We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good”
Review of Rydges Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have stayed with Rydges Rotorua 3 times now. 1st time = pretty good, nothing more than i will say in todays review really. 2nd time was very poor, wierd sucking/dripping sounds above our bedroom. We complained and staff didnt seem to care to much, however did manage to move us for the next night. After complaining about poor nights sleep (non at all, it was loud enough to keep us up all night and there were no other rooms avail) we had a reply from managment apolagising and organising to make our stay fantastic next time.
Just over a year on now, we thought we would give them another shot. The Assit Manager was lovely, sorted us out with a room upgrade, free breakfasts and even shouted us a drink at the bar.
Everything was well organised, never had any probs getting the breakfast (a highlight for us, as at a price of $30 odd for cooked breakfast, its not something we can afford generally, so was a VERY nice treat!!) The barman knew who we were and pointed us in the right direction to meet Sally etc. Very well organised
Rooms are large, spa baths are great. Beds and linen as mentioned in some other reviews are a little dated i guess, but wouldnt stop me staying here. Some great prices to be had (sub $100)
Free carparking is great compared to some, and plently of it to be honest.
There was a wedding on the Sat night that booked out the resteraunt (looked like a lovely setup) and the staff told us on checking about it and gave us alternative options for dining - very well organised!

My only down side would be next upgrade, there is def more than enou room to pop 2 queen beds in as the doubles are bit small.
Hot water/Cold water in showers is very fluctuating. This is assumably just during peak times and just when other guests start/stop shower i guess, and one minute its nice temp, few sec later is boiling hot, give it a few more and its cold. Can be quite hard to manage! My advise is to just have a Spa during these peak times!

Only big thing for me i noticed was cleanliness. I do find it in many hotels i stay in, and wish it could be worked on.. its the bathroom vent. Def. not the worst i have seen, however was quite bad in terms of dust (or something :/) blocking up the vents.

Bottom line - Will i stay there again - Yes

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wigglywormnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig_r_simpson, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Dear Wigglywormnz,

Thank you for your recent comments you posted on Trip Advisor reflecting on your recent time with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself and I thank you for highlighting certain aspects of your stay.

Our complementary carpark is very popular with many people who stay. Something, as you pointed out, is not common amongst a lot of hotels.

I have asked my maintenance team to investigate the hot water issues you mentioned; even through peak periods this should not affect the supply to any room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

All of our rooms have two queen size beds in them except for the ones which have one king size bed. Because of the size of the rooms and the amount of space the guest have the beds can be preserved to look smaller than what they are.

With regards to cleanliness, we have recently had a change in our housekeeping management and I can say standards have been lifted a lot and the bathroom vents are one of these ‘attention to detail’ areas which are being monitored a lot more closely.

All of your comments will be passed onto my team and I would like to thank you once again for passing on your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Craig Simpson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

The room was huge - 2 double beds and heaps of room around them. We were on the 4th floor, the same floor as the heated pool. My children couldn't have asked for anything more.
The staff were friendly and accomodating. A great stay and great value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig_r_simpson, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Hello Anne500,

Thank you for your recent comment on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed your time at the hotel during your stay. The pool is very popular with a lot of people and more so with children as was the case with yours.

We do hope we have the opportunity of having you stay with us in the future.

Kind regards,

Craig Simpson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here for like a 2nd honeymoon whilst doing a couple of the activities in Rotorua. We stayed 2 nights in Rm 303 - and thought it was absolutely fantastic! We had a seperate spa bath adjoining to the room and a balcony with a view.
Restaurant - Atrium - food was delicious! We had dinner there and breakfast. Breakfast was a feast! Creamed mushrooms were the best.
But most importantly room facilities - we cant complain about anything. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig_r_simpson, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Dear Lanz01,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. It gives me great pleasure when reading comments such as yours and hearing how people have enjoyed themselves not only at the hotel but in Rotorua itself.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Craig Simpson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

we stayed for two nights. Lovely large clean room. Reasonable tariffs and close to town. Friendly staff and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig_r_simpson, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Dear Kathryn_QLD,

I would like to thank you for your nice comments you recently posted on Tripadvisor. I do hope you enjoyed the remainder of your travels around NZ and had a safe trip back to sunny Queensland.

Hopefully one day we will have the opportunity to have you stay with us again at the hotel in Rotorua.

Kind regards,

Craig Simpson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at 3 different Rydges hotels on our trip to NZ and this one ranked at the bottom.
The foyer was nice and modern.
The building seemed to an old hospital which gave it a bit of an eerie feeling. The rooms were huge, almost in a bad way because they looked too empty. There was a spa and a balcony overlooking the racecourse which was a nice feature. However, another reviewer wrote about the linens being very thin, which I agree about. It was almost shocking to see Rydges, a respectable brand, using such cheap linens on the bed.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the racecourse is quite nice.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig_r_simpson, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Dear Steph1986,

I was disappointed to read your comments on Tripadvisor which you posted recently. You will be pleased to know the hotel has been in the process of purchasing new linen for the beds which is lifting the standard and comfort of our guests sleep.

I must say I was very surprised and lost for words when you commented on our rooms being too big!!! Many people do comment on the size of our rooms; however this is always a positive feature of our guests stay. Many hotels I have stayed in around the world, and I have stayed in a few, the rooms are very cramped and you could not swing a cat in them. Yes it is true you could park a bus in our rooms and have room to walk around it; however we find the space is very popular with all guests and especially those who have families and small children.

As I said above and in the most polite way, I am lost for words and I am just sorry you felt the rooms were too big.

Kind regards,

Craig Simpson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We have stayed at the Rydges in Christchurch and were very pleased, especially with their special Rydges beds which are extremely comfortable. We therefore chose to stay at the Rydges when visiting Rotorua recently. We had booked a disabled room. We arrived at 3.30pm and the room had not been cleaned yet. We waited half an hour. We had to take the trolley of bags up to our room ourselves. Once in the room we found the shower fitting was broken and was hanging from the grip rail. The grip rail was filthy. (Their comment was they were going to replace the fittings sometime soon.) There were two areas of grubbiness on the tiles above the cistern which wiped off with a cloth. The lounge sheer curtain was torn. We requested assistance and were transferred to the room next door. The shower fitting worked but the grip rail was again filthy. There were bits of wet tissue on the wall of the bathroom. There were used tissues under the table between the beds. There was hair between the sheet and blanket. Also in the bar there was no snack food available.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig_r_simpson, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Dear Bendoy,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I apologise for the delay you encountered when checking in during that time. There is non excuse for this except to say it was a busy time for the hotel and unfortunately the housekeepers had a few rooms to finish off as there was a large amount of departures this day and turning around the hotel linen did take a bit longer than expected as we were close to full occupancy.

I have looked into the issues you experienced with the maintenance and have discussed these with my maintenance team as well as the other managers to ensure these are followed through and fixed accordingly when broken. Along with this I have discussed the standard of cleanliness of the room with the housekeeping manager as what you experienced is unacceptable and not of a consistent standard of the hotel.

I do find it strange you mention there was no snack menu in the bar. At the start of July we changed all our menus throughout the hotel and the hotel bar has a separate snack menu to the main restaurant. I am sorry you did not have an opportunity to experience this as we have received great reviews on the new menus throughout the hotel.

Kind regards,

Craig Simpson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed for 1 night in July 2011. The standrd room is huge, the bathroom is huge too. We enjoyed our night & will stay again. Everything clean & tidy, very happy with the Rydges.
Didn't use any of the facilities except for the roof top pool which was great. We were a bit early for check in but no problem there, 11am check out is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig_r_simpson, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Dear Berniejh,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. It is always wonderful to hear when people have enjoyed themselves at the hotel.

I do hope next time you stay you have a chance to utilise all the hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Craig Simpson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
859 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
436 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $86 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing