on-line via Rydges.com and entered your membership details, all of your information is updated from that point to the hotels - so this has me stumped indeed!

It also has me puzzled that you had asked for a 'Lake View' room when we don't have them, we have Deluxe rooms which over look the race-course and Superior rooms which overlook residential Rotorua - not exactly sure what a 'room with all views' is but I assume it is a Deluxe as they are the only rooms with Spa baths.

Both the General Manager and Executive Housekeeper have been advised of the isssues you have raised and are looking into the situation to ensure that these problems do not occur in the future.

Once again thank you for your comments, and we look forward to being able to show you that we are better than the experience that you came across during your time with us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed over the weekend and the weather was not that great but the spa in the room was nice to be warm. The room is are bit tired and do need some renovation. The service at the reception and buffet breakfast was very nice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmel R, Front Office Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Many thanks for your comments and ratings Vijay R

Sorry we couldn't help out with the weather situation during your time but looks as if you enjoyed your stay all the same.

The General Manager is aware of the 'tired' look of the rooms and is currently working with our Maintenance department to ensure the hotel is looking 'bright and fresh' for the future.

Thanks again for your comments, and we look forward to being able to host you in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Property: Rydges Rotorua
Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing